We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Des Moines
Reviewed 24 November 2013

People like Jerry ( Front Desk ), make this place much better than other similar hotels in the area. Hotel is a little dated. Rooms are clean and breakfast is good. Gave only an average but it is a little better than average.

Room Tip: Good food is close. Interstate and access to mainstream .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wietztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 513 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Booked a reservation here. Due to an unforeseen family emergency - I was forced to cancel. The hotel still charged me for the room. When I called to speak to the mangaer (Elka) she was rude, hostile and hung up on me. This was going to be my 1st stay at this property. There are several other options within the area. Do yourself a favor and steer clear of the Days Inn - Des Moines Merle Hay. I'm a Wyndahm Rewards member which apparently is good for nothing. On top of dealing with the stress surrounding my family emergency, I spent several hours looking for anyone could provide any level of customer service. Never have I been so disappointed in a company. I travel in IA / NE monthly and Days Inn will never again get my business.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminalka0403, General Manager at Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Regarding your complaint lodged with Corporate Headquarters let me answer by stating all of the facts. Contrary to your statement, I did not once raise my voice or use any profanity towards you as you alleged. I was very specific in stating why you would be charged regarding your reservation with us. Not once during our conversation, or with the conversation with the desk agent on duty, did you ever explain that you had a family emergency. This statement only came out after the fact. You stated that we (the property) were not acting in a professional manner and we were not doing what you requested. It was explained to you (and you were aware) that once your reservation was made the reserved room could not be cancelled. I stated that this was professional. At this point you began making threats to the detriment of the Motel by stating you would go the social media and give us a review that would make no one want to stay at our property. I ask you, Is this professional?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My stay was good except that I developed an allergic reaction both times that I stayed there. I developed hives on my skin that lasted approximately two days after I left the facility. I did report it to the front desk and they said it was probably the laundry detergent that is used to clean the bedding and towels.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Arash Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Cory R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
aminalka0403, General Manager at Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
aminalka0403, General Manager at Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Cathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#26 of 50 in Des Moines
111 reviews
8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#31 of 50 in Des Moines
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Super 8 Des Moines
Super 8 Des Moines
#35 of 50 in Des Moines
51 reviews
9 mi away
Ramada Des Moines Airport
Ramada Des Moines Airport
#15 of 50 in Des Moines
95 reviews
5.2 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#13 of 50 in Des Moines
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay

Address: 4845 Merle Hay Rd, Des Moines, IA 50322-1949
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range: £44 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently Located 1 Mile From Merle Hay Hall And Close To Restaurants And Theatres Enjoy your Heartland stop at our Days Inn Des Moines / Merle Hay hotel near Living History Farms. Located just off Interstate 35 / 80 in the northwestern corner of the city, our Des Moines, IA, hotel offers easy access to Saylorville Lake and downtown while providing comfortable accommodations at a great rate. Swim in the indoor pool, soak in the whirlpool or play games in the two-story game room before grabbing an evening drink in the on-site lounge, Derry's. In-room amenities include free Wi-Fi Internet access, microwave and refrigerator. Handicapped-accessible rooms are available, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our hotel in Des Moines, Iowa. Start your day with free Daybreak continental breakfast before heading out. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS From our Des Moines, IA, hotel, you can stroll The Principal Riverwalk - a recently completed project that includes trails, a garden and skating plaza along the Des Moines River - or walk through Pappajohn Sculpture Park. Slide down the water rides and roller coasters at Adventureland amusement park, just 15 minutes west of our hotel in Altoona, or indulge in some adult fun at Prairie Meadows racetrack and casino, also in Altoona. Spend a day on the water at Saylorville Lake or Grays's lake for slower-paced activities like fishing, hiking and boating. DINING OPTIONS There are over a dozen restaurants to choose from within a mile of our Des Moines, IA, hotel, including Bennigan's, Perkins, Felix & Oscars and Carlos O'Kelly's Mexican Cafe. Head to downtown hotspots in the revitalized East Village area or near the Iowa Events center for dozens more options. BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIES We offer meeting space for your upcoming event, as well as copy and fax services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn - Des Moines Merle Hay Hotel Des Moines
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing