We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The service was great. We were able to check in very quickly and had no issues checking out. The location of the hotel was perfect or what we wanted and there was a lot of nice shopping in the area to walk to. The rooms were amazing, clean and we had easy access to our room. I have no complaints about this hotel, staff or location. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Carly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Carly H;

I am glad you found the service to be excellent as we work very hard to insure that every guest has a great experience.

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,027)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

617 - 623 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

The hotel was in a great location. It was close to where I needed to be for work, but also had a great view of the river. During the day I was able to sight see and walked to the capital building. The rooms were nice, they had a separate living area from the bed room. The beds were comfortable and I slept well. The bathrooms were good, the shower was nice in water flow and temp control. The best thing was the free breakfast! The made to order omelettes were out of this world and the fella that made them was so nice! Room service was good too! The food was great. The shuttle to the airport was free and the driver was very nice as well. I used the gym and I enjoyed it. The elevator by my room was under construction. The only downside to the hotel was having to pay for wifi, but I guess you can't have everything. I would say here again.

Room Tip: River view!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deeannana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Deeannana;

Thank you for your detailed review of your great experience with us! I am very glad that you found all the staff friendly and that the complimentary cooked to order breakfast was served with great hospitality! Thank you for your business - greatly appreciated!

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I highly recommend the Embassy Suites Des Moines.

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our experience. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was clean. The location was perfect. There were a number of things to do in the area and we enjoyed being near the entertainment district. We used the free shuttle a couple of times during our stay. The shuttle staff were friendly, knowledgeable about the area and prompt.

Complimentary breakfast hit the spot every morning. The breakfast cook was out-going, engaged my kids in discussions and made the breakfast experience wonderful. The choices were outstanding.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Tim L;

Sounds like you had a perfect stay with us! Nothing could make me happier. I was delighted to see your comments about the breakfast cook as this made a special impression on you and your kids.

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Embassy Suites is a terrific place to stay when visiting Des Moines. From check-in to check-out, the hotel staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast, particularly the made-to-order omelets and delicious oatmeal. The suite was clean, spacious and quiet and afforded a nice view. Parking across the street was simple and convenient, and the hotel is located near all the key spots in downtown Des Moines, including the lovely river walk. Definitely a place we'll stay again when in town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
1  Thank thisaintnoscreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear thisaintnoscreenname;

I appreciate your great comments about the Front Desk staff and I am glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy our complimentary cooked to order breakfast as well. Please come back soon!

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The hotel was the perfect place for us during out stay. We were within walking distance of several attractions which provided an opportunity to do some sight seeing. The staff was very helpful and took care of the few requests we had. The hotel has several inviting hangout spots with the extensive water features in the atrium and out door patio on the banks of the river. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear James B;

I am very glad that you enjoyed the hotel and the atrium features. I look forward to your return when your travel plans bring you back to Des Moines.

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here twice in three weeks' time. Booking/rebooking and checking in were smooth - parking options are great. Located near (walkable) unique restaurants and shops and fairly close (5 miles or so) from shopping centers. Rooms have great amenities and the breakfast was delicious. Will stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Charity H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Charity;

Thank you for your repeat visits and nice comments - we appreciate your business!

Skip Hammerman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We hosted our rehearsal dinner on the patio on the river walk, and our reception for our wedding in the ballroom this past weekend! Wow! Everything was perfect!! The food was great, the staff and service friendly and accommodating, and the event team and banquet services did an incredible job executing everything through out the evening! We are extremely thankful for the service that was provided and are very satisfied with how our wedding weekend turned out!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Lauren H;

Thank you very much for your great comments. We were all delighted to be part of your wedding and are very happy for the both of you. We have many weddings at the Embassy Suites Des Moines Downtown each year, but our staff truly understands that each wedding is one the most important, if not the most important event, in the lives of the bride and the groom and we do everything to insure that the special day will be the best it can be!

Sincerely,

Skip Hammerman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#6 of 48 in Des Moines
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#12 of 48 in Des Moines
449 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown

Address: 101 E Locust St, Des Moines, IA 50309-1802 (Formerly Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines-On The River)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Des Moines
#3 Business Hotel in Des Moines
#3 Family Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range: £121 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfort of the spacious two-room suites at the Embassy Suites Des Moines Downtown. Located close to the Iowa State Capitol, explore the trendy shopping and dining opportunities of the Historic East Village. Enjoy complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and a nightly Manager's Reception. Elegant banquet facilities are available for weddings, business meetings and other special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Des Moines
Des Moines Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing