We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Des Moines B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Des Moines
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butler House on Grand
Ranked #3 of 4 Des Moines B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 July 2010

My wife and I plus another couple spent an all-too short one-night stay at the Butler House while in Des Moines to see "Jersey Boys". The home is a classic gem located across the street from the Art Center. Lauren and Clark were wonderful hosts who met us at 4 pm on the Saturday of our stay. Lauren recommended an Italian restaurant for us (Lucca's) which was just perfect. We toured around downtown for a while (it was an amazingly hot day in the upper 90s so we keep the outdoor activities to a minimum). Des Moines seems to have weathered the recession well with lots of new construction downtown.

Breakfast Sunday morning was as good as it gets... great food and even greater conversation with Lauren and Clark and their daughter. We highly recommend the Butler House and plan to return on our next trip to Des Moines!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2010

I just returned from a four-day stay at the Butler House with two other friends. We all had a great time & would recommend the Butler House B&B without reservation. Lauren & Clark are engaging hosts & "foodies" that gave us great restaurant recommendations (yes, there are a number of very good restaurants to pick from in Des Moines, a surprise to me). They have done an excellent job in decorating this three-story home with interesting antiques & artistic furniture. There is a large common room that is an excellent gathering place, and their breakfasts were substantial and very good. Butler House is located right across from the art museum and is in a beautiful neighborhood dotted with parks and many good routes to walk. If you are visiting Des Moines for any reason (we were there for the US Track & Field Championships), I would recommend Butler House.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghsfcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

My husband and I stayed at Butler House for one night when passing through Des Moines. We stayed in the Greenwood room. It was spacious and the bed and linens were really comfy. The full size closet would be useful to someone staying for several days. The bathroom had a few quirks, but that's part of the charm of staying in an older home. Everything was clean and well cared for, and breakfast was excellent (a plate of fruit and stuffed french toast). There was a guest refrigerator with drinks, popcorn and candy. Lauren was a great host - I even heard her volunteer to drive guests from London to kosher a deli and synagogue. High speed Internet was available in the living room, but not in our room. The only other negative for me was that the house is right on a sometimes busy road. You really can't tell that from the pictures. My husband and I really liked the place though, so we will stay again when passing through Des Moines.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

The rooms are wonderfully appointed, each with different themes. The host and hostess do a super job of making you feel welcome without crowding your space like many B & B's do. The location - only a couple of minutes from downtown was ideal. We didn't have to bother with the hustle and bustle of a "city" hotel - yet we were able to have a couple of fine dinners downtown. Des Moines has some great new resturants! The weather wasn't great - but that goes for most of the country this winter!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iowadeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

The house was totally decorated for the holidays and looked totally awesome. Clark and Laurie were such excellent hosts and they made us feel so welcome and at home, it really made our stay. My teenage son and I got a room on the third floor that was amazingly quiet. He said that it would be hard not to relax there. The wonderful breakfast made us ready to head back in the real world after staying in such dream location.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HalfDozenDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2009

The hosts didn't allow my wife in (just to use the bathroom after 6 hours in the car) until the exact check in time which was 45 minutes later. I think they must of been having a bad weekend because they seemed disinterested in running a b&b. We are extremely low maintenance and felt like we were imposing every time we entered or left the house.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank poohmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlerHouse, Owner at Butler House on Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2009

We are very sorry this guest had a bad experience. We do have a check-in time but we normally let guests check-in early if the room is ready. If a guest asks to use a restroom we have always let them use our restroom that is just inside our entrance. We honestly don't remember ever turning anyone away that needed to use a restroom!

We also encourage anyone reading this to please talk to an owner first about your concerns. We have been open over ten years and know we can always do better. But we do best when guests give us feedback. Obviously we do something right since many of our guests come back to visit again and again. We have asked this reveiwer to tell us exactly what we could do better. We hope they will respond. We feel there is no better place to stay, but we may be a little biased too! We hope you will give us a try. Our guests are never an imposition and we try not to treat them as such!
Clark Smith and Lauren Kernan Smith, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Butler House was a very comfortable B&B, with good food and friendly, knowledgeable hosts. Our plans changed around a couple of times and they were very easygoing about our later-than-usual arrival time and changing our room to accommodate a cousin who happened to be in town at the same time as we were. The rooms (Greenwood and Retreat) were MUCH bigger than they appeared on the website. It's not likely we will be in Des Moines again, but if we are, we will stay here again -- and we'll take the Retreat!

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TORoadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
2.7 mi away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#6 of 48 in Des Moines
211 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
3.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butler House on Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butler House on Grand

Address: 4507 Grand Ave, Des Moines, IA 50312-2401
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Des Moines
Price Range: £80 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the oldest B&B in Des Moines. We have been featured in the New York Times, Des Moines Register and many other publications. We enjoy making your stay in Des Moines memorable. Please come and stay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Butler House On Grand Des Moines, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing