We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Solon, Iowa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed here for the first time on a Friday night. We checked in using a free night we had earned through the rewards program. The staff member at the front desk who checked us in was really friendly - made jokes but gave us all the important info too. The hotel isn't attached to the skywalk system, but it's a short walk to a parking ramp that provides access. The room was very nice with modern touches. I was a little surprised at some of the color choices - I think the white countertops in the kitchen and white floor in the bathroom are going to show age quickly. The countertop already had some visible lines and the seams were crooked. The bed was very comfortable. Beware the train that came through at 12:45 a.m. - very, very loud. Breakfast the next morning was good, and we were able to walk a couple of blocks to the farmers' market, which was wonderful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Formerteacher2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl R, General Manager at Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your loyalty to Marriott and for experiencing our new property.
We are so happy to know you loved the location and the convenience to Farmer's Market and all the other activities to be experience in our downtown area.
Best of all you want to return - we appreciate that high compliment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    57
    18
    9
    3
See reviews for
40
25
5
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
eau claire wi
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This opened in January 2014 so it is a new hotel. Modern and contemporary. Our room was very nice and clean. Free Internet worked good. Nice lobby area. the free evening reception included wine (Iowa Wine and others), Bud Lite on tap and a Nachos bar, Chicken Quesadillas and a limited salad bar. The person in charge made sure everything was kept restocked. For breakfast there were egg and sausage muffins, really great make-your-own waffles with strawberries and whipped cream. Oatmeal with different toppings, Hash browns and new potatoes with peppers and onions. This along with the normal things you would get at a breakfast. It is one block off Court street which is the bar/restaurant area downtown. We also had a view of the Des Moines River running right past and the Iowa State Capitol Building which is one of the most beautiful ever. The room had great bathing/grooming products and nice towels. Nice cotton sheets and very comfortable beds. A lot of TV channels with two TVs. But the best part were the two fellows who were manning the desk. They could not have been friendlier and more helpful. Ramp Parking is 15.00 and connected to the hotel, but that is cheap at a downtown hotel. You could come and go as you wanted. Highly Recommended!

Room Tip: 5th floor rooms right off elevator pick up the AC generator noise on the roof. We were in 521 but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hiseitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl R, General Manager at Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for choosing our nearly new hotel.
We are pleased you enjoyed the freebies, like the weeknight social, daily breakfast and internet.
Being so close to all that downtown has to offer seems to have made your experience even better
Our team members are always excited to hear they made a positive impact on our guests stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Alex (the front desk receptionist) was absolutely fabulous!!! She took very good care of us on the phone and then again in person, she assured fast and accurate service! Everyone at the hotel was accommodating, including services they included, such as grocery shopping, wine glasses and china with actual cooktop oven in room, including washers and dryers in hotel, as well as bbq spot in the very relaxing outside common area! Very well rounded hotel and when we come back for Adventureland or the Iowa State Fair we will stay here, location is excellent, right by river and bridges!!!!

Room Tip: Our view was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelHernandez2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl R, General Manager at Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive experience about Alex and the hotel.
It is hard to beat that view of the river and State Capitol at night.
All of our amenities, full kitchens - stocked, grocery service, complimentary breakfast and internet, etc. are to enhance your stay and experience.
So glad we succeeded and impressed you.
See you again next month for the State Fair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Great rooms! Air conditioning didn't work - staff handled horribly. Beware of the train track, trains run quite often and it sounds like it is coming through the walls. The staff was not impressive or professional. Checked out and moved to the Hilton next door.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kavermantl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl R, General Manager at Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Please accept my apologies that you encountered a problem during your recent brief visit.
I am sorry the AC stopped working in your room that night.
Your frustration is understandable and warranted, especially since we did not handle the situation to meet your expectations.
Thank you for the compliment on a great room and your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

In town for an I-Cubs game with the family. Hotel is brand new, just two blocks from Principal Park. Room was well-appointed, staff was super friendly and helpful. Walked across the street for supper at The High Life Lounge and then to the game. Nice breakfast and our kids enjoyed the pool. Just a really great experience overall. Love staying at Marriott properties and highly recommend this one!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank 4IowaHawkeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl R, General Manager at Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
We are so glad you loved the hotel and the convenient location in relation to Principal Park. All our out of town Iowa Cubs fans have really enjoyed the short walk to the stadium.
Thanks for sharing you great experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
154 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stay at over a hundred different properties a year. I like the Residence Inn as a brand a lot, and this one is brand new. Staff was exceptional and the room was great. It has a very unique way in and out of the garage if you are self parking which would be handy in the middle of a winter snowfall or cold. It is near a lot of restaurants and close in to downtown. Easy access as well.

My only compliant is that they charge $15 for parking. Even on a non-event night.

Recommended.

Room Tip: Don't think there is a bad room in the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mabollinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl R, General Manager at Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
It is quite an honor to recommended by someone who is such an avid traveler.
We always appreciate feedback and love knowing we earned your high praise.
Thanks for your loyalty to Marriott and enjoying the customer service, quality of our new hotel and rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

New property and the rooms are very nice. Walking distance to lots of bars and restaurants. Des Moines river walk is right out the door. The only negative is there is a seldom used train track close by, but would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank 842stevey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl R, General Manager at Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed our convenient location and the ability to walk to a large variety of restaurants and bars that are nearby.
It is always a pleasure to have guests experience our new property and be pleased to have stayed with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.5 mi away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#13 of 48 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown
Address: 100 SW Water St, Des Moines, IA 50309-4703
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NEW Residence Inn by Marriott, the only all- suite, extended stay hotel in downtown Des Moines sits on the scenic river, close to Principal Park, Court Avenue Entertainment District, Science Center of Iowa and the Iowa Events Center. We have spacious studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites, all with a living area and a fully equipped kitchen. Enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing