We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harry stayed at The Holiday INN”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Reviewed 1 February 2005

Great Hotel Great Staff look forward to staying again. Near Newton so very easy to get Maytag HQ and the next Maytag AGM.

Thank Kenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,120 - 2,125 of 2,125 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2005

we stayed here and the AC went out in the whole place - we were told each hour that it would be on the next hour - this went on for over 18 hours and the windows do not open at least in our second story room.
They did give us fans to use to sleep at night, but only comped 50% of the room - it was a terrible hot and sticky night

The pools had way too much chlorine and made it difficult for the children to want to stay and swim. However, going back to the hot room was not a good option either. The finally did offer to move us to another hotel, but it was after nine in the evening and we had already unpacked everything and we figured by the time we did pack up and get over there it would be close to 11, and too late for the kids.

While I go to Des Moines a lot, I will never stay at that Holiday Inn again.

  • Stayed: April 2003, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingMinister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Omaha,NB
1
Reviewed 7 October 2004

The staff was great and very helpful.
I would stay with them again!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
cedar rapids, IA
17
Reviewed 1 April 2004

my daughter had a volleyball tournament. They gave one of the mothers the wrong room and then ended up giving her a room 3 hallways down from the rest of us. No hot water, no air conditioning, we were on the top floor.....so hot humid, some of us slept in our vans considering it was much cooler. They have a gaurantee that our stay would be satisfactory or we dont pay for the stay. They did not honor this. I was told that since we already had a group discount that we could not get further discounts. I then mentioned their guarantee and they only gave me a 50% discount on one night. Even though the air did not begin to work until 10:pm on saturday. (we stayed on a friday and Saturday) The others were not offered a discount because they did not make a stink as I did. I email the management sunday evening and she did offer me a free night stay at their hotel voucher........not sure I even want to try to stay again.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Iowa
1
Reviewed 6 August 2003

My family, plus my daughters' boyfriend booked rooms at the Holiday Inn. We had requested adjoining rooms, but of course got the whole "we cant guarantee this" line when we confirmed. Explained that we were bringing 4 kids with us. and they said they would do their best.
Luckily our rooms were side by side. We were not impressed with the cleanliness of rooms, the bathtub felt as though you would fall thru it because it was so "mushy". Their double beds seem to be about the size of my 8 year olds' twin bed, making sleeping difficult. We had breakfast in the restaurant one morning, the food was ok. The swimming pools and whirlpool had enough chlorine in them to kill anything. After 5 minutes in them we all looked as though we had been on a 3 day drunk because our eyes were so red. We booked into the hotel because the room was a bit cheaper, we wont do that again!!!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strasbourgmilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
10.4 mi away
Adventureland Inn
Adventureland Inn
#7 of 11 in Altoona
276 reviews
6.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
9.2 mi away
Ramada Des Moines Airport
Ramada Des Moines Airport
#15 of 48 in Des Moines
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines

Address: 5000 Merle Hay Rd, Des Moines, IA 50322-1969 (Formerly Holiday Inn Merle Hay)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range: £69 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Tropics Hotel Des Moines
Ramada Hotel Des Moines
Des Moines Ramada
Ramada Des Moines
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing