We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have done so much better”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Django Restaurant

Django Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Django Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 569 Restaurants in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between Walnut & Mulberry
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
110 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Could have done so much better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

There were 4 of us dinning. As it was restaurant week my husband order the short ribs that were dried out. Other tried the boullabaisse said it was so so. My girls friend and I had the chicken prosciutto. Not hot (oven) and no flavor! This was one of my favorite places so disappointed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kitty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    105
    26
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
124 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Chic Restaurant in Des Moines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Great French restaurant in Des Moines. Beautifully decorated, large lamps, unique wine bottle decoration. A little pricey on the appetizer. Charcuterie (small thinly sliced meats & cheese platter) run about $16 but during happy hour 4-6 they have a plate for $10. Menu selection is awesomely diverse. High end beef plates or seafood plates $32, to die for Lobster Mac and Cheese $24, to a delicious Paninni sandwich for $10. Great attentive wait staff. A nice light atmosphere that can be romantic or just fine for a group setting.

Helpful?
Thank auditru2blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and amazing taste!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

One of the best restaurants in Des Moines. You don't have to be a french food guy to really enjoy their food. They have a well balanced menu of authentic french cuisine, as well as plates similar to what you might find at an upper end restaurant. They have incredible staff that are determined to make sure that your dinning experience is what your were expecting and anything less will not due for them. I went their with my in-laws and one of the members of my party wasn't pleased with how their steak was cooked and before she had a chance to ask it to be taken back the waiter came up, apologized, and had another one already re-ordered for her! At the end of the meal they took off all deserts ordered from the ticket for the wait on the steak. Hands down some of the best service and tastiest food in Des Moines.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food, unique cocktails, AND you can bring your own wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I love this place. Fantastic food and a fun atmosphere. My husband favorite is the beef medallions, my favorite are the seared Sea Scallops. They have really good, unusual cocktails, and you can bring in your own wine with now corkage fee which keeps the meal within a descent budget. Happy hour is a great time to try cocktails, good place to go after work. Love it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ajaj1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukee, Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Overpriced restuarant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I have eaten at many fine eating establishments but Django has to rank at the bottom of the list. Food is way overpriced and the taste is poor. One of my guest couldn't even eat his meal because the smell and taste was awful. This place i would definitely cross off my list of places to dine in Des Moines.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawkeyesfan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Django Restaurant also viewed

 
Des Moines, IA
 
Des Moines, IA
 

Been to Django Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing