We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
Nearby Hotels
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport(Des Moines)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
US$165
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Hampton.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Baymont Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport(Des Moines)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
US$96
Groupon.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Des Lux Hotel(Des Moines)
US$223
US$217
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,109)
Filter reviews
1,109 results
Traveller rating
631
296
97
62
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
631
296
97
62
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevening receptioncocktail hourmanagers receptionmade to order breakfastself parkingeast villageomeletriver viewcomplimentary breakfast isstate capitolshuttle servicebeautiful hotelwithin walking distanceliving areawells fargo arenafree shuttlebusiness trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
771 - 776 of 1,109 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Every year I take my great niece to what we call our winter retreat. I set a budget and she tells me where we are staying, where we will be eating and what we will be doing. The embassy suites was under our budget and it made a very nice place to spend on a snowy cold day. You made a 10 year old very happy. Her favorite things was the pool, the lobby and the soft beds.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
1  Thank Sherry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We always enjoy our stay at Embassy Suites. The hotel is recently remodeled and is very attractive, neat, and clean. The staff is always helpful. The rooms are spacious and modern. The hotel is often busy and active, but we have always experienced quiet nights and good sleeping. The breakfast is very good, with both a buffet and cook to order for omelets, eggs and pancakes. Parking is convenient - underground parking at the hotel - with valet or self park, or parking in a hotel lot across the street.
I am active with a nonprofit group and we have held our annual fundraising dinner/dance at the Embassy Suites for a number of years. The location is excellent and the facilities very good. The staff is great. Our meal - serving over 300 people - was very good this year - the best in years.

Room Tip: Lower numbered second floor rooms are over the ballroom and music noise from a band or dee jay can be heard in the room. An upper floor room would be quieter. There are three elevators, but you can experience a wait time for one of them.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomc317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear tomc317;

Thank you very much for your detailed review of the hotel and the great services we provide. I appreciate your business and you staying with us. I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed the fundraising event that we have been honored to host for years, Our Executive Chef, Jeff Deets and his team will be very happy to see your comment about the food as well!

Thank you again, we look forward to another great event next year!

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Great facility and accommodations. Issues with rate consistency and reservations. I would stay again but will have to make sure that rate is what I have paid in the past along with what I am supposed to get as far as extras.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Brad T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Brad T;

Thank you for your comments. Your rate will fluctuate with time and the best way to assure the best available rate is through our website at http://embassysuites3.hilton.com/en/hotels/iowa/embassy-suites-hotel-des-moines-downtown-DSMDNES/index.html . Our confirmation letters also will always have the rate you booked at clearly indicated and we will obviously honor the booked rate 100% of the time.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a clean room, excellent food, great atmosphere and friendly staff. The location has a beautiful view of the city and river and walking distance to several fine restaurants. The hotel will send a shuttle bus to pick you up at the airport and return you with a friendly driver, just a 20 minute drive each way.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Cecil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This is a great hotel. The rooms are great and the service is fantastic. The van driver was very courteous and even took us to a restaurant he recommended. It was very good. Overall, I had a great experience. I've stayed here multiple times and it's always been great.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Jon D;

I appreciate your comments regarding our van drivers and the service they provide!

See you when you come back!

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews