We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Des Moines
Reviewed 19 February 2012

If you are a senior and getting their discount, you can't beat the price. The facility is showing it's age, but it is very comfortable and improvements are being made. The staff is helpful and service is very good. Location is great for north Des Moines and close to resturants and shopping.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 800retire11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2012

Easy to get to - several restaurants close - friendly folks - clean & neat - almost like home

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

This Quality Inn is a good motel...with an excellent location as the first motel off I-80 in north Des Moines, Iowa. The room was clean, newer items. It's an older building and you can see a couple places of it's age, but nothing to detract from a comfortable overnight stay. It has free wifi and a typical breakfast for these types of motels.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Nice, easy-to-find location right off interstate. And close to both fast-food and family-style restaurants. No hot tub here, but pool was fine. Was some smoke drift-over from smoking rooms, even in non-smoking areas and hallways. Not enough to complain about, but not as nice as 100% free non-smoking hotels. Oh, and no waffles at breakfast. Bummer!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IowaAvidReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We were in the area for one night and needed a place to stay. We also are trying to gain points for future travel so this hotel fit that qualification. Otherwise, we would not have stayed here and doubtful that we do again. (We had read the poor reviews.) The room was a non-smoking room but smelled of smoke and then my husband and daughter woke up in the night thinking someone was definately smoking in the room. If you have any allergies this would be a nightmare. The noise outside/inside was loud. Two positives were the points we earned through our credit card and the nice size beds.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

I almost didn't book here since some of the reviews on this site discouraged it. But I'm glad I came to this hotel. It was a great stop for my family as we drove from Colorado to Michigan on I80. Person at desk was nice and quick. Rooms were clean. We were supposed to get 2 rooms, each with 2 queen beds. One of the rooms actually had 2 kings. Beds were comfortable and we all slept well. Breakfast was ok and included hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, cereal, etc. My kids wished it had waffles, but other than that, was fine enough. It met our needs for a quick stop as we travel through.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davelydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

I thought being part of the larger chain that included Comfort Inn, this would be a good hotel with a nice room and good hot breakfast. It wasn't.

Check in guy was in a tee shirt and wearing some beads with a 'quality' shirt over it. He looked like he just came off the beach. He really was not front desk proper in his dress, speak or attitude.

I have no idea if there was an elevator, we couldn't find it. Barking dog in the next room didn't make the stay very peaceful. At least we weren't on the freeway side of the building, that would have been even worse. Room overlooked a roof and construction dumpster. Shower drain was full of hair, we couldn’t hang clothes as the rail frame was pulled away from the wall.

Breakfast was cold except for the gravy for the biscuits. It was limited on the selection. There were no meats, they did have cold hard boiled eggs, yogurt, and 2 types cold cereal. The hot water for tea was a safety hazard as it was so high you could not see the water level in the cup. The garbage in the breakfast area was full and getting fuller. Maybe they don’t serve full breakfasts for those staying on weekends.

On the plus side, it is easy on and off from the highway.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vintnerdons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#32 of 50 in Des Moines
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
#29 of 50 in Des Moines
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#33 of 50 in Des Moines
154 reviews
0.3 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
8.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 4995 Merle Hay Rd, Des Moines, IA 50322-1901
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range: £54 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Des Moines
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Inn Des Moines
Des Moines Quality Inn
Quality Inn & Suites Des Moines, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing