We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique Experience and Great Food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zombie Burger + Drink Lab

Zombie Burger + Drink Lab
Ranked #6 of 563 Restaurants in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$13
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Ottumwa, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique Experience and Great Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Love the menu and decor! What a creative choice of burgers! Love the names as well as the taste. The food was fantastic, more than we could finish and the wait staff was super! The wait to be seated was long and the place was quite crowded inside since it was the first really cold night of fall, but it was also a Friday night and a wait was expected. Definitely will be going back, and definitely recommend it!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    353
    175
    36
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun Atmosphere, Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Zombie theme is a hoot, and the burger toppings are very creative. Vegetarians can experience the entire menu with three great options in place of the meat patties (grain/tofu patty, meat substitute, portabella mushroom cap). Service was decent. A little pricy, but worth it. Full-service sit-down section and counter service in another area allow you to enjoy all the Zombie Burger goodness whether you have a lot of time to spare or a little.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Zombie Burgers Worth The Wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

A definite place if in Des Moines to visit. Burgers and selection is exceptional. Quality and quantity are perfect, prices is fair. Waits can be long, but are worth it. Will be back the next time in town

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Byron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Burgers are good, but maybe not worth the hour wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

While the burgers and fries are quite good, I don't know if it was worth the hour wait. We thought lunch around 1:00 in the afternoon would be okay, but we didn't get seated until after 2:00. It was a little hard to tell how the seating worked --- our party of 2 people had a much longer wait than parties of 3 and up who came after us, even though there seemed to be seating at the bar (which we had said we'd be happy to take). So, unfortunately, by the time we got to our table, we weren't as enthusiastic as we might have been otherwise. There isn't anywhere else really close to this place if you don't want to wait, and want to walk somewhere else ... so you'd kind of stuck.

The burgers, though, were very good and so were the fries. Service is fast and friendly. We didn't try any of the drinks, though. If we had more time, and didn't want to see more things in Des Moines after lunch, I think we might have. However, we lost an hour waiting for lunch, so we basically bolted our food so we could get out and get on our way.

I'm not sure if the space needs to be enlarged somehow, but this place might want to consider that, considering how popular it seems to be. It wasn't clear if the counter service was just for take-away, or if we could have gotten food and sat outside (it was a little cold, but we figured we probably should have just done this) at their tables. It was too crowded inside to really ask anyone, so maybe when you go to the host stand, they could explain this? Just an idea.

And one last thing --- if a place allows patrons to take their glass beer glasses outside and sit with them, they should have a staff person come out periodically and pick these up. There was a party of 5 people who had 9 empty glasses sitting with them where they were waiting, and after they went in to get their table, these glasses just sat and sat. It's a little dangerous to have glasses sitting on concrete benches, especially at a place where there are families with kids coming in and out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Naberius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandan, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Zombie Burger Scary Good Burgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Had a really good burger with macaroni and cheese on it and a deep-fried macaroni and cheese bun! It was very good but I had to ask for a to-go box for the top half of the bun.
Fun place to try, all of the meals were good, and my daughter had a fun strawberry milkshake with Franken Berry cereal in it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zombie Burger + Drink Lab also viewed

 

Been to Zombie Burger + Drink Lab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing