We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Mankato, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible staff!”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

This Holiday Inn Express is directly across from Drake University, and offers all the amenities of a Holiday Inn Express, which is to say great stuff...great breakfast, and reliable high-speed wireless internet.
However, what sets this hotel apart is the friendly staff! I had to attend a phone conference that required that I have internet access with my computer, and as I was driving in to Des Moines, I ran into heavy traffic (construction). I knew that I'd be cutting it close, so I called ahead to the hotel, and when I got there is literally took me 30 seconds to check in, and the check-in included a bag of free goodies!
Can't say enough about the courtesy of the staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    67
    26
    14
    11
See reviews for
51
18
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Can recommend this hotel for a stay when you visit Drake. Very clean, friendly and very close to University

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sibylla O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We arrived around midnight and the desk clerk was out back smoking with what appeared to be a campus security guard.
I wish he would have been there the next night when my car was one of three broken into. One was in the handicap space RIGHT in front of the lobby. The officer said the clerk didn't know how to view the security tape and little could be done.
I contacted the manager and he said they couldn't do anything for us regarding the cost since we booked with Orbitz. He credited my cc for $50.
We drove back to Chicago with plastic in the window.
There was a spider in the tub, the vending machines were spotty at best and the carpet felt wet under foot.
We come to Des Moines a few times a year and are staying downtown from now on. Park in that lot at your own risk.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stupidscreenname99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
As this guest mentioned we do have a security company that makes rounds several times a night as well as surveillance cameras in our parking lot. This is not a common occurence at our hotel. We have asked campus security to make more rounds as well as our regular security company to help make our parking lot more secure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arnolds park
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This hotel is consistently staffed with very friendly and helpful staff. The location is a bit off the beaten track, but personally I enjoy this because it is quiet. The rooms are always clean, a nice selection for breakfast, and spacious rooms. The first floor rooms have patio access to a small patio area. There are several local resturaunts in walking distance, and again, it's quiet!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonsays85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressDrake, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Thank you for your postive review. We appreciate your loyal patronage and hope you can come back and check us out after we complete some rennovations this summer and fall. We will be adding an elevator, fitness room, larger breakfast area and expanding our lobby to make our hotel an even better place to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Only stayed her overnight but was impressed with the standard of the hotel and the levels of service.
The room was spacious and clean and the breakfast in the morning was of a good standard.
The location is okay with some restaurants and shops nearby to pick up supplies if you need them.
Front desk service was excellent.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mozzroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressDrake, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Thank you for your positive review. We are an older Holiday Inn Express which I think makes us very unique and a good place to stay. We will be undergoing some rennovations this summer to update our appearance and add more value to our hotel. We will be adding a new elevator, fitness room, larger breakfast area as well as expanding our lobby. We look forward to seeing you again so you can check out our new rennovations when they are complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Normally, I would go to a HI Express if I was on the road and wanted cheap lodging. This Holiday Inn is far away the top Express Inn that I have stayed at. The property was nicely landscaped. The rooms were well appointed, spacious and clean. The breakfast was the most comprehensive for a budget hotel. And, the staff was friendly and helpful. The Inn is conveniently located to downtown. All-in-all, this property exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stillwater_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressDrake, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you for your positive review. It is always nice to hear from a satisfied customer. We are currently in the process of rennovating our hotel so we would love to have you back when we are finished later this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Palisades, California
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

Happened on this obscure HI Express while passing thru on a road trip. An unexpected delight at a bargain price. Immaculate, well furnished rooms, fast free wifi, good free breakfast. Right next to Drake University campus. And quite a bargain.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bvanderet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressDrake, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you for your positive review. We appreciate hearing from satisfied customers. We are also in the process of rennovating the appearance of our hotel as well as adding ammenities such as an exercice room, elevator and a larger breakfast room. Part of the rennovation also involves replacing the shower valves with a new style so hopefully that will solve any water temperature issues. Thank you again for your response and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
2.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Event Center
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University

Property: Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University
Address: 1140 24th St, Des Moines, IA 50311-4309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings from Des Moines, Iowa, home of the Drake Bulldogs and Drake Relays. Holiday Inn Express at Drake is at the heart of this city's renaissance neighborhood and ideally located right on campus. Seconds away are the Knapp Center, and Drake Stadium. Dining is available next door at the retro-themed favorite, Drake Diner. Follow your meal with an independent film a jaunt away at the Varsity Movie Theatre. Come visit the campus, the community, and us; we'll make you feel at home.Plenty of entertainment awaits off campus as well. Attractions include Prairie Meadows Race Track and Casino, Adventureland Amusement Park, Iowa State Fairgrounds, Principal Park, and Blank Park Zoo. Also nearby are the Civic Center, Convention Complex, Veterans Auditorium, Hy-Vee Hall and Wells Fargo Arena. We are moments from the Historical Building of Iowa, the State Capital, Living History Farms, Terrace Hill, Salisbury Mansion and Hoyt Sherman Place. Centrally situated among all of the Metro's retail districts --- four major malls, many boutiques and antique shops. Seasonal attractions are plentiful and near. Other areas of interest include The East Village, Historic Valley Junction and Downtown Court Avenue District, where nightlife is at its best. Free Wireless Internet available in all guest rooms and public areas. Whether it is business or pleasure that brings you our way, our team is ready to serve you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University Hotel Des Moines
Holiday Inn Des Moines
Des Moines Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing