We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good...about 3.5 stars but I'm rounding down due to cleanliness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pretty good...about 3.5 stars but I'm rounding down due to cleanliness”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is a pretty new Hyatt place but the rooms and facility is starting to show its age. The pullout couch in our room had torn fabric and the bigger issue is that I found two beer bottlecaps in the room from the previous person as well as the fact that the window had been left open by the housekeeping staff. Not a huge issue...but if housekeeping forgets these things...it makes me think what else did they forget?

The pool is very small but I like it because its salt water, its not the kind of pool that you could swim laps in, its more appropriate for kids to play in. The gym while spartan is clean and has a nice large lcd screen.

Breakfast is ok. The breakfast sandwiches are heavy on the dough and lacking in the cheese and meat. What put me off a bit was the attendant there. She seemed mad at the world as she refreshed the breakfast spread. Really gave off a bad vibe.

Overall a decent place, could have been better if they handled the cleanliness issue with more attention.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeraldZIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared H, General Manager at Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I sincerely apologize for the room issues and can assure you that this issue has been addressed with our housekeeping & maintenance team. We take pride in our cleanliness being exceptional and appreciate the opportunity to improve. We look forward to having you back in the near future to show you the quality that has made us one of the top hotels in Downtown Des Moines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    144
    34
    13
    8
See reviews for
162
141
34
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Excelsior, Minnesota
Level Contributor
168 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We usually stay at another hotel when we are in Des Moines. When I tried to book a room there I was informed they were booked solid, tried another with the same results when I called the Hyatt for a reservation I got a very annoying robotic recording which kept disconnecting me half way thru gathering my information. I called the hotel directly and a very delightful, accommodating human, named Jolene answered. She promised to try and get me a room and much to my dekight and surprised she called me back with a room. When we checked in she was already off shift but an equally agreeable team Ian & Emma were at the front desk. The entire staff here from housekeeping to parking attendant were over the top. There was never anything but smiles and a very positive attitude.

Room Tip: deal directly with the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared H, General Manager at Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your review! We have shared your wonderful comments with Jolene, Ian & Emma and cannot stress how much they are appreciated by the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Very nice downtown hotel, excellent and friendly staff, and I mean everyone we encountered. very clean room, comfy beds, and no long elevator waits. This hotel is also on the Skyway walk system, and well located. Parking was $15 a day, with as many ins and outs as you need. We had a good AAA rate, so I did not mind the extra charge. The usual free breakfast is offered, with fresh fruit, bagels and pastry, yogurt, cereal, juice, and really good coffee. I will say that the furniture in our room was a bit worn, but the mattress was clearly new, and everything was spotless. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Higher floor less noise from the street. There is also construction going on outside, ask for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franny60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared H, General Manager at Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
We are so pleased to see you enjoyed your weekend with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed in town one night for a concert at the Civic Center. This hotel is an older facility but completely renovated with excellent rooms and excellent beds. It is also on the skywalk system so walks to the Civic center or the Wells Fargo arena can be accomplished without even going outside. Valet parking was on $15 and the entire staff was friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here again if in town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kurttj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared H, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Kurt- Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Des Moines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed here for the 1st time and know that as often as I am in Des Moines with overnights, I will definitely stay again. Room, absolutely as clean as any that I have stayed in over the last 6 months. Service at front desk was a little bit slow, but there was a rookie in training and I was not in any hurry. The manager training the young lady was very apologetic, but didn't need to be. We all started somewhere for the 1st time at some point in our lives. Fitness area was up to date with all of the current equipment. Great place, great 1 day stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared H, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Mike, We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you stay at our hotel next time you are in Des Moines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Beautiful hotel with exceptional service. Great suite and clean. The staff here is amazing and you will always receive rock star status. The cost at this hotel is really only a few dollars more then a basic motel.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briand1163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared H, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Brian, thank you for the kind words about our accommodations and staff. I can't wait to share with them your "rock star" comments. They will be thrilled to hear it. We look forward to serving you again next time you are in the Des Moines Metro Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The Hyatt Place in Des Moines is my home-away-from home. The staff is courteous, polite and customer-focused. And great news, Jamie is back! Although she no longer works the front desk, she is often around so if you see her, say hello. She is the best.

There are terrific staff members working the front desk, too. Emma rocks! She is always quick with a smile and a "how was your day?" The nice thing is, she means it! Even when she is busy with other things, she drops what she is doing to help me, no matter how trivial!

Jolene (JoJo) is also quick to help! Whether it's heading out in 5 below weather to fetch a car, or to arrange early check-in, she is always there with a warm smile. The other staff, from Eric the doorman to Jared the manager, have figured out the key to a successful establishment: the customer (guests) always come first! I have stayed probably over 30 nights at this hotel in the last year or so. I never had a bad experience!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared H, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Michael, Thank you for your kind words about our staff. They all work very hard and have amazing personalities. They'll appreciate hearing your compliments. I'll also be sure to find Jamie! We look forward to seeing you back at our hotel very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.2 mi away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#7 of 48 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#11 of 48 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown

Property: Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
Address: 418 6th Ave, Des Moines, IA 50309-2407
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Des Moines
#2 Family Hotel in Des Moines
#5 Romantic Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown Hotel Des Moines
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing