We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Des Moines Residence Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Des Moines Residence Inn”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

New property and the rooms are very nice. Walking distance to lots of bars and restaurants. Des Moines river walk is right out the door. The only negative is there is a seldom used train track close by, but would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank 842stevey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl R, General Manager at Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed our convenient location and the ability to walk to a large variety of restaurants and bars that are nearby.
It is always a pleasure to have guests experience our new property and be pleased to have stayed with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    57
    18
    9
    3
See reviews for
40
25
5
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethel Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I travel a lot and would highly recommend this hotel. I stayed at this hotel on business for a week. The room was huge, with a full kitchen. The breakfast was good and the evening reception was an added bonus. The staff was helpful and pleasant. The hotel is close to everything and the staff was happy to provide dinner/evening options and directions. As a warning, there are train tracks across the street. So, you do hear the train at times. However, it never woke me up or was a problem.

Room Tip: Request a room that faces the court yard (opposite from the train tracks).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl R, General Manager at Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hearing a seasoned business traveler inform us he will highly recommend us really is something that brought a proud moment to my staff.
We aim to provide a wonderful experience and you definitely received that.
Add in all the great things about our new hotel and we both are winners.
Your feedback is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaaawa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My wife is in Des Moines on business, and I tagged along for the ride. I chose this new Residence Inn based on price, location, and amenities.

The hotel is new, so everything is fresh and clean looking. Our room, the basic studio, is quite spacious. Full kitchen, although the kitchen lacks some basic tools for cooking, like a kitchen knife. The kitchen counter doubles as a place to pull up a chair and eat, which is convenient.

The bed is super comfortable, with nice reading lights available on both sides.

The bathroom is good size, as is the closet.

There's free wifi in the room, with higher speed broadband available for a small fee, or free to Marriott Gold rewards members.

Staff are friendly and helpful.

There's a free breakfast available every morning which includes fruit, cereal, yogurt, make your own waffles, scrambled eggs, roasted or fried potatoes, toast, juice, etc.

There's also a "happy hour" monday-thursday evenings with free beer and wine, and snacks which change daily. Okay, it's inexpensive wine that doesn't quite make it to the "cheap but good" level, but the price is right.

There's a hotel parking building for $15 per night, but stay for five days or more and parking is free.

The location is just a block off of the Court Avenue section of downtown, putting a number of bars and restaurants within easy walking distance. So far, we would give the restaurants very mixed ratings, but at least they're close.

This is a location where a restaurant in the hotel would be welcome.

Overall, we're quite happy with what the hotel offers.

Definitely it will be on our recommended list.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iLind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl R, General Manager at Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Quite the high compliment - "Definitely it will be on our recommended list".
Besides trying to please each guest during their stay with us, our ultimate goal is to wow you so you want to return.
You summed up our hotel is fine fashion.
Lots of free stuff, big spacious suites, comfortable, great location and new.
Thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Even though I stayed only for one night, I was very pleased with this hotel. For an extended stay, this is definitely the place to choose. The suite was very large, well decorated, and comfortable. The kitchen had all the appliances, and for extended stay, you can order groceries to be delivered to your room.

The only thing that bothered me was the lack of a phone at the study desk. There is only one corded phone next to the bed, and I had to use the phone while I was working on my computer.

Overall it was a very good experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrNo707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl R, General Manager at Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your spacious suite.
Our suites are set up to be comfortable if you are here 1 night, 1 week, 1 month or 1 year.
Thanks for providing feedback and letting us know you had a good experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I've been to Des Moines a number of times, as my son attended Drake University. This was my first stay at the new Residence Inn and I only wish it had been open years earlier.

We were there Mother's Day weekend. Room was nicely laid out and spacious. Bed and bedding were very comfortable, even the pullout. Kitchen was fully equipped, neat and clean, and very convenient. The complimentary breakfast was a lovely surprise, with lots to choose from. Large lobby for meeting folks.

Parking isn't free, but the adjacent garage is convenient for loading and unloading luggage without having to tramp through the lobby. We had no trouble using our key card or finding our room - just follow the signs. My son used the exercise room and said the equipment was top notch. He did say there were not a lot of workout machines, though, and he had to make sure to get down early to get the bike.

Another suggestion: upgrade the quality of the towels. They weren't bad, but I like nice fluffy linens. The bed linens were great, as mentioned.

I can't overstate how great this location is. We easily walked to the Civic Center and, if we had to, could have go on to Wells Fargo Arena. Principal Park is also very close by. There's a lovely trail along the river that we walked along, took a pedestrian bridge across the river and walked through an Asian garden/park, then walked back the other side and crossed over on MLK Boulevard past the stadium. Just an FYI - there's a rental bike kiosk a few blocks up on 3rd Avenue near the Civic Center and we saw lots of folks pedaling along the riverwalk.

One thing that was funny was the freight train. It didn't really disturb us (we were on the second floor), but the first time I heard the whistle it made me think of My Cousin Vinny!

There are plenty of restaurants nearby, we had dinner at CABCO, which was fine. The hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful. This will definitely be where we'll stay on our next trip to Des Moines.

Room Tip: If you don't like trains, consider asking for a room on the garage side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl R, General Manager at Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Maggie,
Thank you for the kinds words.
I agree that our location is fabulous.
We are so pleased to hear you saw so many treasures of downtown Des Moines.
Having an all suite property does allow you, and your family, to spread out and get comfortable.
Although we have not been here long (and are still new basically), we will be here for your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed a this hotel when in town for a basketball tournament. Room allows for 4 but is better suited for 3 or less due to the small size of the pull out sofa. Plenty of living area, large bathroom, and plenty of breakfast options (included with room). Located in a great area of Des Moines with plenty of dining options nearby. Covered parking is attached to the building. No issues with noise (we were on the other side of the train tracks). Staff were great and very helpful whenever we had a question/request. They had a basketball court (half court) which made my 12 year old very happy. Not a complaint, but observation...despite being new, the quality of construction made the room appear that it was thrown together (grout not cleaned off tile work)but room was clean. Would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TravelingIowaMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl R, General Manager at Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Your feedback is valuable and appreciated.
You summed up the hotel very succinctly.
New, nice, convenient, lots of freebies (food & internet), huge bathroom and spacious room.
Think you covered all the bases.
Thank you for staying with us and letting us know we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
142 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We got a two bedroom room on 3rd floor. It was on the train track side, and while I slept through it, my wife did not. The hotel is new, and the décor inside the room reflects it. Lots of nice HD channels, and well appointed rooms.

Staff was nice and breakfast handled the crowd. Lobby seems designed for groups to congregate, with plenty of TVs for smaller groups as well.

Walk to Iowa Cubs game, and parking while not free, was convenient.

The rack rate was a bit steep, the market operation, I suppose.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GFKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl R, General Manager at Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Mr. Kelly,
I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed the modern feel of our new hotel.
It is so easy to see the Cubs when you have a short stroll from our front door.
Hopefully you'll be back soon to cheer them on and stay with us as well.
We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.5 mi away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#11 of 48 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown
Address: 100 SW Water St, Des Moines, IA 50309-4703
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NEW Residence Inn by Marriott, the only all- suite, extended stay hotel in downtown Des Moines sits on the scenic river, close to Principal Park, Court Avenue Entertainment District, Science Center of Iowa and the Iowa Events Center. We have spacious studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites, all with a living area and a fully equipped kitchen. Enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing