We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new choice in Downtown Des Moines”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great new choice in Downtown Des Moines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

I stayed here with my wife for a little getaway without the kids. It was a newer option in the area and we were glad we chose it. It is located in a historic building that has been renovated.

The room was very nice, had a couch along with the king bed. It had a 42" HDTV that actually had HD channels to watch (most hotels seem to have HDTVs, but no HD programming). There was also a cool input panel on the cabinet under the TV. You can plug in HDMI, VGA, etc to view DVD's or your computer on the TV. I wish I had brought my connections along to utilize this feature. The room had nice high ceilings that made it feel bigger that it actually was.

Breakfast was good. They had breakfast sandwiches (see picture) along with the usual hotel breakfast food.

Parking was a little of a trick. I wish there was a better designated area for you to pull up and drop off before parking. There was a spot for valet, but I didn't want to pay extra for that. It was the weekend so I found free parking in the city garage across the street.

The pool was small and there was no hot tub, this was the only real disappointment of the hotel.

Apparently there is a coffee shop in the lobby, but I guess the front desk clerk must run it because I never saw anyone behind the counter.

The skywalk system in Des Moines makes this hotel easily accessible to all the restaurants and attractions downtown.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IowaVikingsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    142
    34
    13
    8
See reviews for
161
139
33
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waverly, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Great place to stay. The skywalk was convenient and the entire staff was friendly and courteous. The room was spacious and clean with a good view. The breakfast had a large variety and was very good. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

My daughter and I were traveling to Des Moines to see a production at the Civic Center, with a drive of about 4.5 hours each way. We didn't want to travel in our dress clothes and had requested an early check-in. It was an extremely busy weekend in and the hotel was completely booked, so they were unable to guarantee us a room, but did offer us a place to change and store our luggage during the show.

As it turned out, they had a room ready for us when we arrived, about 2 hours before check-in time. We were in an obvious hurry, and both the woman at the front desk and the man in charge of valet parking were friendly and helpful. We made the show with about 15 minutes to spare.

The gentleman at the front desk was quite helpful with a recommendation for dinner that night and also provided us with a map of the Skywalk system. Every staff member we encountered was very friendly and helpful!

I was concerned that we may have a problem with noise because there were a lot of younger people going out for the night as we were returning from dinner. I don't know whether the room was soundproofed well or whether we just got lucky, but we had no trouble with noise overnight.

The room was clean and updated, and breakfast in the morning was very good. The hot breakfast sandwiches were a nice change from the powdered scrambled eggs so often served in hotels for the complimentary hot breakfast.

We will definitely stay here again next time we are in town!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slpmomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anamosa, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Perfect hotel. Until you make a reservation a year in advance for a huge event and you check on it 6 months prior to the event and its not there. I stay at this hotel all the time and have never had a problem with it until yesterday. If anyone is staying at this hotel for the NCAA wrestling tournament and made your reservations early call and check on them. From what I got yesterday they may have over booked the hotel. Maybe it was a error on the reservations clerk or maybe I got pushed out by a large group but someone dropped the ball on my reservation.

Note to self don't rely on the Hyatt's phone reservations 52 weeks in advance........

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chopper29356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed in a great large corner room that was very updated and clean with a good selection of amenities - large updated bathroom, free wifi, breakfast (the skillet feature was just so-so). The service was excellent, even to the point of suggesting parking on the street for free rather than valet park ($15). The pool was too chilly for us, but the in-house Starbucks made up for that. The location is also great - very close to lots of places including the Old Market and Court House areas. All-in-all, we were pleasant surprised that such a fine hotel could be found in DM, IA - the best hotel we stayed at during a five-city vacation.

Room Tip: Get a corner room if possible - they are huge with lots of light from both walls' windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billingw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

Good hotel in a great location. The building is one of a growing trend where hotel guests stay in the lower floors and the upper more desirable floors are condos. We stayed on the sixth of eight hotel floors and during the day with the A/C running there was no issue, but at night the noise was intolerable. My wife (who is the much more sound sleeper of us) actually woke up when there was an auto accident outside our window. This was in addition to the very loud average street noise. I can't imagine how loud it would have been on a lower floor! If you can sleep through anything, the rooms are nice for a Hyatt Place. Otherwise, seek a quieter option.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Evan_Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

Very friendly staff, clean/good sized room was well above my expectations. The valet and front desk was very helpful. Breakfast was fast and easy. The only small issue was that the gym was small and only had two treadmills.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hebeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.2 mi away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#7 of 49 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#10 of 49 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown

Property: Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
Address: 418 6th Ave, Des Moines, IA 50309-2407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Des Moines
#2 Family Hotel in Des Moines
#5 Romantic Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown Hotel Des Moines
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing