We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Oversight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Des Moines
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“Small Oversight”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

A lesson learned. I arrived late into this hotel and was pleased with the ambiance and service. However that was all ruined when I realized that I had slept in an unsecure room. See photo check out Room 217 and see if its still broken. Anyways, after going through proper channels the best that is being done is that it will be addressed. They knocked off %50 of my reservation.

The door had a crack running down from the lock and the locking mechanism was loose in the door. Not secure at all. The worse part is that it looked like it had been that way for a bit. Anyways I will now check all my doors. It is disgusting that a major chain has something so small wreck a reputation.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tspidey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    40
    40
    8
    6
See reviews for
33
29
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, Connecticut, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

The rooms are ok but if you plan to use internet forget about it. It is extremely slow. I called the fron desk about it but their response was that it is always that slow and can't do much about it. So much for the high speed internet. Some of the TV stations are static and channel 2 "the channel to order movies" well it is non existent. There is a lot of static in some of the tv station and the phone in the room as well. If you are just interested in a place to spend the night, it is a decent place but if you intend to work on the computer using the internet or enjoy TV or movies, it is not the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mutha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We checked in and opened the door to our room and found it dirty and occupied.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrpratt03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Good customer service...good room....good price.... not bad for a just stopping through hotel...had a couple restaurants within walking distance...check out daytonas bar and grill...it was actually pretty good

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobeFrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

This place is like a run down dormitory or third world. The pictures on their web site ARE NOT the rooms they gave us. We got out of here as fast as we could.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treb312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

Please note, the name of this hotel has changed with new owners who took over one year ago. I forget the new name, but it still shows up as Econo lodge on the map, in my GPS, and so forth. I stayed for one night while passing through on business. It's not the cleanest place so if you need spic'n'span, don't stay here. Rhere are no major gross-outs either, and all bedding was CLEAN. I have stayed at Motel 6s and such, and this is cleaner than they often are, in my opinion. I imagine though, that if you did not like something, the friendly staff would rectify it. The room is outdated, but the beds are comfortable. The large TV gets plenty of channels. There is free wi-fi that worked great. Big bonus is the full size indoor pool with a two story ceiling that accomodates a diving board! The kids there were having a ball. Friendly and helpful front desk staff. This place is frequented by truckers (all of whom were perfect gentleman) which says a lot about its value and convenience. It's close to everything in Des Moines. I also took advantage of the Chinese restaurant 200 feet away, which had surprisingly good food, not great, but definitely good, and a fully stocked little bar, if that is what you want. There is a 'delivery charge' that is only about $3, but you can walk or drive the short distance and save it. There is even shampoo supplied with the room. I found it to be a deal at $45 (my call-in price with AAA) or I think I saw it was $120 a week!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravlingBard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#27 of 48 in Des Moines
104 reviews
5.1 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#13 of 48 in Des Moines
599 reviews
0.5 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#30 of 48 in Des Moines
106 reviews
5.1 mi away
Super 8 Des Moines
Super 8 Des Moines
#35 of 48 in Des Moines
34 reviews
8.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Des Moines

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Des Moines
Address: 4755 Merle Hay Rd, I-80 / I-35, Exit 131, Des Moines, IA 50322-1964
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Des Moines 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Des Moines Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing