We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a wonderful hotel. The staff is extremely nice and the hotel is beautiful. We were traveling with friends and had connecting suites. The evening reception was great and the cook to order breakfast has anything anyone could want. We will definitely return to this hotel anytime we're in Des Moines!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank jimmyfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear jimmyfp;

Thank you for your comments - we all look forward to serving you in the future!

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,031)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

641 - 647 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

We booked a room for two nights. Upon our arrival, we decided to use the valet service. The staff member told us there was no valet service but we could park our own car 1/2 a block away. Mind you the 1/2 block walk didn't kill us but the idea of advertising a valet service and not being able to follow through is a bit off-putting. We went to grab a bite to eat at the restaurant. As previously mentioned, the service was terrible. Our room smelled musty, the A/C vent was literally blowing out quarter size dust bunnies, and there was some sort of topper on the mattress that caused the fitted sheet not to fit. Dead bugs on the window casing was the last straw. We checked out immediately. Our elevator ride down was shared with a staff member that had not bathed in quite some time. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Kim T;

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry your stay was not enjoyable and it truly is not representative of what our guest typically experience as you can see from the mostly outstanding comments we receive on TripAdvisor and through our own Guest surveys. I would greatly appreciate it, if you could contact me directly at the hotel to review the specifics and give me the opportunity to make it right for you.

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We paid a premium price for a premium suite that didn't live up to its promises. We were supposed to have access to a refreshment center (in reality a couple of vending machines - you enter a code and the machine dispenses your selection - there was a machine with beverages and a machine with chips, candy bars, and trail mix). Beverage selections were bottled apple juice, bottled water, and cans of Coke, Diet Coke, and Sprite. We were there for one night and both times we tried to get a beverage - the evening we checked in and the morning we checked out - the machine was out of everything except regular Coke. WiFi was included in the premium price, but in our room on the 8th floor it was weak and kept getting dropped, so we weren't able to use it much. The Keurig coffee maker (also touted as perk in the premium suites) wasn't cleaned out before our arrival. It still contained a liquid-filled styrofoam cup and a used K-cup.

We also found a few other problems with the room in general: 1) the Kleenex box was nearly empty when we arrived and when we used those up, there wasn't another box in the room, 2) there was no plastic bag for the ice bucket, and 3) the temperature of the suite was difficult to control. The front room has the thermostat. The back room was hotter, so the choice was to turn the air conditioner down low enough to cool the back room to a comfortable temperature (which made the front room too cold) or keep the front room at a comfortable temperature (which made the back room too hot).

We would stay here again because overall this is a nice hotel. We just wouldn't book a premium suite.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank An_Iowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear An_Iowan;

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback! I greatly appreciate it and have discussed your comments with my staff. We hope to be of service to yu in the future and we do always look for ways to improve service and product delivery so I do truly value your comments.

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was my first stay at Embassy Suites in Des Moines. The hotel had a very nice appearance and the rooms were beautiful. I didn't feel like driving to find restaurants, so I ate at the hotel restaurant several times. The food was good, but the service was terrible. Whether they were busy or only had a couple tables, I sat for about an hour and a half each time because they were so slow. Even ordering something simple like a salad, it took so long and then when I was ready for the check, that was also a long process. The other issue was their elevators. They had two sets, one set on each side of the hotel. One set was out of order the whole time I was there and the other ones kept getting stuck.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 82Paula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear 82Paula;

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your dining experience in Liberty's restaurant - please be assured that I have reviewed your feedback with our Food and Beverage Management team as we aim much higher than what you experienced.

We are in final stages of completing our complete elevator renovation project and I am sorry that one of teh elevators was being renovated during your stay. With the new elevators we will have much faster service than we have had in the past and while the project takes approximately 2 months per elevator, the wait has been worth it and is almost over as we should have the last elevator back in service any day now.

Sincerely,


Skip Hammerman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Des Moines is a Midwest treasure. The Embassy Suites-Downtown, was an excellent located property. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was outstanding. Rooms were spacious and fun, for our family. Our daughter had a medical conference there and we came along for fun. Our grandson, who is 5, truly enjoyed the pool, which was clean and well-maintained.
Fred, the doorman, porter, welcome man, was so nice, outgoing, helpful and fun. He went out of his way, to make our stay enjoyable.
We will stay there again I October, when we return for the Bridges Festival.
Shopping in Historic Des Moines was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BETTY4610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Betty 4610;

I greatly appreciate your kind comments and I was especially glad to see that Fred provided his usual exceptional service! We all look forward to your return in October!

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Was in town for my wedding. Was with 25 members of my family from the east coast and we all stayed at Embassy Suits. It was a 10 out of 10! Great Value, great rooms, staff was a 10 & they really made us feel like they were always there to help. If you are staying in Des Moines stay here, you will leave wanting to come back for more

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Jeffrey L;

I am glad that you had a 10 stay and that our staff made you feel that they were all here to help you. Thank you for your business - come see us again!

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I unexpecitedly had to drive for 8 hours and needed to rest midway. This hotel provided a clean, appealing and efficient oasis at 2 AM/ The night clerk was particularly helpful in that she gave me quick and useful infomration for my early monring departure. The room was very quiet, the bed comfortable and the complimentary breakfast was robust.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear John T;

I am glad to hear that our hospitality extends to the wee hours of the night and that a midnight traveler like your self is received with friendly and efficient service! I will thank the staff member in question and show my appreciation as well.

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#6 of 48 in Des Moines
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#12 of 48 in Des Moines
449 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown

Address: 101 E Locust St, Des Moines, IA 50309-1802 (Formerly Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines-On The River)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Des Moines
#3 Business Hotel in Des Moines
#3 Family Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range: £121 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfort of the spacious two-room suites at the Embassy Suites Des Moines Downtown. Located close to the Iowa State Capitol, explore the trendy shopping and dining opportunities of the Historic East Village. Enjoy complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and a nightly Manager's Reception. Elegant banquet facilities are available for weddings, business meetings and other special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Des Moines
Des Moines Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing