We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing-Not Up to the Standards You Expect” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
439 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 469 helpful votes
“Disappointing-Not Up to the Standards You Expect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

I am a loyal customer of Choice Hotels and rarely have anything negative to say, but this property is the exception and the "average" rating I gave it is generous, I really felt it was very close to "poor". Located close to I-80 and I-35 could be an advantage but not in this case as it means constant noise from semi and other traffic. The front desk personnel was friendly, and the entrance and common areas appeared ok, but stepping into the room was the disappointment. Room was depressing with an outdated, unattractive decor, old upholstered furniture that should be replaced, there was not even a phone on the desk. Bedding was old and worn. The hall light fixture as you came in appeared to have a collection of dead bugs which was the first thing you saw when you entered the room. The bathroom had water stains on the cheap linoleum where it appeared both the toilet and shower had overflowed numerous times.

It was pouring rain in the morning, so I looked forward to eating at the motel. It was the worst selection of breakfast items I have seen at a Choice property. In fact it was so bad, I choose to skip it entirely and buy a breakfast elsewhere. A gentleman was there the same time I was and I asked him if he was as underwhelmed with the selection as I was and he said he was. The hot entree sign showed waffles, but all I could find were some biscuits and gravy. I went back to the front desk to see when the waffles would be out but was informed they were "discontinued". Moving over to the fresh fruit sign I thought I'd grab a banana as shown in the picture, but alas the bananas had experienced the same fate as the waffles.

With all the lodging options in Des Moines, I know I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    29
    19
    20
    12
See reviews for
30
19
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

While the front and lobby area looked good, I was totally surprised when I got into the room. Very old, no refrigerator or microwave.
Room was clean. Beds were clean and fairly comfortable, but mattresses were old and looked like they were sagging to the middle.
Non-smoking hotel, however since smoking was allowed outside entrance doors, the smell of smoke was very prevalent in the halls and in my room since it was very close to one of the entrance hallways.
Could easily hear people in the adjoining rooms and in the hallways and rooms facing the freeway can easily hear all the traffic.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat5414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Dakota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

This property needs some management skills! Room 131 had a broken-down king bed, that needed replaced years ago, having flooring in the bathroom that looked like it had black mold under it, torn carpet in the entry, and a nightmare of a heating unit that rattled ALL night is not up to the CHOICE properties we have stayed at through the years! Great location, bedding clean, breakfast was not fresh, stale bread products! They have a very good front desk ! Greeting / check-in gave this review a 2 instead of the 1 it deserved! Not coming back!

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank t f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
805 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 688 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

First off, there are three Quality Inns in Des Moines area - one by the airport, one in the middle of the town and this one is on the northern side.

This one does have elevator, it had a fairly large and working pool (but no spa). We were supposed to get a two queen room, but they looked like two kings, so the beds were excellent. The room was very quite and clean, everything was working. The breakfast was ok. No omelet or sausages but biscuits with gravy and regular cold stuff - muffins, fruits, yogurt etc.

Overall - great value, nothing wrong. I would give 5 stars but the place did look dated and the breakfast was good but not great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heckfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here a few times before and have stayed here thru a couple of managers in the past and this place works. It is an older property but it has been maintained and upgraded made. Rooms are quite large and they also have suites. Some rooms have microwaves and fridges but not all. All rooms are inside with lots of outside entrances. Beds are upgraded with lots of pillows. The rooms and bathrooms are clean-housekeepers are very good and polite. Flat screen TVs in every room. Exercise room and indoor heated pool. Some landscaping/ but check about dogs. The manager is Michael and is always there and checking on things! Makes you feel hassle free ! Several higher end properties at this exit but I don't believe you could get more at any of these.... Great location for food, bars,and shopping! Good stop for a stop off the hi-way!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank alboise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed here for one evening for the first time. It is an older place that has been remodeled. The rooms are nice and clean and the beds comfortable. Our bathroom had some wall paper peeling off the wall and the tub refinishing was falling apart. Other than that, the location was good and the staff friendly. The breakfast includes biscuits and gravy, which my husband loved. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MTNHIKING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
535 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

This seems like an older place in need of a face lift. No problems. Everything worked. No refer or microwave. The staff was friendly and check in and out was easy. Next door to a bar and Wendys. I would stay again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adak C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
#31 of 49 in Des Moines
3.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
8.3 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#33 of 49 in Des Moines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
5.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#27 of 49 in Des Moines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
5.2 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#11 of 49 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 4995 N.W. Merle Hay Road, Des Moines, IA 50322
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Des Moines
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Inn Des Moines
Des Moines Quality Inn
Quality Inn & Suites Des Moines, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing