We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Execellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here last Friday night after a long day at the Iowa State Fair. We were greeted at the front desk with a smile and offer of assistance. We checked in and went to our room. The room was very clean and comfortable. The pillows were out of this world!! Wanted to purchase two of them when we checked out ~~ but, could not. (Darn, would have really liked to buy two.)
Thought about going to the hot tub but the area was really busy with families....so we just went back to our room and enjoyed the free internet. We both had a great nights sleep. Will stay here again if we're in the area!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCHS1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stayed here in the spring with a couple of my children on a Saturday night. The front desk staff was nice and the room clean enough; however, the hotel was overrun with sports teams (looked to be elementary and secondary ages). I don't object to sports teams; however, the pool area was so incredibly loud that my elementary aged child, who had asked to swim, wanted to leave the pool area immediately and refused to swim--not typical behavior.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidwesternParent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear MidwesternParent,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are pleased you found our staff to be nice and the room clean. We would like to apologize for the challenges you had during your stay. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

After being at Mayo Clinic for two weeks of testing for my daughter, this was not the way to end our trip. There was no sign for where to check in. Construction at hotel, very loud. No tub. Barely room to get in bathroom. Mattress springs broke. Bed sqeeked. Hot tub still broke. Wallpaper peeling. Mold. Mosquitos all in pool area. To get breakfast you have to pay $30. Doors slamming everywhere. When vacuuming it smelled like belt was burning up. Pool very cold. Microwave burnt popcorn in under 2 minutes. No plug by bed for phone.

Room Tip: Top floor. Not by elevator or stairs. Away from construction side.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chanin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeH4Hol-Inn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Chanin L,

Thank you very much for your comments - I am very sorry you found some things lacking or not to your liking. While it is true we were doing some work on the property resurfacing some of our parking lot, we were very diligent to not begin prior to 9AM each morning

I would be very happy to discuss your concerns further. Simply call the hotel and as for Mike the GM and I would be happy to discuss. For future reference we do have a Manager on Duty 24 hours per day to resolve any issues that may occur. We sincerely want to make you comfortable and resolve any concerns while you are here, not after you are gone.

Thanks again for your comments.

Mike H GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We checked into the hotell thinking it looked really nice....but once we got to the room we changed our minds and checked back out. The cart we used for our luggage would not fit thru the door, and the door itself had a hard time closing. The bathroom fan didnt work...which later we were told that none of them did, the hole was just for show. My husband went down to the indoor pool, the spa was out of order and the pool had handfuls a bugs floating in it.... Luckily they did let us out of our reservation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BriansMom2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeH4Hol-Inn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Briansmom2014

Thank you very much for posting your comments. We do value and appreciate all feedback from our guests.

Please allow me to share a little information with you that may not have been immediately apparent;

Our guest bath exhaust fans are a central stack; meaning that all rooms on all five floors share the same exhaust fan which is mounted on the roof. It is a much quieter and more efficient system.

Our pool is almost (but not quite) an indoor outdoor pool. While the pool itself does not stick outside, we have a large patio doors that open to a large deck area with tables and chairs. Because of that there are times that bugs are attracted to in indoor lighting and pool light, just like an outdoor pool. Skimmers normally take care of then when the pool is busy. When the pol is quieter, we have an attendant that skims the pool once per hour.

I am really puzzled by the luggage rack question. I measured all of our carts and they are either 24" or 25" wide maximum, and our narrowest door going into a guest room is 32". I would be interested in hearing more about that.

And finally yes, our Whirlpool was down. It does require some re-piping which did not allow it to be open the day you were here. I do apologize for that.

I would be happy to discuss your questions and concerns directly. I find that is the best way resolving. Please contact me at your convenience at the hotel phone number, ask for Mike.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

The double queen rooms are a bit crowded but very clean with comfortable beds and pleasant decor. Sliding glass doors are sealed shut so no fresh air available but they provide good light and a feeling of openness. The attached restaurant was so convenient because we needed dinner and it was too hot to leave the dog in the car. Decent soundproofing. The hallways are dark and shabby like a cheap hotel but otherwise a very acceptable choice.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank laurieann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear laurieann1,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Jackie and Phil where fantastic at check in and great with engaging in conversation. Phil checked me in and noticed my rival chain credit card and talked up the IHG credit card and why it is so great to have. I went and signed up later that night and since I now stay at many IHG properties because I loved the honesty and great service of this hotel I will have plenty of uses for my new credit card. Another thing that I love about this hotel is it is always doing what it can to be better, it is an older property but it does not feel that way to me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mrreview2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We checked into this Holiday Inn expecting it to be as good as the other Holiday Inn "Express" we stayed at on our trip. It was a very dated hotel, rooms and did not have the complimentary breakfast. I could have lived with that, however, the shower curtain in room smelled of mold and there were two wads of gum in the ice bucket. The room was cleaned ok but not great. SO just check it out before you run your card!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patpierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear patpierce,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the accommodations you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#27 of 48 in Des Moines
107 reviews
0.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
0.1 mi away
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest

Address: 4800 Merle Hay Rd, Des Moines, IA 50322-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range: £69 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest is located in the heart of Iowa, 1/2 block from Interstates 80/35 and Merle Hay Road in the Des Moines suburbs of Johnston and Urbandale. Within minutes of corporate locations such as John Deere Credit, Pioneer Hi-Bred, Iowa Public Television and Camp Dodge. Enjoy our indoor pool, hot tub and recreation area until midnight! Nearly 200 guestrooms and suites feature quilt-top mattresses, triple sheets and pillow menu. Executive-class suites are offered in several styles, from Junior Kings to the stunning Presidential Whirlpool with Rosewood conference table, bar and entertainment center. Hotel offers over 12,000 square feet of conference space, including 18 breakout meeting rooms. Meet in the elegant Iowa Boardroom or the Heartland Ballroom, which can accommodate up to 600 guests. From technical assistance and creative menu planning, to just a bit of reassurance, our meeting professionals can assist with the planning of your next best event! Enjoy complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet service anywhere in the Hotel or restaurant. Local guests enjoy the extensive menu and friendly Irish hospitality of our Bennigan's restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Des Moines - Northwest
Holiday Inn Des Moines
Des Moines Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing