We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roon smelled like Barf and Smoke”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport
Ranked #39 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Roon smelled like Barf and Smoke”
Reviewed 13 January 2011

PROS:
*price
*accepted dogs
* close to where I needed to be

CONS:
*Seemed clean enough, but smelled like smoke and barf. Note - this was a non smoking room.
*Flat pillow - that was really no pillow at all. Scratchy, thin blanket.
*Heating system was completely screwed up. Could either be really hot or really cold.
*Loud.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bwookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m60030, General Manager at Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport, responded to this review, 21 January 2011
Dear Bwookie,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the M6 Des Moines (airport). I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Motel 6, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problems and prevent future occurrences.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Staci Sokol
General Manager
Motel 6 Des Moines South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    8
    8
    16
    26
See reviews for
16
11
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2009

I stayed at this paticular location for the convenient location and the rate but I would NEVER stay here again. I stayed on a saturday night and was woke up between 1-2 in the morning to find a parking lot full of cops. Cars were being broken into and vandalized!!!!! My non smoking room reeked of cigarette smoke and the bed was extremly worn. I do not recommend this motel because although the prices are cheap you only get what you pay for and its not worth it!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifechild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2009

Stayed for two nights. Read these reviews prior to arrival and must say, I had a great time. The bed was comfortable, water was hot, and felt quite safe. The staff was very nice. We talked as if we were old friends. Watched cable TV, went across the street to Hy Vee for breakfast, lunch, dinner, free WIFI and it's open 24/7. Perkins (diner/bakers square like) is also across the street and open 24/7. Can't beat $35/night! I would definitely stay here again without a doubt!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gither03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

- Our check-in clerk was such a lovely lady! Very sweet, cheery & helpful. However, I had researched rates online before coming and it said the standard rate was $31.28/night, if you booked 7 nights. They would not honor that rate, even though it stated it was a "standard" rate and not a special online-only rate. I showed it to the clerk on my iPhone & she called her manager to confirm that it did say it was standard. They still wouldn't honor it, so I stood right there in the lobby and made the reservation from my iPhone, and sure enough, it showed right up in the computer for the $31.28 instead of $39.99.

- Rooms were very clean and well-kept. Small, but comfortable and cozy - except for that there was no air conditioning. Apparently their main system can only be set to either heat or cool. Front desk told me they had switched to A/C a few weeks back and then a cold spell hit and so they went back to heat. However, all the guests in the hotel were now complaining of being too warm. The best they could offer me was to open my window since all the fans were taken- sure it cooled things off, but then I had to deal with street noise & it irritated my allergies.

- Bathroom was very clean & new, though only a 3/4 bath (shower, but no tub) and the shower was tiny. Water pressure and flow left just a little to be desired, but not bad.

- Beds and pillows quite comfortable, but felt like I was sleeping a little downhill - not sure if it was the mattress or an off-level floor.

- Location was convenient. A 24-hour Perkins Restaurant was right next door.

- On site Laundry facility was handy. It had 2 residential size washers and dryers that cost $1.50 each.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carpenter_gurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2007

Small rooms and worn out beds. Very loud and the parking lot was completely filled when I returned from supper. Had to park in unmarked area behind the place and walk all the way back to my room in front. Make sure you book online!!!! They were charging over $100 a night and I got my room for $45 by booking ahead online. The pool was nice, but full of rowdy children.

  • Liked — Very near the airport for early flight the next day.
  • Disliked — No parking space.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank benoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desmoines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2007

Me and a friend first order the room online and had reservations set up but when we finally got in town and went to the motel the reservation that was made was taken so we almost did not receive a room. we ask the hotel clerk what was we to do since we had no place to go because the motel 6 had given our room a way, finally we was given a room if we knew the rooms looked like they did they could of kept the rooms. The rooms are not very clean, the dresser doesn't have any drawers, the shower sometimes has hot water and sometimes it doesnt, the air conditioner doesn't put out enough cold air, the mattress had mildew stains on it. How gross and people are slamming doors all night and making pounding sounds, car alarms are going off in the parking lots and people are hanging in the parking lots at night. This is one place I would not recommend anyone to stay unless they are absolutely desperate. we will not stay here again I don't care how cheap the prices are " the old saying is you get what you pay for" there were to many nice hotel right next door that we should have spent our money on no matter what the cost was.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The service and the noise, the hotel was unclean.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainbows44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2007

My family and I didn't even make it into the room. I went back to the office and got my money back. The hotel had a ghetto apartment feel. Lots of "guests" hanging outside their rooms. Intoxicated guests hanging around the area with cases of beer at their feet. Horrible area and horrible experience.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
Helpful?
2 Thank clownbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#33 of 48 in Des Moines
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Ramada Des Moines Airport
Ramada Des Moines Airport
#14 of 48 in Des Moines
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport

Property: Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport
Address: 4817 Fleur Dr, Des Moines, IA 50321-2825
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Moines Motel 6
Des Moines Motel Six
Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport Iowa
Motel Six Des Moines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing