We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kosher Stacked”

Palmer's Deli & Market
Ranked #90 of 569 Restaurants in Des Moines
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kosher Stacked”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

Palmer's Deli & Market makes a sandwich, well, a sandwich! They pile on the deli meat and do not skimp on the condiments, ingredients are always fresh and the soup is full bodied and rich tasting. Well worth the money!

Helpful?
1 Thank Christina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    23
    14
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Food, but Unfriendly Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

I go to the Palmer's on 50th in West Des Moines quite frequently for lunch. The food is always fresh and delicious --- a tad pricey, but I'll pay more for quality. My gripe with the place is the unsmiling, borderline rude staff. There is only one woman I've encountered that is somewhat friendly behind the cash register. The rest look like they hate their jobs and would rather be somewhere else. I notice this EVERY time I eat there. You would think you were in NYC, not "nice" Iowa!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Juno33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Salad bar CANNOT be beat! Simply the best salad you will ever eat because you can choose the way it is made. Mixed in dressing makes every bite worth taking. Their chili is PHENOMENAL. They offer you additives for it,as well...Including sour cream! How wonderful.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hknotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, IA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

This is a place where you order and take out or eat there. It has great salads, sandwiches, soups, as well as food available to take hoe for dinner. It is not a luxury dining experience but great food for a deli!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DSM_Teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
169 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great variety!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

I went to Palmer's for lunch with a group of co-workers. The place was hopping at lunch time, but everything moved at a good place.

They have great variety here. Lots of different salads, sandwiches and soups.

It is much like a Panera or other type like that, but better! It is cafeteria style so be prepared to walk around to get your different items.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Serendipity5963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palmer's Deli & Market also viewed

 

Been to Palmer's Deli & Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing