We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and close to downtown and airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Clean and close to downtown and airport”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My family and I stayed at the hotel one night. It is next to the Des Moines airport and 10 minutes from downtown and Zombie burger. Newly renovated however there were items that were worn out already. New carpet, flat screen TV, free wi-fi, comfortable bed and fairly comfortable pull out couch.

Continental breakfast with small dining area. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawkeye27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    32
    22
    20
    13
See reviews for
33
22
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Temple Hills, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Excellent location right off the highway. Outside look of the building could use some improvement but the inside was excellent. Excellent staff and breakfast was normal. One of the better Choice Hotel locations. Some of the photos on TripAdvisor are outdated. My only issue I had was not the hotels fault but I had a hard time sleeping most of the night because people were going from room to room and letting the doors slam until 2-3am and thier rooms seemed to be on all sides of us.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jedivader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Well, before I get into anything else... just like the title says, the people made the difference. I was booked in here for one of my trade shows, and I was having a large restock order sent in to arrive on Friday. UPS decided that they knew better than I did when I actually needed this, and they decided to deliver it on Monday instead. Monday, I'm usually back home, so this presents an issue for me.

The staff here helped me in every way they could on this, and went above and beyond what they had to do, and really made this as painless as they could for me. Kudos for them, and it's the reason why I gave this review a 5 star rating... if you look over my reviews, you know that I -rarely- give out five stars.

Covering a few points for the detail oriented: This hotel is at the end of a service road, tucked in so close to the ramp for the highway that my GPS wants me to take the ramp onto the highway and turn right to get there. That doesn't work, as you might imagine. Go down the road about a block, take the entrance in front of the BP gas station (going from memory) and pass the Wendy's, and there you go.

This is a two story installation, and I didn't see any elevators. Be prepared. I reserved a ground floor room.

The ice machine works well, and produces nice well-frozen ice without any silly "no cooloers" signs on the machine. It was a slight walk away from my room, but not too bad.

Breakfast was a fairly typical affair, but the biscuits and gravy were actually more tasty than I had anticipated.

The internet had to be signed into about twice a day, but otherwise was reasonably fast.

The bathroom had a short toilet, but at least it was a decently oval one. The shower was OK for water pressure and temp, nothing spectacular. As a tall guy, I was looking down at the shower head, though.

All the minor issues were washed away with how nicely the staff worked with me to take care of that shipping issue, though. So, I had no trouble recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kansasccw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Traveling through Iowa last week, my business partner and I decided to stop midway between Colorado and Ohio. We booked into the Quality Inn of North Des Moines Iowa. The room was on a par with other Comfort/Quality Inns I had stayed at which means comfortable and clean.

The disappointment came when we went down for breakfast and found that they didn't have a waffle machine! The posters and other literature about their breakfast showed hot waffles. I had never been to a Choice Hotels chain hotel that didn't have the waffles. We went elsewhere for breakfast.

Room Tip: Our room faced the freeway but we couldn't hear it at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desertskymodels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarinda, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We booked rooms over the internet, got there later in the evening. Desk lady rude, TV didn't work, room & halls smelly, rooms were older and not well kept & I had to walk forever to get to the front desk to get keys to a different room since TV didn't work. After reading the reviews posted so far, I'm not sure we were at the same hotel. Will not be staying again

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

This is a very nice hotel with a very good price. Front Desk service was excellent. Breakfast was very good with lots of assortments including fresh fruit. The person serving the food was very pleasant and very helpful. The rooms, the entry way and the breakfast area were very clean! We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOY2_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aitkin, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Rate are great and the rooms are out standing and clean the personal are very help full and friendly. I would stay there again in a heart beat. they have a free breakfast in the morning. this is where I will stay from know on

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1stwinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#30 of 48 in Des Moines
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
8.3 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#33 of 48 in Des Moines
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
#32 of 48 in Des Moines
481 reviews
5.3 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#13 of 48 in Des Moines
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 4995 Merle Hay Rd, Des Moines, IA 50322-1901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Des Moines
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Inn Des Moines
Des Moines Quality Inn
Quality Inn & Suites Des Moines, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing