We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best. Service. Ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cottage Grove
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Best. Service. Ever.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

As a person who spends a ridiculous amount of time in Hilton hotels around the country (over 120 nights so far this year), I've become quite accustomed to a certain level of service. They broke the mold with the folks here, however. Jolene and Mykala at the Front Desk have gone ABOVE AND BEYOND any reasonable human's expectations to cater to anything I've ever needed. They are without question of the highest order in the hospitality industry. I am VERY rarely compelled to write a review about any particular hotel, let alone hotel staff! They alone would make each trip worthwhile, but the fact that the hotel is brand new, clean, and inviting is frosting on the cake. I will NEVER stay at another hotel in DSM, if I can help it. Thank you Jolene and Mykala, you're the best!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    135
    17
    16
    7
See reviews for
153
134
15
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is a great hotel, it's brand new. Anyone can check into your room as long as they know your name. They charge $15.00 a day to park in the garage, but dont tell you until after you check out. The staff is very pleasent and everything is clean, it smells great until a person down the hall decides to smoke, and it floods the entire hallway.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Brandon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Probably best hotel I have stayed in. Everything was perfect. Love, loved the furnishing Breakfast was great . and the beds were out of this world I was pleasantly surprised to see we were next to river walk. Very nice to look at and to walk around for excercise

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 193jeanninem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Super new, very clean hotel. The front desk attendant, Ale, was very personable and professional. The room size was as expected and all furnishings were new. The pool area was enjoyable! We would stay again, but we'd probably never pay to park there when meters are free on the weekends.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had a great time at this hotel. Great location near restaurants and fun. Clean room in new hotel and great bed. Lots to do and very convenient parking. Hotel staff was helpful and there's always the cookies in the afternoon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 885mercedesr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

What a great hotel! I was here on business and my usual hotel was booked due to an event downtown. Thank goodness! The hotel is brand new, and location is great! Staff was so friendly when I first arrived, and was able to check in early. Room was fantastic (except my view was the parking garage). Couple key points about the room:
- bed was super comfortable
- the vanity/sink was outside of the actual bathroom
- the tv swiveled, which meant I could tilt it toward the bed or leave it flat against the wall, allowing me to watch the news as I got ready in the mornings. Since I travel frequently, this was an unexpected perk. Normally the tv is completely out of view if I'm at the sink.

Hotel is within walking distance of restaurants, the river, capital building, etc.

If I can help it, I won't stay anywhere else when coming to town

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teena C, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review and for your feedback. Hearing directly from guests is important as it tells us what we are doing well and what we need to do to improve. I hope you will accept my most humble apology for the unfriendly service and for the other issues and frustrations you experienced. I will promptly take the steps necessary to correct the problems you have brought to my attention. I am confident that if you return to our hotel, you would have a much improved experience. If I can be of assistance in booking a future stay, please do not hesitate to contact me at 515-244-1650 or email me at teena.carney@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

New hotel in good location. Room was a little small but very clean and bed was very comfortable. Liked the walk in shower. Pool area was pleasant but pool very cold!
Only problem was no in room safe or safety deposit box. Breakfast was kept well stocked even though it was busy. Riverwalk very pleasant

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank yvonnefov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
0.5 mi away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#6 of 48 in Des Moines
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.5 mi away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#11 of 48 in Des Moines
438 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
Address: 120 SW Water St, Des Moines, IA 50309-4703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our new Hampton Inn & Suites overlooks the Des Moines River in the heart of downtown. Guests enjoy spacious rooms and suites with free WiFi, refrigerator, microwave and ergonomic work space. Free hot breakfast is served daily. A large fitness area and indoor swimming pool are available onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing