We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food poisoning, avoid the milkshake”
Review of Sonic Drive-In - CLOSED

Sonic Drive-In
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Fast food
Restaurant details
West Des Moines, IA
Level Contributor
332 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Food poisoning, avoid the milkshake”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

My wife and I have gone here several times since we live close by. They had an advertised happy hour with discount shakes/malts. She had a shake (she ordered a malt but she got a shake) and I got whatever thay call a blizzard. They tasted great. At 2 AM she woke up and was vomiting violently for about 20 minutes. Poor thing was feeling like crap for several hours afterwards. I noticed my leftovers had pieces of fruit in it that weren't supposed to be there. It looks like they weren't overly concerned with cleaning the equipment that night. We won't be going back there. We'll to to Dairy Queen or Snookies for ice cream from now on.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    1
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huxley, Iowa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

when i first had this i wasn't that impressed. but, the food has won me over, however, i would hesitate to get a ice cream cone (small), and the shakes are just ok. But, overall the hamburgers are pretty darn good.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank leslee74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
520 reviews
342 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Try again”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Ordered the SUPER sonic burrito and it was anything BUT SUPER. They forgot the sausage and the onions were too strong. I also ordered the steak and cheese burrito but they forgot the picante sauce. the french toast sticks were the best part of the meal and those were great. Cherry limeades are always a hit. Ice cream is good. I will chalk today's visit up to understaffed/overworked. I will try it again as their food is generally pretty good.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Zuletzt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you want hot food and don't go here. Everytime we have ordered food at any of their locations it's warm or cold. On...”
Reviewed 14 July 2010

If you want hot food and don't go here. Everytime we have ordered food at any of their locations it's warm or cold. On the other hand, if you are just wanting a Route 44 Strawberrry Limeade - this is the place!

Helpful?
Thank ridesrhinos
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Good fast food. I don't love the eat in the car thing. But the flame broiled burger was worth it. The service could...”
Reviewed 13 March 2010

Good fast food. I don't love the eat in the car thing. But the flame broiled burger was worth it. The service could use some improvement.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Sonic Drive-In also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing