We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and accommodating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Clean and accommodating”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We enjoyed two connecting rooms with comfortable queen beds. The hotel was clean and the staff couldn't have been more accommodating. There is a nice business center and we appreciated coffee in the lobby in the morning. It was raining and we were offered an umbrella to get us to our car so we could load under the front canopy drive. Ample parking and a connecting restaurant (Bennigans) with great food and service.

Room Tip: Easy exit off interstate. Both fast food and sit down restaurants within walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sawdustsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    41
    42
    20
    8
See reviews for
37
22
10
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

It had been over a year since I stayed here. With conference being in Urbandale I chose to stay here as it is close. Last time was't upgraded as a Platinum Member. This time Jackie at the front desk couldn't have been nicer. I was upgraded to a two room suite and given a "goodie" package for being a Platinum member. I was also given a coupon for free breakfast and free drink at Bennigans which is connected to the hotel. I will definitely stay here again when in Des Moines.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cy2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I enjoyed my stay at this property. The meeting space, guestrooms, and public areas are clean and contemporary. The location is easy to get to off the freeway and plenty of restaurants, shopping to go to within a few miles. The staff was friendly and professional. Great experience.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValleyofJewels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a reunion and found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The room was very clean and the staff was always on the spot to handle any request. The restaurant / Bar was good and the food well prepared. The Hospitality room was the right size for the amount of attendees and the Banquet food was above the norm for this type of event.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed here during our 4 year anniversary and it was a treat, the staff treated us well and the food was good.

The hotel is older and I was worried but that was put to rest when I walked into the lobby.

The desk staff told me they would be redoing rooms soon as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrreview2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

They are in the process of updating the hotel I noticed. Our room was a good size and clean but hasn't been updated yet. No breakfast which was disappointing considering the price per night. Didnt get to use the pool or hot tub but they looked nice. The hotel ran out of extra blankets and pillows so ask for them as soon as you check in if you plan on using a pull out or roll away bed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Adam J,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us. I am pleased to know that you liked our rooms and apologize for the shortcomings you have encountered. As for the breakfast, free continental breakfast is offered at our Holiday Inn Express chains, I see that you have stayed in a Holiday Inn which is a full service hotel. They offer a variety of services and amenities such as full service restaurants on site. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Center, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed on night after attending a Nationwide race at nearby Newton, Iowa. The friendly staff greeted us at check in and the room (Executive King) was very nice. Hotel decor is fresh, amenties are great. Upon returning from the race at midnight and wanting to take a shower, we found that the knob on the shower was broken. I called down to the desk to report the issue and a maintenance person was at the door within minutes. He repaired the shower in 15 minutes. Great service!! Will stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#26 of 48 in Des Moines
103 reviews
0.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
2.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#30 of 48 in Des Moines
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
Address: 4800 Merle Hay Rd, Des Moines, IA 50322-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest is located in the heart of Iowa, 1/2 block from Interstates 80/35 and Merle Hay Road in the Des Moines suburbs of Johnston and Urbandale. Within minutes of corporate locations such as John Deere Credit, Pioneer Hi-Bred, Iowa Public Television and Camp Dodge. Enjoy our indoor pool, hot tub and recreation area until midnight! Nearly 200 guestrooms and suites feature quilt-top mattresses, triple sheets and pillow menu. Executive-class suites are offered in several styles, from Junior Kings to the stunning Presidential Whirlpool with Rosewood conference table, bar and entertainment center. Hotel offers over 12,000 square feet of conference space, including 18 breakout meeting rooms. Meet in the elegant Iowa Boardroom or the Heartland Ballroom, which can accommodate up to 600 guests. From technical assistance and creative menu planning, to just a bit of reassurance, our meeting professionals can assist with the planning of your next best event! Enjoy complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet service anywhere in the Hotel or restaurant. Local guests enjoy the extensive menu and friendly Irish hospitality of our Bennigan's restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Des Moines - Northwest
Holiday Inn Des Moines
Des Moines Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing