We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved staying here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We loved staying here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

This AmericInn was rebranded from a former Super 8. The upgrades are excellent, and Rachel and her staff could not be more helpful and friendly. We spent 10 consecutive nights here while visiting family in Des Moines. The hotel staff treated us like family, the room was comfortable, beds very very nice, and the place was spotlessly clean. The hot breakfast every morning was excellent. We were not bothered with noise, even on nights when they had a full house. This hotel offers excellent value for the price, with the added advantage of having a very nice staff.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Jackie thanks for all the kind words about the staff and the hotel. We enjoy seeing you guys each year. On the behalf of our entire team we looking forward to seeing you guys next year and thanks again for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    56
    18
    14
    16
See reviews for
68
30
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

I'm a sound sleeper and could not sleep through noise. Room 203 was under a remodel, food was luke warm.

When I told the front desk server V. She acted unconcerned about our inconvenience. Its not like we were asking for a refund, but somethimg should of been offered. If you know you have noise issues don't place guests in that area.

Don't bother staying here. Overpriced for what was offered.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kangaruh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thank you for taking time to review the hotel. I want to apologize for the inconvenience that you experenced here at the hotel. We strive to make sure that everyone has a good stay. I hope that we will be able to have the chance to meet your expectations again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
146 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

4 night trip with my wife and 9 year old. We chose the hotel based on reviews here. I guess we should have heeded them a little better.

The Good: The room was large. Fridge. Microwave. Nice TV. Centrally located in Des Moines. Breakfast was decent.

The Bad: Being right next to the airport, we heard and felt planes taking off, starting as early as 6am. Room was "Quick Cleaned" - meaning when we moved the footstool or chair, the carpet was dirty undeneath. No elevator was a minor inconvienence. The pool area was small. They had just filled in the hot tub. Worse, the pool area was unbelievably humid inside. I sat down there so my son could swim and was literally sweating within a minute. The pool area was also not clean. My son found gum in the pool. Finally, the internet was inconsistent. The trick was to not connect to the Americinn Wi-fi, but to the Ecolodge wifi (this was the answer from the front desk).

The Ugly: The fridge made a terrible buzzing noise. We unplugged it to sleep and let the front desk know in the morning. The maintenance man asked if we were going back to our room yet that morning. Since we were heading out after breakfast, he went up to look a the fridge. He was outside having a cigarette before we even left. When we returned, the fridge was not working at all. We called the front and found out that his solution was to turn down the fridge so it wasn't running. Granted, it was quiet, but not working. We filled the fridge with ice as a temporary solution (we had food in there and didnt want it to spoil). The manager was supposed to talk to us the next day, but we never saw her. (We never saw here the 4 nights we were there.) Someone eventually must have fixed the fridge and there was a random discount on the room rate.

Ugly #2: A youth baseball team was staying at the hotel also. The team had a party in the parking lot, right under our window. The noise went on until 2:30am. Lots of noise from the halls every night. (No noise from other rooms though)

Ugly #3: Because at 2:30am we finally complained, when we checked out the next day, they did apologize and offered us a $25 credit. After we left, I examined the bill and the total was more than it should have been. I headed back inside, and ran into the front desk people leaving for the day. Rather than offer to take care of the problem, the response was "Print it up and call the manager." When I finally lost my temper, they did go back inside and correct it. I wasn't so angry that they accidently charged us an extra $25 rather than issue a $25 credit, but that they were content to leave me there angry.

Ugly #4: We never did see the manager the entire trip. We did, however, see the employees sitting outside often.

If you read my other reviews, you'll see that we enjoy most hotels we visit. I'm sure the manager will reply and try to put a positive spin on this one too. My answer to fellow travellers is: Don't risk your vacation on this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't take the room by the ice machine! You'll hear it all night long
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaywalker17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
We are truely sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations, I want to truely apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced during your stay with us. Contructive feedback from our guests is helpful for us to provide great customer service.
Once again I am truly sorry about your stay. I hope that we will get the chance to meet your expecations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We enjoyed our stay. Room was very quiet. On the down side, stairs, no elevator. Internet didn't work properly, maybe too many on it at a time and it kept kicking me off. Still, all in all feel it was a good stay. Bed was comfortable, room very nice, clean and recently had been updated. Refrigerator and microwave in the room. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review on our hotel. We appreicate all the feedback from out guests. We are happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us. Looking foward to seeing you on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Falls, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

We went there because of all the rave reviews, but a little disappointed. The place is pretty clean and the staff was exceptionally nice, but overall a little older than was expecting. There is no elevator and the amenities don't compare to some of the newer hotels. But a good value for the money and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steins35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thanks for the comments and glad to hear that the staff was very nice during your stay and that you enjoyed the hotel. The next time you stay with us let us know and we will make sure that we can get you in a room on the first floor. Thanks again and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

The high reviews brought us here, but honestly its not really worth the price. Tons of noise from the hall, stairs and nearby rooms, we were overcharged for our room, extremely noisy fridge that we had to unplug...the room is clean (though there are spider webs in the corner) and the bed is not too bad. Just feel for what they charge, you should get way more.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claymtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
We are truly sorry that your experience didn't meet your expectations. We value your opinion and your business with AmericInn. Constructive feedback from our guest is crucial in our continued guest service and lodging accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

this was a great place to saty. its close to a grocery store and they always come in handy when traveling. the staff was great. but you guys should get a washer and a dryer. i love the couch in the room. nice and spacious work area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maj863339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Glad to here that you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for your gracious words about your stay with us. Our AmericInn works hard to provide the best service, we want all of our valued guest to enjoy their stay from the moment that they walk through the door. We look forward to serving you on your next trip to Des Moines area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
3.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#32 of 49 in Des Moines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport

Property: AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport
Address: 1920 Hackley Ave, I-35 (Exit 68) Highway 5, Des Moines, IA 50315-4478
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure our hotel's vibrant modern decor and warm service oriented hospitality will suit all of your needs. Our 100% non-smoking hotel offers you a variety of room choices. Select one of our family or whirlpool suites for added perks. Start your mornings off right by enjoying our free, hot, home-style AmericInn Perk breakfast and enjoy our inviting, indoor pool.We are conveniently located directly across from Des Moines International airport and are just minutes from downtown. Our location allows for easy access to many area businesses and attractions, including Wells Fargo Arena and the Iowa Events Center. We offer a complimentary shuttle to the airport. Not matter where you come from or what brings you to Des Moines, we invite you come explore the fresh new look and feel throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Des Moines
Super Eight Des Moines
Des Moines Super Eight
Des Moines Super 8
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing