We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Ranked #31 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
Sioux Center, Iowa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2008

We stayed at the Days Inn on Merle Haye during the boys state basketball tournament. The snow by the side door didn't look like it had been scooped for weeks and instead allowed to be trampled turning it into ice.
The rooms were clean but in need of updating.
The chlorine in the hot tub was so stong that no one could sit in it.
The worst was breakfast. We woke up at 8:30 to make sure we made the 9:00 breakfast end time. I had one waffle and the rest of the guys in my group had none because the desk clerk said they didn't have any more batter and it was 8:40 with a full lobby of people waiting to eat. One of the guys in my group ate his cereal with orange juice because they "didn't have anymore milk"
I wouldn't ever stay there again!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Smoke100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    103
    110
    63
    97
See reviews for
226
68
31
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
airbear3531
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2007

We stopped at this Days Inn late in the evening on a road trip. When we were packing in the morning, my husband threw the sheets on top of the bed so we could make sure we packed everything. All of a sudden he goes were you wearing these last night, as he holds up another pair of dirty ladies underwear that was stuck at the bottom of our bed.

Needless to say we immediately went down to the front desk, told them our situtation, the worker came to our room checked it out, said obviously these would be too big for you and said she couldn't do anything but would talk to her manager and refund us.

After talking to the sales manager he told my husband he did not believe our story. And told him the maid remembers distinctly changing the sheets in that room so there is absolutely no way they were there and we planted them. But we should call Monday and talk to the GM.

I called the GM and she also said the story didn't match up and since we didn't find the dirty pair of undies until the next morning she couldn't refund us and they had to be mine. (I THINK I KNOW WHAT MY OWN UNDER GARMENTS LOOK LIKE!) After getting a little heated she finally caved in to 25% off, but started yelling at me and then i yelled back and she rudely hung up on me.

Needless to say after this experience I would never recommend going to a Days Inn-- what a terrible thing to go through!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Rude Service
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank airbear3531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2006

We stayed for one night after we found a coupon at an Iowa state-line visitors center. It was an average Days Inn with a decent (firm) bed. We got there after sunset and didn’t hyper-inspect the room. Nothing was obviously dirty or nasty. Average, average, average, but after 12 hours of driving from Dallas, this place fit-the-bill just fine. The front desk gave us directions to an Outback Steakhouse that was close. As we went out for dinner, we saw several more restaurants. There was a Wal-Mart close by, as well as gas stations and other items desired by those road-tripping across country.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
Thank wbcooksey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Buffalo, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2005

One of the pillows came out of its case and it was appalling...dark brown with stains. I looked at the others--the same. The night clerk did not have keys to the supply room to get fresh pillows (though I doubt there were any in supply, anyway). I showed her the filth, and she couldn't do anything except give me extra cases and tell me to speak with the manager in the morning. I did, in a rather civil way, considering the gross situation, and she didn't apologize at all--just rudely said she could take off $10. I told her I was going on the internet.
To think that our faces were to be next to that grime...I covered the pillows with the extra cases and wrapped them in t-shirts before the kids saw it. I would have left that hotel immediately if it wasn't so late and all hotels were booked for the state fair.
One would think that by staying at a franchise hotel that they are kept to minimum standards per inspections. A lousy pillow would cost a hotel about two bucks...these had to be years old. Vile. It's unbelievable that Days Inn inspectors missed this for how long??

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank Justthewholetruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2005

I have now stayed a total of 3 nights at the Days Inn Merle Hay on two seperate occasions. Both times I was greeted with a rude front dest worker. The lobby is the nicest part of the hotel, unfortunately nothing else in the hotel is nearly as nice. Everything is older and could use updating.

Customer service at this establishment is horrid. Just to give you an example, my husband and I were lets just say having an "intimate moment"...well thankfully I had the little chain lock type thing locked because some lady was given a key to our room! My lord what if we hadn't locked that little thing? The hotel wasn't even busy I have no idea how they could've gotten mixed up and given her a key to our room.

The worst was on our last night we had another little unwelcome visitor in our room.... a MOUSE. That was the last straw for me, I won't be staying ever again.

Now I do have to say the place isn't the worst I've been to. To be honest before the mouse incident I would've considered staying there again just because of the price and the convenience of the location. However adding in all the negatives just doesn't make it worth it.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boohead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#28 of 49 in Des Moines
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
5.2 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#10 of 49 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Des Moines IA
Travelodge Des Moines IA
#32 of 49 in Des Moines
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#27 of 49 in Des Moines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines
8.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay

Property: Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Address: 4845 Merle Hay Rd, Des Moines, IA 50322-1949
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently Located 1 Mile From Merle Hay Hall And Close To Restaurants And Theatres Enjoy your Heartland stop at our Days Inn Des Moines / Merle Hay hotel near Living History Farms. Located just off Interstate 35 / 80 in the northwestern corner of the city, our Des Moines, IA, hotel offers easy access to Saylorville Lake and downtown while providing comfortable accommodations at a great rate. Swim in the indoor pool, soak in the whirlpool or play games in the two-story game room before grabbing an evening drink in the on-site lounge, Derry's. In-room amenities include free Wi-Fi Internet access, microwave and refrigerator. Handicapped-accessible rooms are available, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our hotel in Des Moines, Iowa. Start your day with free Daybreak continental breakfast before heading out. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS From our Des Moines, IA, hotel, you can stroll The Principal Riverwalk - a recently completed project that includes trails, a garden and skating plaza along the Des Moines River - or walk through Pappajohn Sculpture Park. Slide down the water rides and roller coasters at Adventureland amusement park, just 15 minutes west of our hotel in Altoona, or indulge in some adult fun at Prairie Meadows racetrack and casino, also in Altoona. Spend a day on the water at Saylorville Lake or Grays's lake for slower-paced activities like fishing, hiking and boating. DINING OPTIONS There are over a dozen restaurants to choose from within a mile of our Des Moines, IA, hotel, including Bennigan's, Perkins, Felix & Oscars and Carlos O'Kelly's Mexican Cafe. Head to downtown hotspots in the revitalized East Village area or near the Iowa Events center for dozens more options. BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIES We offer meeting space for your upcoming event, as well as copy and fax services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn - Des Moines Merle Hay Hotel Des Moines
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing