We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with a great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We just finished a five night stay at this property. It was my first visit to the area and our first time at this hotel and we were very impressed. It's located just down the road from the airport; we never had any airport noise. In fact our room (top floor facing south) was completely quiet and we never had any issues with noise inside or outside the hotel. The room was comfortable and the staff did a great job of keeping it nice any tidy.

The staff members were the best thing about the hotel. Not only was everyone friendly and customer focused, but they went out of their way to assist and take care of guests. They all had a very "can do" attitude and we very much appreciated how well we were treated.

Overall we had a great stay and can fully recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room, on the 3rd (top) floor facing south was totally quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Our family stayed here on fun trip to Des Moines. The whole experience was great. It is conveniently located and easy to get to by main highways. The check in was great-very friendly and helpful. Our room was super clean and that seems hard to find these days. The kids and I spent some time in the pool and found it to be clean. The breakfast offered was complementary and good. Our overall experience was great and we would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here on family business because it was close. Clean rooms, good service, average "free" breakfast. The one positive: it seemed there were at least 2 staff taking care of the breakfast area. Now if they served decent coffee...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnobz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie F, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review for our hotel. You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. Our particular brand of coffee is a Marriott Brand Standard, and it's used throughout various Marriott properties. I sincerely apologize that our coffee wasn't satisfactory. We hope you will allow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to this area. Thank you for staying at the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is our second time staying at this hotel. It's a short stay for us as it's on the way to a family reunion. This place is reasonably priced, near enough restaurants that we can get a quick bite, and always quiet, regardless of the number of guests. The staff is very courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Spent a delightful night. The hotel was clean the rooms spacious and we'll - appointed and staff friendly and efficient. Would most definitely recommend without hesitation for your travels to Des Moines.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I don't give five stars very easily ... but from the time I arrived after midnight and someone walked out to the cab to greet me and immediately had things ready for my room, to the morning's breakfast experience, and pleasant shuttle driver, I was impressed. I have stayed at many full service Marriotts previously (including one tonight) and have not had the same quality of service.
My room was very clean, staff were very pleasant. I would stay here again in a heartbeat if I were in Des Moines.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NortheastJSj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here before flying for a vacation. We took advantage of the park stay and fly offer. We arrived late in the evening and the check in assistant was very friendly and made sure to cover all the details for our stay. Specifically make sure we were signed up for the shuttle in the morning for our flight. The breakfast hours were listed from 6:30 to 9:00 (i think). Our flight was scheduled for 6AM and the attendant told us most of the breakfast items would be out by 4AM in time to grab a little something before catching the shuttle.

The room was very clean and updated. The bed was soft and pillows over stuffed and nice. The bathroom was good sized and clean.

We scheduled a wake up call for the morning. It was made on time and we were able to get down for some yogurt, toast, fruit, juice, coffee, and a muffin. The hot items were not out or available yet.

The shuttle was on time and nice. The hotel is only about 5 minutes from the airport.

The return was just as smooth, and the driver dropped us off at our car rather than dropping us off at the front of the hotel. It saved us some time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oferiniowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
2.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
0.4 mi away
Ramada Des Moines Airport
Ramada Des Moines Airport
#15 of 48 in Des Moines
81 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport

Address: 6880 Fleur Dr, Des Moines Airport, Des Moines, IA 50321-3127
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Des Moines
#7 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range: £90 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fairfield Inn and Suites hotel of Des Moines, Iowa. Our distinctive hotel is conveniently located just south of the Des Moines Airport on Fleur Drive. Within half a mile of the Des Moines airport and convenient to all of Des Moines's major attractions, our recognized hotel is ideally located for business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport Hotel Des Moines
Fairfield Inn And Suites Des Moines Airport
Fairfield Inn Des Moines
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing