We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always delicious”

South Union Bread Cafe
Ranked #72 of 572 Restaurants in Des Moines
Price range: US$5 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Indianola
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always delicious”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Love the food here! I only get one of 3 things - all because they are so good I don't want to try anything else!!! The potato pepperjack soup, or a sandwich (only order half, trust me!), or a make-your-own salad. I've only tried a couple sandwiches - Turkey Pepperjack and the Cajun Tuna. Everything is just YUM! The atmosphere can be noisy with the openness and tall ceilings. And arrive early, as there can be a wait to place your order. But it's all so worth it! And don't forget to get some bread to munch with your food - so good.......

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TumblerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    11
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, IA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Frequent Visitor to this Restaurant”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This place is a great spot to get hot or cold sandwiches, but my all time favorite place for their Potato Pepperjack soup and salad bar. Delicious. I go almost once a week for lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank K_Trumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
563 reviews
367 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
“The best meal we had in DM”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stopped for lunch and I had the salad bar bowl and my husband had their Union flatbread. The salad bar was outstanding. Fresh ingredients including many you wouldn't expect to see on a salad bar. For example, whole toasted pecans and chicken. I loved my salad.

My husband's flatbread was tasty but extremely challenging to eat. There were no knives on the sidebar, so he had to scrape off lots of toppings and eat it by hand. It was messy to say the least. But it tasted great.

We also grabbed some of the focaccia by the salad bar along with olive oil and Parm. It made for a delicious side.

It's a busy place at lunch, but we got there around 11:30 so getting a table wasn't hard. By noon, it was packed, so go early if you can.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SalfromIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walpole, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
86 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“If I lived in Des Moines”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

If I lived in Des Moines, I'd weigh 400 pounds because I'd eat at the South Union three times a day every day...Don't miss this place! Bread is amazing. Sandwiches are wonderful. Salad bar is FRESH. Free while you wait bread. Service is speedy. They seem happy to be on the planet! I had Sarah's Revenge; completely fresh and balanced...roast beef was scrumptious, onions and cheese were the perfect proportion, bacon was 'oh ya! I'm in the midwest!'...We were there at lunch and the place was abuzz with happy energetic talking happening spirit! A sure stop anytime you're in Iowa!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbandale, Iowa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best sandwich place in Des Moines”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

The only bad thing I could say is that it's not open weekends. Food is fantastic. The atmosphere is great. Possible the greatest bread on the planet. They have complimentary bread bites with olive oil.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NickL712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Union Bread Cafe also viewed

 

Been to South Union Bread Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing