We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow. But not in good way.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Waverly,Ia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow. But not in good way.”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

My husband stayed here two years ago. Two years ago he told the staff that there was bloody hand prints in the stairwell. Fast forward two years... still there. We are staying here for business through a government contract. Not by choice. The scary part is that the hotel has been remodeled since then. Or parts of it anyway.

Room Tip: Don't take the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brendamarie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnNW, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Thank you for the information. After talking with our front desk staff and investigating both our stairwells we were unable to locate any hand prints. We ask guests with any problems or concerns to come to the front desk and let them know that way we can resolve or investigate the issue at that time. If there is anything we can do for you fell free to contact the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    41
    41
    20
    8
See reviews for
35
22
10
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ravenna, Nebraska
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed while traveling though IA on I-80. This is the 3rd time we've stayed here. I don't remember it being $150/night before, but with a family of 5, there are not a lot of options with enough room for everyone to sleep. We got a "family suite", which offers a bedroom with a king size bed, & a room with a pull out sofa, fridge, sink, and microwave. There is enough room for our 3 kids to relax, run around, and stretch their legs after a long day in the car.

However, the fridge was broken and warm (seems like I remember this from the last time, too). The closet door was off the track and hanging weird. There is a large sink area outside of the bathroom - good thing because the bathroom itself is TINY.

Pool was nice, kids enjoyed it.

We tried to eat breakfast at the attached Bennigans (as there is no complimentary breakfast), but was told by the teenage hostess that they didn't have a table to fit 5 and we would have to split up into 2 tables. What? We have 3 kids under 10 - I don't think so. So, we went to Perkins down the road and had a pleasant breakfast.

At $150 a night (plus tax), you'd think you'd get a clean, well-maintained room and complimentary breakfast. I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RollingSuburban5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnNW, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this review, 10 November 2010
First off, I am sorry for the delay in responding to your review. I understand that your past stay with us was not what it should have been and would like to resolve the issues you encountered. I am having my Housekeeping and Engineering departments go through and inspect all of the rooms to make sure everything in the rooms are intact and in proper working condition. We are continually doing training with our staff to ensure that the right information is passed on to the customer to ensure a great experience every visit. If you are traveling through the area give us a call and we would like to make everything right with you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, IA
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Room, bathroom and elevator were extremely dirty. We had adjoining rooms with family. Both had live spiders, ants on curtains, bathrooms. Carpet was actually moist so we didn't walk around w/o shoes. For the money we were angry and dissapointed. It sealed the deal for me not to stay in anymore Holiday Inns, as recently each one has been unacceptable for cleanliness for the amt. of money per night.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruffco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

I'm traveling for several weeks and am staying in Holiday Inns along the way. Compared to the previous 3 Holiday Inns, this one was very disappointing.
Pros: great and helpful staff
new and updated linens - nice beds
lobby area was welcoming and comfortable
quiet rooms and fans
Cons: older property in need of renovation
wallpaper in hallways peeling
ceiling tiles in hallways water damaged and sagging
moldy smell in halls
tiny rooms and bathrooms with no microwave and refrigerator as were available at other properties
overpriced

I wouldn't stay here again....there are better properties for the price and condition.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinky3251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnNW, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this review, 10 November 2010
Thank you for comments on our property, we take every comment and see what we can do to improve the way we do business from them. We strive to provide excellent customer service to each and every guest that walks through our doors. We are currently going through the Holiday Inn brand relaunch and are currently updating every area of the hotel to make it look like a new hotel once again. If you are traveling through the area give us a call and we will do everything we can to make you a happy customer once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Not a great place, not a bad one either. It's a pretty average place when its all been said. The pool area was nice but the water was beyond cold. Staff did their jobs fine and provided us with good service. I can see how you might feel cheated if you paid $90+ for a one night stay but we got it for about half of that through priceline so no complaints at all. We didnt eat anything here so I can't comment on that.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maintain242001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baraboo, WI
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Traveling across the country and stopped at Holiday Inn late on Friday nite for overnight stay. Wanted hotel near restaurant and there is a Bennigans in front of the hotel. Hotel wanted $129 for stay...but cut price to $99 - plenty high - but decided to stay since it was so late. Clerk told me that breakfast began at 6:30 am. I thought this to mean a complimentary continental breakfast. The bathroom in hotel was extremely small. When you sat on the toilet you blocked the toilet paper holder. Who designed this?
Went into Bennigans for supper. Seated next to bar. So much racket that it was impossible to enjoy the meal (not very good).
In the morning I wanted to take a shower but couldn't figure out how to turn on shower. No instructions! One of those faucets without a diverter on top to start the shower. Finally ended up taking a bath. Went to down to breakfast and found out they meant the restaurant connected opened at 6:30 am - no free continental breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarabooDells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2009

We stayed for one night as a stopover on our way to Lincoln, NE. The building and rooms were older. The beds and accessories (towels, linens) were updated. The pool area was good for traveling with families (DEEP deep end, warm pool room, pool temp just right). Having been accustomed to staying in the Staybridge Suites family of hotels, this felt not quite up to that standard. But for our purpose of just a place to rest, it was just fine. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. There were plenty of places to eat or get food (grocery store down the street). Just seemed disappointing that when the hotel wasn't full we were assigned a room directly across from the ice maker. We were one of the few guests traveling without a pet.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_family_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
0.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#27 of 48 in Des Moines
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#30 of 48 in Des Moines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
#29 of 48 in Des Moines
3.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
Address: 4800 Merle Hay Rd, Des Moines, IA 50322-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest is located in the heart of Iowa, 1/2 block from Interstates 80/35 and Merle Hay Road in the Des Moines suburbs of Johnston and Urbandale. Within minutes of corporate locations such as John Deere Credit, Pioneer Hi-Bred, Iowa Public Television and Camp Dodge. Enjoy our indoor pool, hot tub and recreation area until midnight! Nearly 200 guestrooms and suites feature quilt-top mattresses, triple sheets and pillow menu. Executive-class suites are offered in several styles, from Junior Kings to the stunning Presidential Whirlpool with Rosewood conference table, bar and entertainment center. Hotel offers over 12,000 square feet of conference space, including 18 breakout meeting rooms. Meet in the elegant Iowa Boardroom or the Heartland Ballroom, which can accommodate up to 600 guests. From technical assistance and creative menu planning, to just a bit of reassurance, our meeting professionals can assist with the planning of your next best event! Enjoy complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet service anywhere in the Hotel or restaurant. Local guests enjoy the extensive menu and friendly Irish hospitality of our Bennigan's restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Des Moines - Northwest
Holiday Inn Des Moines
Des Moines Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing