We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly even by Midwest Standards” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendly even by Midwest Standards”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Nicest and most authentic service I've had in a long while - and all in a new and central location.
A great and comfortable value in the center of Des Moines. Simply a very pleasant and warm stay all around.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waynejscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We're very pleased you enjoyed your experience! Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    137
    34
    12
    6
See reviews for
152
138
31
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coralville, Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We loved everything about this hotel ... its location, the lovely modern decor, the spacious rooms, the delicious breakfast and the very friendly and professional staff. The valet parking was a good value ... very convenient and efficient. We had a corner room with four windows, plus one in the bathroom. Along with the tall ceilings, It created a bright, modern feel much like a penthouse. The only downside was a musty smell in the room that may have come from the air conditioning or venting as the furnishings, including the carpeting and bedding all felt and looked very clean and new.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We're pleased you enjoyed your experience and look forward to seeing you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alburnett, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Staff is attentive. Rooms are spacious, clean - everything worked, the AC was quiet. In room free WIFI was brisk. Noticed a plug in console for kid's games. Great location, quick professional valet. A tick pricey for a single king. No real dining area other then a small snack bar attached to the front desk, although the food appeared to be well made. The business area contained two PC's and a printer - cramped, very little privacy...There was a wireless printing option for in room work however. Breakfast was fantastic with a wide assortment of juices, low carb alternatives and staff that were very helpful. The coffee there was fresh and tasty, the in room coffee left a lot to be desired. Over all a comfortable night with no complications, glitches or the usual headaches, that in itself is a bonus and may be worth a little extra...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are genuinely pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Clean and very spacious room. Solid location in downtown Des Moines. The front desk staff are attentive and pro-active.

I would recommend using valet service if you require parking.

Free breakfast is alright, although we experienced a couple coffee shortages.

I would certainly stay again at this location.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Reaz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our accommodations. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Underwood, Iowa, Usa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Excellent customer service, friendly staff, great 24-hour snack bar. Very clean! The beds and pillows are extremely comfortable.

Our reservations were not correct when we arrived, but the front-desk staff quickly made the corrections and gave us what we asked for regarding room type and beds.

Room Tip: Double-check your reservations. They are only allowed to take reservations through an 800 number and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thanks for your kind words. We're pleased your reservation was worked out and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we'll see you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

As a long-time, seasoned traveler, I've never submitted a review, but felt compelled to review such a first-rate staff and hotel operation. Stayed in Des Moines for two nights this week and brought our dog. From the moment we arrived, the entire staff, the gentleman at the valet, the young ladies at the desk (morning, afternoon, and evening), the lady who pulled out our car, and of course, Ian, epitomized class and warmth. Our two housekeepers also couldn't have been friendlier. Without having to ask, they came to us asking if we needed more towels or shampoo - and we did. Like the attentive waiter who i just the right moment to top off your glass.

My room was clean, top to bottom, and felt like it was never used. We were greeted every morning, afternoon and night, and were told to never hesitate to ask for insights into the city of Des Moines.

We left Chicago for a short respite, and this property MADE the trip. Thank you Ian, and every single member of the staff. You are tremendous ambassadors for the Hyatt brand and the city of Des Moines.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo_CV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you so much for super review. We're all pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you return! P.S. - Ian say's "thank you"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

I recently stayed here for a bachelorette party. From the booking to checkout, it was an amazing experience! Mary, Ian, Mark and the rest of the staff were professional, friendly and helpful. They really go above and beyond to provide guests with a unique and personal experience. The room was fantastic, the location was perfect and we had a wonderful time. I would definitely stay here again. Thank you, Hyatt Place Des Moines.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xxTr4v3l3rxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for your review! We're super thrilled you had fun at our hotel and at your bachelorette party! We hope to see you all again very soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.2 mi away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#7 of 49 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#12 of 49 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown

Property: Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
Address: 418 6th Ave, Des Moines, IA 50309-2407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Des Moines
#2 Family Hotel in Des Moines
#5 Romantic Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown Hotel Des Moines
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing