We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worked for me!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
Monona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Worked for me!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

I got in late and left early the next morning for a meeting, so my stay was short. When traveling for business, I just want a comfortable bed, clean room and bathroom, and friendly staff. I received all those here. I didn't have much time to check my email or meeting materials, so it was nice not to have any problems with their WiFi, and their continental breakfast was more than anticipated - so that got my day started on the right foot.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Lesa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Glad to hear you were able to start your day off on the right foot. Thanks for the kind words and taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    55
    18
    14
    15
See reviews for
67
30
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed here a few months back just as a pit stop while on my way to MN. Nothing good, nothing bad... Just average. Rooms were decent and seemed clean. Staff was nice, helped me with any questions I had. Never got a chance at the breakfast as we were in a hurry to get on the road in the morning. I'd give this one another shot if I am in the area again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jeanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Glad to hear the staff was able to help you with your questions and thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. Hope to see you on your next trip to Des Moines area. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greene, Iowa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

This was one of the nicest AmericInns I've stayed at. Very clean and comfortable. Staff was pleasant. Breakfast was an extended continental. Location was a bit far out since we weren't using the airport. But it was state fair time and we were trying to stay within a certain price range. Plus I had one of the Rewards vouchers to apply to the bill.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mwahlgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for all the very kind words about the hotel. We all happy that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed the breakfast that we offer to the guest. We have a nice easy rewards program for our guest. Glad that you got to enjoy the Iowa State Fair hope to see you on your next trip to the Des Moines area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eldridge, Missouri
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We called & made a reservation thinking we were calling a Super 8 Motel! The price was kind of high,but the room we had was very nice.The bed was VERY comfy. The breakfast the next morning was very good. A good selection for breakfast both mornings we were there

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinker58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for taking time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

My fiance and I checked in, thankful we could still get a romm somewhere, as everything was booked. We were first put in a handicapped room, that smelled so badly like mildew. I took a shower, no water pressure and it smelled like sewer water. Stinky room all together. We went swimming in their pool, and there was sand on the bottom, assuming because of the construction. The water was lukewarm and the windows were open because of how hot the roon was.
Wre switched rooms, it didn't stink, and it was clean. But the lights flickered and out of nowhere the tv and lights went out.
Both myself and my finance work in customer service, so we are both patient, and critical. The wench at the desk was rude, didn't believe us, and came to our room to look. She said that shr can't void the room and that I would still be charged.
We left and got home at one in the morning. What a great vacation. Bad service, is what I'm most disappointed in.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leeholiday3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel and giving us feedback about your stay. I would like to apologize for any problems that you had during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed for just one night and it was exactly what we needed and expected. Smaller queen room but clean, no odd smells and air conditioner worked well. Friendly staff at check in/out. Have no complaints.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LeleRan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thanks for taking time to write a review about the hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

This AmericInn was rebranded from a former Super 8. The upgrades are excellent, and Rachel and her staff could not be more helpful and friendly. We spent 10 consecutive nights here while visiting family in Des Moines. The hotel staff treated us like family, the room was comfortable, beds very very nice, and the place was spotlessly clean. The hot breakfast every morning was excellent. We were not bothered with noise, even on nights when they had a full house. This hotel offers excellent value for the price, with the added advantage of having a very nice staff.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desmoinesairport_ia, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Jackie thanks for all the kind words about the staff and the hotel. We enjoy seeing you guys each year. On the behalf of our entire team we looking forward to seeing you guys next year and thanks again for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
3.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#33 of 49 in Des Moines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport

Property: AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport
Address: 1920 Hackley Ave, I-35 (Exit 68) Highway 5, Des Moines, IA 50315-4478
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure our hotel's vibrant modern decor and warm service oriented hospitality will suit all of your needs. Our 100% non-smoking hotel offers you a variety of room choices. Select one of our family or whirlpool suites for added perks. Start your mornings off right by enjoying our free, hot, home-style AmericInn Perk breakfast and enjoy our inviting, indoor pool.We are conveniently located directly across from Des Moines International airport and are just minutes from downtown. Our location allows for easy access to many area businesses and attractions, including Wells Fargo Arena and the Iowa Events Center. We offer a complimentary shuttle to the airport. Not matter where you come from or what brings you to Des Moines, we invite you come explore the fresh new look and feel throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Des Moines
Super Eight Des Moines
Des Moines Super Eight
Des Moines Super 8
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Des Moines Airport Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing