We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
140 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Nice Stay...”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I had some work business in Des Moines and decided to stay at the Renaissance Savery hotel. It is an older hotel but has had some renovations done. The room was nice with a nice flat-screen tv, coffee maker and comfortable bed. My major complaint (mainly due to the age of the hotel) is the ultra-small bathroom - there was not even a sink top for my shaving supplies. The room was nice and quiet though. The hotel offers a nice and reasonable breakfast buffet which some very good food. It is also conveniently located by many restaurants and downtown. I would stay there again, although I would also check-out other options in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishdoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickylgaede, General Manager at Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your stay. We are looking into updating the bathrooms and add more counter space soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    135
    69
    40
    21
See reviews for
63
75
22
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale CA
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

As a flight crew member, this hotel has clean confortable rooms and a very professional staff, and the walkways are great....

The Bos resturant has a great lunch buffet for $10...and Subbu and Joanie are to outstanding server...Plus, I got a discount being a crew member. Plus the bar in the evening was great...serve food until Midnight....Great Pizza's...

Room Tip: Rooms are super clean and the maids are super quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickylgaede, General Manager at Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for the great feedback. We truly enjoy having our flight crews each day. I will be sure and pass along your feedback to the BOS staff. They will be thrilled.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I love this hotel!! Close to everything, access to the walkways, clean comfortable rooms and very helpful/friendly staff! The rooms are a bit on the small side the for some reason the toilets are cockeyed but it seems to work. Getting to the gym in the basement is a bit of a maze but worth it. I love staying here!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JYinCLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickylgaede, General Manager at Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for the great feedback from your stay with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
162 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

In spite of its many quirks (and in some cases, because of them), this hotel is THE place to stay in downtown Des Moines. The staff goes out of their way to be friendly and helpful, the valets by the door are always willing to answer questions outside their job areas, and the location on the SkyWalk, a block from the Civic Center, is impossible to beat.

Yes, some of the room layouts are quite strange, the temperature can be tricky to keep constant, and not all the views are lovely. But the perks of staying in the heart of things, with sheltered walkways and plenty of services within an easy stroll, you'd be hard-pressed to do better. There's decent free wi-fi, a solid assortment of TV channels, and a set of nice in-room amenities. I had a walk-in closet that was a step up (literally) from my room, and a bit chilly, but luxurious in terms of a place to keep my things out of the way but accessible. This was my fourth visit to this hotel, and it has always been a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Capitol building.
See more room tips
Green Features: They do the usual "leave your towel on the floor or hang it up" and "if you want clean sheets every night, leave this card on your pillow" thing, and they seem to mean it. There are also recycling bins for aluminum and glass, so that's a nice touch.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickylgaede, General Manager at Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. Please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenexa, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The bar service was Dispicable. The bar tender, Alicia, is beyond bad. The manager, Anthony is even worse. Worst service I have ever had. Terrible. Beyond bad. Don't ever come here. Worst experience I have had.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4babiea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickylgaede, General Manager at Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
I sincerely apologize for the obvious lack of service you received from my staff. I can assure you I will address with those concerned and take corrective action. Thank you for taking the time to share with me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Besides being a beautiful and well appointed hotel, the staff is friendly. Very friendly. They took time to make suggestions for places to eat and helped with directions through the skyway. the hotel provided free shuttle service to and from our dinner and we could have used the service for shopping destinations, too. (Tips appreciated.) One young man working the valet service even volunteered to go out and warm up my car just to make sure it would start the next day when we planned our departure. We were in Des Moines on an unusually cold weekend!

The room was one of the largest I have ever had the pleasure to stay in and the beds were soft and comfortable. We had a corner unit with windows on two sides. The small refrigerator was useful and the second sink also a bonus.

My only slight negative was how cold the main lobby got when people walked in and out of the main doors.

I would definitely stay at the Savery again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickylgaede, General Manager at Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thak you for the great feed back on your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
93 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

PROS:
If you're looking for some history, this is a great find. The hotel is a national historic landmark, and it's a beautiful and well-kept building in the heart of downtown Des Moines. The location is fantastic. It's on the SkyWalk, and less than a block from the city's most popular restaurants, bars and cafes. It's a few blocks from the Convention Center, HyVee Hall and the Arena. The rooms are interestingly laid out, with each room being a bit different from one another. The lobby bar and restaurant are great and staffed well, with reasonable prices. Rooms are clean and the housekeeping staff is prompt. Products in the room are Aveda! Fridge and microwave are in the room, and a clean coffee pot. Beds, sheets and towels were comfortable.


CONS:
The hotel is very old; and, while it's well-kept and clean, it accordingly lacks some of the conveniences a newer hotel offers. Every room is different, so it's hard to expect what you're going to get. Our room's layout was bizarre: when you walked in, the kitchenette area was to your left, a tiny office area in front, then you walked into a bed area before going up steps into the bathroom. The layout made putting our luggage down where we wouldn't be walking an unnecessarily complicated issue, as there was really no where to put it. The bathroom was tiny and had no room to place your toiletries. Interestingly, the hotel is so old that bathrooms for each room had to be added in the 1930's, so understandably the bathroom's small size is due to the fact it wasn't planned into the room in the first place. There is no coin laundry in the building, the elevators are slow and often get jammed on a floor (press the down button several times if this happens to you), the internet is awful and the front desk staff seems reluctant to want to look up from their computers to answer your questions. Parking is $16/night. The heater makes a funny noise as it warms up, so don't be alarmed when you hear the walls creaking.

Overall, I would stay here again due to the great location and historical significance of the building.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask what your specific room will be like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LynnJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickylgaede, General Manager at Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for the great feedback on yor stay. I will certainly pass along the information to my staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
0.3 mi away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#7 of 48 in Des Moines
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#10 of 48 in Des Moines
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel

Property: Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel
Address: 401 Locust St, Des Moines, IA 50309-2311 (Formerly Renaissance Savery Hotel)
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic hotel, located in the heart of downtown Des Moines, Iowa is within walking distance to Wells Fargo Arena, Iowa Events Center, Civic Center of Greater Des Moines, Court Avenue restaurants and nightlife and East Village restaurants and shops. Start your day off right with a visit to Coda Coffee, located on the street level of the hotel, for freshly brewed Starbucks beverages. Then return in the evening to Coda Lounge to discover the hottest new lounge in downtown Des Moines. Don't miss the contemporary midwest cuisine and local products served in BOS restaurant, also located street level in the hotel. Additional amenities enjoyed by guests include a fitness center, indoor pool, whirlpool, complimentary airport transportation and complimentary wireless service. If you’re searching for a venue to host a romantic wedding, a business meeting or a conference, this hotel features over 12,000 square feet of function space, innovative meeting technology and a creative catering and culinary team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel Iowa
Des Moines Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing