We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    109
    113
    66
    99
See reviews for
233
70
33
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elmhurst, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The front desk person gave us the wrong times for their free breakfast, which led to us having to pay for our own. When we came to a breakfast that was already over, he just nonchalantly told us he gave us the wrong time. No apologies. No trying to make up for it at all. On our way out I asked for a receipt, and he was unable to give that to me as well. I was very unhappy with the service and wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Days Inn use to be on the top of our were-to-stay list. Days Inn quality is slipping as shown by our latest stay. The room was clean and comfortable. Must say the mattress was one of the most comfortable ones I have slept on. Where I was disappointed was the swimming pool area. After a 4 hour drive late at night I was looking forward to a warm hot tub. It was warm but only two of approximately 8 jets were working. Most hot tubs have for safety a timer on the pump system. This system only had an on/off switch which was constantly on...not able to turn off. Breakfast was fine. Counter staff was pleasant. Counter area looked low class.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Kurt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminalka0403, General Manager at Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
I have read your complaint and will address your concerns in this response. After your complaint regarding the jets in the spa. I had maintenance and the pool personnel check the jets and that informed me that all jets were working. Further, modifications were made to the Spa by the County, regarding the on/off switch in the pool. We no longer are permitted to put a timer within reach of any guest sitting in the Spa. Rather, the guest is now required to leave the spa and go to the wall selector switch and turn the spa off or on. This is an added safety procedure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I have stayed in some decent and even some very nice Days Inn's, this property is not one of them. At check in I was not greeted, but rather slid a paper and pen as the front deck clerk talked on the phone. In fairness, it did sound like a business call. The paper looked like a form I need to fill out about my car and the room I was in. I did what I could as she talked on the phone. I was then asked my name and given direction to my room. The exterior is nothing special, but the interior left much to be desired. Our room floor looked like it had not been cleaned in quite a while. I have an infant who we eventually confined to her pack and play after taking large amounts of hair from her hands and a partially eaten Pop Tart she found slightly under the bed. Beds were not comfortable and pillows were not much to rest a head upon. Breakfast was nothing impressive, but standard for a property like this. Juice, milk, cereal, bananas, and waffles pretty much round out the menu. We did not use the pool area. It had a small pool and small hot tub. Just from the window it did look clean. I would recommend looking elsewhere.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmtripsOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminalka0403, General Manager at Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
I do recall your arrival on the date of May 8th. We were extremely busy with all of the arrivals and the constant phone calls regarding reservations. We did not mean to appear aloof as we are definitely not. We assisted you as soon and as pleasant as we could and we were certainly not aware that you were dissatisfied with your stay. Had you voiced your concerns to the manager on duty, I'm sure some accord could have been reached on the spot rather then have it appear after your two day stay and departure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

No comfy chair/recliner. Coffee machine malfunctioned. Burn holes in bedding. No battery in clock.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The room door is not very thick so you can hear everything in the hallway. The shower is not made for anyone tall, I am 6'4 and had to duck to wash my hair. The handle on the night stand was hanging off. Breakfast didn't have a lot of variety and things to choose from. The chair in the room appeared broke and the bed wasn't very comfortable. Disappointed in the quality of the room. Didn't help someone was honking their car horn at 4:30am in the morning and I could hear it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#27 of 48 in Des Moines
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
5.2 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#9 of 48 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#30 of 48 in Des Moines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Super 8 Des Moines
Super 8 Des Moines
#36 of 48 in Des Moines
2.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
8.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay

Property: Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Address: 4845 Merle Hay Rd, Des Moines, IA 50322-1949
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently Located 1 Mile From Merle Hay Hall And Close To Restaurants And Theatres Enjoy your Heartland stop at our Days Inn Des Moines / Merle Hay hotel near Living History Farms. Located just off Interstate 35 / 80 in the northwestern corner of the city, our Des Moines, IA, hotel offers easy access to Saylorville Lake and downtown while providing comfortable accommodations at a great rate. Swim in the indoor pool, soak in the whirlpool or play games in the two-story game room before grabbing an evening drink in the on-site lounge, Derry's. In-room amenities include free Wi-Fi Internet access, microwave and refrigerator. Handicapped-accessible rooms are available, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our hotel in Des Moines, Iowa. Start your day with free Daybreak continental breakfast before heading out. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS From our Des Moines, IA, hotel, you can stroll The Principal Riverwalk - a recently completed project that includes trails, a garden and skating plaza along the Des Moines River - or walk through Pappajohn Sculpture Park. Slide down the water rides and roller coasters at Adventureland amusement park, just 15 minutes west of our hotel in Altoona, or indulge in some adult fun at Prairie Meadows racetrack and casino, also in Altoona. Spend a day on the water at Saylorville Lake or Grays's lake for slower-paced activities like fishing, hiking and boating. DINING OPTIONS There are over a dozen restaurants to choose from within a mile of our Des Moines, IA, hotel, including Bennigan's, Perkins, Felix & Oscars and Carlos O'Kelly's Mexican Cafe. Head to downtown hotspots in the revitalized East Village area or near the Iowa Events center for dozens more options. BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIES We offer meeting space for your upcoming event, as well as copy and fax services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn - Des Moines Merle Hay Hotel Des Moines
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing