We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
midwest
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Trendy and Comfortable”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Found a bargain price for this very trendy hotel in downtown Des Moines. Amazing place with a nice bar and grill.

I will say first that the heat was difficult to control. Better to be too warm that too cold, I suppose.

My corner room had two beds and TWO BATHS, which was excellent for teaming up with a few more people. But I was traveling alone. The huge window was very nice and the desk was comfortable to work at. Lastly, the bed was extremely comfortable and all appointments were tasteful and fun.

Room Tip: Ask if you have two bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiVoFanWis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rick g, General Manager at Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us. Hope to see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    135
    69
    40
    21
See reviews for
63
75
22
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed here several nights recently on a business trip.

The front desk staff were courteous, helpful and fast.

My room had a nice work desk, a lounge chair, bed and separate area with a refrigerator and microwave. It was very comfortable and met my needs for the stay. I didn't really see any other guests during my stay, so perhaps they were minimally occupied, but I didn't hear anyone else either--which was great. I also appreciated the newspaper delivered to my door every day.

On the downside: the washroom was incredibly small, as noted by other reviewers. Mine did have a little shelf installed above the sink for toiletries which helped some. I do understand that this is an historic property and knocking down walls is a costly endeavor, but I do hope that somewhere in their long range strategic planning they realize the very serious need to improve the washrooms.

The fitness facility was functional, but in a very creepy basement. Also in the dungeon were the pool and hot tub. Despite it being in the negative double digits outside, the pool felt like it still had the ac going and suffered from notable deferred maintenance. Despite it being obviously clean, it just looked dingy, old, and scary. My room was freezing (more on that in a minute) so one night I decided to avail myself of the hot tub to warm up. The tub looked great--deep and with abundant jets, however, the water was warm at best, and the timer for the jets only went to 5 minutes. Seriously?!? While it's great that the hotel offers these amenities, they seriously need to spend some money and upgrade this area. As it is, it is completely subpar.

The only 'problem' I had with my room was that the heat wouldn't go above 70 degrees. While that may not sound like much of a problem, one whole wall was windows and it was frightfully cold and windy outside. My room was like an icebox. I cranked the heat the first night, only to wake up cold. I resorted to asking housekeeping for additional blankets, and bundled up while working at the desk at night.

On the plus side, the hotel is connected to the skywalk, which given the frightful weather was a truly beautiful thing.

Because of the issues noted above, I'd rate this hotel as average. Despite that, I had a decent stay and would probably choose to stay at this property again with one caveat. I enjoyed a significantly discounted corporate weekday rate. There is NO way I'd pay the full price to stay at this property--it's just not worth it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusinessTraveler04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony M, Manager at Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for your comments, I sincerely apologize for any inconveniences or discomfort during your stay. I will discuss your comments with the rest of the management team. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northglenn, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had multiple rooms booked for a family wedding. All of the rooms were very nice. All of the rooms we booked had two bathrooms! We were traveling with several children, so I thought this was great! One bath had a shower, the other one had a shower/tub combo. Very nice. Some of the rooms are oversized and have a sitting area in the bedroom area.

My mother had a suite. The living area was huge, with a large entry way. We had a dining table for 8, 4 living room chairs, a pull out sofa and a large living area- with it's own bathroom! The hotel was well positioned with a connection to the skywalk (4 miles of heated, connected walkways) and was just a few minutes from a food court and many restaurants and shops. Palmer's Deli is a great option near the food court. Domino's pizza is across the street and the hotel has a restaurant in the lobby. The breakfast buffet is $11 for adults and $6 for kids- this includes drinks and an omelet station.

We enjoyed the hotel's pool and workout room. Both are located in the basement.

Room Tip: Ask for a good view of downtown. Suite 800 was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kinzab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickylgaede, General Manager at Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us. One of the unique features in some of our rooms are the two bathrooms. It is especially helpful with families. Our central location downtown really does make it convenient for all. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Every year a group of people from a running group i belong to go to Des Moines, Iowa for the marathon. We stay at the Renaissance Savery Hotel. The hotel is an older building nestled downtown Des Moines. They hotel has been renovated, but still has the charm of an older hotel. Since we are there for the marathon, everything is within walking distance for us. It is only a few blocks from the arena, start/finish line and restaurants. The staff members are very helpful and professional. Our check-in is always quick and is friendly. Our rooms were very nice and updated. They are always very accommodating to us runners. It is very nice that they offer late check out on race day, which allows us to shower after the race.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love_2_Travel_72012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickylgaede, General Manager at Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for the feedback on your stay with us in October. We so much enjoy having the marathon start and finish close to the hotel. We do hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I had some work business in Des Moines and decided to stay at the Renaissance Savery hotel. It is an older hotel but has had some renovations done. The room was nice with a nice flat-screen tv, coffee maker and comfortable bed. My major complaint (mainly due to the age of the hotel) is the ultra-small bathroom - there was not even a sink top for my shaving supplies. The room was nice and quiet though. The hotel offers a nice and reasonable breakfast buffet which some very good food. It is also conveniently located by many restaurants and downtown. I would stay there again, although I would also check-out other options in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishdoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickylgaede, General Manager at Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your stay. We are looking into updating the bathrooms and add more counter space soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale CA
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

As a flight crew member, this hotel has clean confortable rooms and a very professional staff, and the walkways are great....

The Bos resturant has a great lunch buffet for $10...and Subbu and Joanie are to outstanding server...Plus, I got a discount being a crew member. Plus the bar in the evening was great...serve food until Midnight....Great Pizza's...

Room Tip: Rooms are super clean and the maids are super quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickylgaede, General Manager at Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for the great feedback. We truly enjoy having our flight crews each day. I will be sure and pass along your feedback to the BOS staff. They will be thrilled.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I love this hotel!! Close to everything, access to the walkways, clean comfortable rooms and very helpful/friendly staff! The rooms are a bit on the small side the for some reason the toilets are cockeyed but it seems to work. Getting to the gym in the basement is a bit of a maze but worth it. I love staying here!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JYinCLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickylgaede, General Manager at Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for the great feedback from your stay with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
0.3 mi away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#7 of 48 in Des Moines
188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#12 of 48 in Des Moines
437 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel

Property: Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel
Address: 401 Locust St, Des Moines, IA 50309-2311 (Formerly Renaissance Savery Hotel)
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic hotel, located in the heart of downtown Des Moines, Iowa is within walking distance to Wells Fargo Arena, Iowa Events Center, Civic Center of Greater Des Moines, Court Avenue restaurants and nightlife and East Village restaurants and shops. Start your day off right with a visit to Coda Coffee, located on the street level of the hotel, for freshly brewed Starbucks beverages. Then return in the evening to Coda Lounge to discover the hottest new lounge in downtown Des Moines. Don't miss the contemporary midwest cuisine and local products served in BOS restaurant, also located street level in the hotel. Additional amenities enjoyed by guests include a fitness center, indoor pool, whirlpool, complimentary airport transportation and complimentary wireless service. If you’re searching for a venue to host a romantic wedding, a business meeting or a conference, this hotel features over 12,000 square feet of function space, innovative meeting technology and a creative catering and culinary team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel Iowa
Des Moines Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing