We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!!!”

Tursi's Latin King Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 574 Restaurants in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food!!!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I ate lunch with a group of friends for my birthday, food was awesome, good quality, service was good, the strawberry shortcake was "to die for" overall wonderful dining experience!!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jbs F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    63
    23
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Hill
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My Fav”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I love to eat at Latin King. Chicken Spedini is my fav. Love their salad and bread too.
Lunch and Dinner are both excellent.
The service is great too.
Well worth the wait if there is a line.
The only thing that I would say as a negative is that sometimes it is hard to hear each other, at your table in the big dining room.
Out of town guests always rave about the food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank levi884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I don't remember what I had but it was the house famous chicken meal. It was presented in a roll. Tastey was not the word to use, it was excellent and it was mouth watering. There service from the minute I walked in the door, to being seated, to and during the meal was great. No matter how busy they are, you aren't rushed out the door. It talk enjoy and relax. I recommend everyone to go there and you will not be sorry you did go there...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Scuba132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Latin King has great food and very nice wait staff. I give it a thumbs up :) Sometimes the wait is a little long but it's worth it....

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hollyheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Meh”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Really not impressed. This is the second time I've been here. Cameoverall for the fried mozzarella appetizer , which was good. The salad was a joke. They do not take reservations for tables less than 6, so our wait was 1hr 15min. Beer selection is weak. They have craft beer, but they are average at best. the long wait and bland main dish is not worth the price. I think they are riding on their past reputation a bit too much.

There is much better in des moines. Really just not worth it. Just overall an average meal, but with the expectation of excellence, I was disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ben62737484828394748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tursi's Latin King Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tursi's Latin King Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing