We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent stay but overpriced...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
2 reviews
“Decent stay but overpriced...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

The high reviews brought us here, but honestly its not really worth the price. Tons of noise from the hall, stairs and nearby rooms, we were overcharged for our room, extremely noisy fridge that we had to unplug...the room is clean (though there are spider webs in the corner) and the bed is not too bad. Just feel for what they charge, you should get way more.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claymtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
We are truly sorry that your experience didn't meet your expectations. We value your opinion and your business with AmericInn. Constructive feedback from our guest is crucial in our continued guest service and lodging accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    56
    18
    14
    16
See reviews for
68
30
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

this was a great place to saty. its close to a grocery store and they always come in handy when traveling. the staff was great. but you guys should get a washer and a dryer. i love the couch in the room. nice and spacious work area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maj863339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Glad to here that you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for your gracious words about your stay with us. Our AmericInn works hard to provide the best service, we want all of our valued guest to enjoy their stay from the moment that they walk through the door. We look forward to serving you on your next trip to Des Moines area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fordland, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

Thanks for what the staff did for my family while we stayed there. They truly went up and beyond to help us. The whole place was clean and neat. On both occasions that we stayed there we was treated with great respect. Thanks again. The attendant even went as far as to get a phone book and suggest great places to eat.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Thank you for your gracious words about your stay with us and glad to hear that the staff was very helpful. Our AmericInn works hard to provide the best service, we want all of our valued guest to enjoy their stay from the moment that they walk through the door. We look forward to serving you on your next trip to Des Moines area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
296 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

Stayed at this hotel Jan 11 thru Jan 13, 2013 on business. Clean lobby, very clean and neat rooms. Rooms were large, beds were comfortable and a nice desk for working on the computer. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, but left a little to be desired in their appearance. A dress code for the front desk staff would help a lot. Pool area looked clean and well kept except for the hot tub that was not working and taped off with caution tape. Need to clean up the pile of lumber at the south end of the hotel, by the south end entrance. (Appears they may have done some remodeling somewhere in the hotel?) Hot Breakfast included waffles, dry cereal, eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy, waffles, fruit, milk, juices, muffins and pastries. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank digetydog2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Thanks for your kind words about your stay with us. We are very pleased that you found the room to be enjoyable. Our AmericInn works hard to provide the best service, we want all of our valued guest to enjoy their stay from the moment that they walk through the door. We look forward to serving you on your next trip to Des Moines area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fordland, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

Hello my family and I stayed at the Hotel 2 in the last week and we had wonderful service. Our father is the hospital at Des Moines Methodist Hospital. As we were leaving on Tuesday to go back to the hospital to see our father we were told we could not leave until the manager could see us. So we waited till the manger got back she had went to the flower shop and bought us flowers and the staff all signed the card . It was so sweet ! Be proud of you staff and treat them well they are amazing bunch of people . They were so nice and went beyond both times we were there . Thanks again for treating us so well.
We were there a week ago on Sunday and Monday Feb 4th and 5th and this last Monday and Tuesday Feb 11th and 12th ....... I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL !!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
We value your kind words about your stay with us and your welcome hope all is well. Our AmericInn works hard to provide the best service, we want all of our valued guest to enjoy their stay from the moment that they walk through the door. I'm so glad to hear your gracious words about the staff and we all say thank you and glad to help out. We look forward to serving you on your next trip to Des Moines area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

This hotel is where I always stay because the staff is so professional and courteous. If I forget something, they are quick to help me out. The hotel is very clean. One of the cleanest hotel I have ever been in. I am an active duty army wife so I have been to many different states and hotels. This one is tops on my list.
The continental breakfast is helpful to me as I do not have to leave the hotel.
I have and will continue to recommend this hotel to military personnel. I know that some of them stay there now on their drill weekends.
I can not say enough about this facility and the personnel including the maintenance and house cleaning departments.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonda924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
We value your gracious words about your stay with us. Our AmericInn works hard to provide the best service, we want all of our valued guest to enjoy their stay from the moment that they walk through the door. I'm so glad to hear your gracious words about the staff and we all say thank you and glad to help out. We look forward to serving you on your next trip to Des Moines area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

we had a great stay. they had clean rooms, a nice breakfast. fast check in and front desk was so helpful (they printed us maps and recommended places for us to eat and shop). We would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aprilanneCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Thank you for taking time and the kind words you had about the hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Have a great day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
3.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#32 of 49 in Des Moines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport

Property: AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport
Address: 1920 Hackley Ave, I-35 (Exit 68) Highway 5, Des Moines, IA 50315-4478
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure our hotel's vibrant modern decor and warm service oriented hospitality will suit all of your needs. Our 100% non-smoking hotel offers you a variety of room choices. Select one of our family or whirlpool suites for added perks. Start your mornings off right by enjoying our free, hot, home-style AmericInn Perk breakfast and enjoy our inviting, indoor pool.We are conveniently located directly across from Des Moines International airport and are just minutes from downtown. Our location allows for easy access to many area businesses and attractions, including Wells Fargo Arena and the Iowa Events Center. We offer a complimentary shuttle to the airport. Not matter where you come from or what brings you to Des Moines, we invite you come explore the fresh new look and feel throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Des Moines
Super Eight Des Moines
Des Moines Super Eight
Des Moines Super 8
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing