We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I lived in Des Moines”

South Union Bread Cafe
Ranked #74 of 576 Restaurants in Des Moines
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch
East Walpole, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“If I lived in Des Moines”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

If I lived in Des Moines, I'd weigh 400 pounds because I'd eat at the South Union three times a day every day...Don't miss this place! Bread is amazing. Sandwiches are wonderful. Salad bar is FRESH. Free while you wait bread. Service is speedy. They seem happy to be on the planet! I had Sarah's Revenge; completely fresh and balanced...roast beef was scrumptious, onions and cheese were the perfect proportion, bacon was 'oh ya! I'm in the midwest!'...We were there at lunch and the place was abuzz with happy energetic talking happening spirit! A sure stop anytime you're in Iowa!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    11
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Urbandale, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best sandwich place in Des Moines”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

The only bad thing I could say is that it's not open weekends. Food is fantastic. The atmosphere is great. Possible the greatest bread on the planet. They have complimentary bread bites with olive oil.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NickL712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING lunch deal”
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

Turkey bacon melt and potato pepperjack soup with a drink. Best lunch deal around the downtown area. All under $10 bucks. Plus, you can't forget the yummy bread and oil! Only issues I have is they are open from 11-2 during the week and not open on the weekends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JT092113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankeny, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great place for a sandwich or salad!”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

When searching for a great place for lunch south union is a great place to go. Their "regular" size sandwich is enough to keep you stuffed! I always prefer the small salad to go because the amount you can fit in the container but anything on the menu is a great choice.

I would recommend this for anyone!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ajchandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Good But plan ahead”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I typicall go for lunch and the food is always fresh hot and fabulous but plan on standing in line. They do a good job getting the food out. Make sure and take some of the fresh bread and olive oil with you for a snack later. Great Stuff!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Union Bread Cafe also viewed

 

Been to South Union Bread Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing