We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pool and arcade shut off at 10pm on Saturday night. It...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    113
    116
    68
    101
See reviews for
241
71
34
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel was clean and nice. Nothing allowed in the pool area, no drinks either. The manager was nice and have us drink tickets to the bar under the hotel, but the lady I booked the room with was pushy and kind of rude. One of our rooms with kids in it was directly over the bar and it was loud and hard to get the kids to sleep. When we return to Des Moines, we will def choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbarnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminalka0403, General Manager at Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
The breakfast attendant is sincerely apologetic for her behavior but that was not her intention.she does have voice that carries loud.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Just read a review where someone says they were double booked a room. Funny how the same thing happened to me this week even though I booked the room in April and was given one confirmation number. The front desk clerk was rude on top of it which is not what I needed after driving 12 hours from Ontario with my 83 year old grandmother.

I called the 1800 number with the first person I spoke to confirming that I had only booked one room, and the second person saying there was two. I was standing at the desk when the customer service person called the hotel and put me on hold. The clerk was telling the customer service person a version of the story that did not include anything that I had actually told her. I spoke up because that would be unfair to myself not to do so.

Anyway, I had to pay one night for the extra room I didn't book and customer service gave me a reference number for filing a report on my treatment by the front desk clerk. I found that I could not walk away from her without explaining to the front desk clerk that no matter how stressful the front desk gets she should remain professional in her dealings with the customer, the customer is always right approach and so forth. She responded by saying that I was also rude. (Is that part of the training?) She did try to have professional dealings with me for the remainder of my stay but my troubles didn't end there. She also offered me a coupon for free drinks which I did not redeem.

There were no garbage bags in the bins when I got to my room and I went back to the desk to ask for bags. Because when I called I couldn't get through because she didn't enable the phone service? When the clerk came upstairs she could only provide a massive garbage bag that sat in the room with garbage in it for two days(removed the second day) that fact that my room was cleaned daily. We never got garbage bags in any of our bins for our entire stay.

I stayed on the second floor and after spending 12 hour a day conventions most nights I had to endure the loud talking of random people standing under my window.

I travel to Iowa every year at the same time every year and have checked into numerous hotels and never had anything like this happen to me. Sad to say I did not enjoy my weekend staying here.
.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnmarieDillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminalka0403, General Manager at Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
I apologize for the misunderstanding on your reservation but we did a confirm from the corp about 2 resv under your name and that's the reason you had to pay for the 2nd for the 1st night.
As for the front desk attitude she was trying her level best to be professional with you and aplogiizes if came across rude.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waverly
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I was greeted rudely. They complained that the days Inn 800 number booked me twice. They also didn't seem very eager to register me into the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Ryan 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminalka0403, General Manager at Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
You were not greeted rudely when you arrived, as you were greeted by the General Manager and the Desk Manager. It was explained that due to a glitch when you booked your reservation, that Central Reservations had duplicated your reservation. We were very happy to see arrive and take possession of your room and we cannot figure our why you would think were being rude. If you took our concerns as rudeness then I do very sincerely apologize. My desk manager reviewed the tapes of you being checked-in, and he did not witness or see any time that were terse or courteous.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#28 of 48 in Des Moines
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
0.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#11 of 48 in Des Moines
590 reviews
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#31 of 48 in Des Moines
105 reviews
5.0 mi away
Super 8 Des Moines
Super 8 Des Moines
#34 of 48 in Des Moines
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay

Property: Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Address: 4845 Merle Hay Rd, Des Moines, IA 50322-1949
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently Located 1 Mile From Merle Hay Hall And Close To Restaurants And Theatres Enjoy your Heartland stop at our Days Inn Des Moines / Merle Hay hotel near Living History Farms. Located just off Interstate 35 / 80 in the northwestern corner of the city, our Des Moines, IA, hotel offers easy access to Saylorville Lake and downtown while providing comfortable accommodations at a great rate. Swim in the indoor pool, soak in the whirlpool or play games in the two-story game room before grabbing an evening drink in the on-site lounge, Derry's. In-room amenities include free Wi-Fi Internet access, microwave and refrigerator. Handicapped-accessible rooms are available, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our hotel in Des Moines, Iowa. Start your day with free Daybreak continental breakfast before heading out. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS From our Des Moines, IA, hotel, you can stroll The Principal Riverwalk - a recently completed project that includes trails, a garden and skating plaza along the Des Moines River - or walk through Pappajohn Sculpture Park. Slide down the water rides and roller coasters at Adventureland amusement park, just 15 minutes west of our hotel in Altoona, or indulge in some adult fun at Prairie Meadows racetrack and casino, also in Altoona. Spend a day on the water at Saylorville Lake or Grays's lake for slower-paced activities like fishing, hiking and boating. DINING OPTIONS There are over a dozen restaurants to choose from within a mile of our Des Moines, IA, hotel, including Bennigan's, Perkins, Felix & Oscars and Carlos O'Kelly's Mexican Cafe. Head to downtown hotspots in the revitalized East Village area or near the Iowa Events center for dozens more options. BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIES We offer meeting space for your upcoming event, as well as copy and fax services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn - Des Moines Merle Hay Hotel Des Moines
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing