We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Event Center
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Des Moines
Reviewed 30 January 2014

loved the hotel. rooms where clean although after being gone for the day the only thing that was done to our room was the bed made and clean towels. No cleaning was done at all. Not that we made a big mess but coffee stuff was still on the counter. I had to wipe it down same as in the bathroom. The desk staff was very accommodating and friendly. I would stay there again. It was a little noisey the first night then we figured out how to make the fan run all of the time and slept great the next night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

Our stay was very mediocre. Room was clean however was very stuffy & difficult to regulate temp. We choose this hotel as it was close to the Wells Fargo Arena however, I wouldn't stay again. We stopped by the hotel bar before & after our event and we were ignored the first time and had poor service the second time. Clearly the staff had no interest in being there or making any money. When we requested additional towels, we had no issues. They even brought them up to our room. Upon checking out, one of the staff members yelled at us down the hall asking if we were checking out, we replied yes. An extreme odor of marijuana was lingering throughout our floor. Very unpleasant.

Room Tip: Overall our stay was just poor. And if you are looking for a hot tub, good luck! Not one here. Un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WildFan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Few things grab my attention quicker than an ear-piercing hotel fire alarm. My wife and I had settled into our room on the top floor (seventh) of this hotel when the fire alarm sounded. Not knowing whether the fire alarm was "false" or not, my wife and I grabbed our immediate valuables and trudged down the seven floors of stairwell, noticing a distinct smell of cigarette smoke on the floor as we did so. Once in the lobby, we were casually informed by the front desk receptionist that the alarm was "false" and that she was "sorry." When a fire alarm is screeching, that's not a false alarm. At least not until an investigation by the hotel clearly determines that to be true. As my wife and I rode the elevator back to our seventh-floor room, accompanied by two hotel security individuals, we expected to get some type of feedback from the hotel manager on duty. We're still waiting. Not impressed with how the hotel handled this potentially dangerous situation.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oscar W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

the bed was uncomfortable.
The A/C rattled all night and the toilet ran as well, making more noise and wasting water-staff said they'd make a note of it when I complained.
Breakfast was horrid.
We stayed here for the Iowa State Fair. It was about 10 mins away so that was the only thing going for it.

Room Tip: if you want a good room, find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank omertoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel while on a business trip. It's definitely a great option for being right in the middle of downtown Des Moines, and staff are great. Internet was fast, bed comfy; what more can you ask for for a few nights? I had an issue with the lamp in my room, and after calling the front desk, someone had come up and replaced it for me in minutes! I definitely recommend for anyone looking for a decent night stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJN123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Had a nice room and convenient location in the city. The AAA listing said the hotel had a hot tub. Did not and that was a disappointment. Enjoyed the exercise room and it had several machines. Receptionist was very helpful and friendly. Only caffeinated tea.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishVermonter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We arrived at check in time the night of a Taylor Swift concert at the Wells Fargo Arena. There was a line but we didn't wait very long and the 3 ladies working were friendly, professional and efficient. Our room had a great view of the Capitol which was beautiful at night. The Arena was less than a block away which was really nice especially after the concert was finished. Even though the hotel was full it was quiet and easy to sleep. Breakfast was good and there wasn't a long wait at 8:00 am like we were expecting with that many people staying there. The hotel is situated in a great location for walking and biking. I walked to the Capital and back after breakfast, showered and was ready to check out well before noon. The only inconvenience we had was finding something to eat close by at 10:30 at night. Everything at the arena was closed by the time we were hungry for supper after the concert (as was the hotel restaurant) so either eat at a decent hour, be prepared to walk the other direction for food or have food of your own in your room. We settled for snacks from the vending machine which had a big selection. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2travel127127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Event Center

Address: 929 3rd St, Des Moines, IA 50309-1324 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Event Center)
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range: £92 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Event Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites Event Center is located next to the Iowa Events Center which includes Wells Fargo Arena, Hy-Vee Hall, and the Community Choice Credit Union/Veterans Memorial Auditorium. We are simple to find at the intersection of I-235 and 3rd Street in Downtown Des Moines. Close to the entertainment and business districts as well as the Iowa State Capital and government buildings. The Comfort Inn & Suites Event Center is the only downtown Des Moines hotel that offers free parking, complimentary deluxe breakfast buffet, and free Wi-Fi throughout the entire property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Event Center
Quality Inn & Suites Event Hotel Des Moines
Quality Inn Event Center
Quality Inn Des Moines
Des Moines Quality Inn
Comfort Inn & Suites Event Center Des Moines, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing