We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“College Visit with the Kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We visited Drake University and interviewed. Nice school with good programs.
Stayed at the HIE-University. Was very convenient to school. Easy access to Interstate.
As with all HIE's you become accustomed to nice, clean, and comfortable rooms. This property did not disappoint.
Well stocked breakfast buffet, frequently restocked.
If the kids pick Drake we will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daddy-Unit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

Came to Drake to do a presentation. Whole school closed due to snow. Staying here. Nice room but the noisiest maids I have ever experienced. Our room is across for their area and they have been cantering for the past several hours. I hope they go home soon.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank EdMonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressDrake, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry for the problem you had with your room being right accross from the housekeeping/laundry room. I have addressed this with my housekeeping staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

As i was bargain shopping within HI's listing, this came up cheaper and convenient to downtown. But it is a older/refurbished unit, the rooms were alright but not a normal HIex. I'd spend the extra amount and stay in a different location. The guest were also very loud.

Room Tip: stay away from the lobby, try to get a room on a end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TLD2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressDrake, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry your stay did not meet the standards you come to expect at Holiday Inn Express. We have recently renovated though and added a very nice business center and fitness room. Even though, we are an older building and not your typical Holiday Inn Express, we do keep it well maintained and updated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Having reserved a room for four nights at $89.95 per night, the management added to my rate each night. Second night was $94.95 and the third and fourth night was $104.95. Girl at the counter gave me lip service and manager will not call back to explain or refund. As a business/casual traveler for the past 25 years at several nights per year, this is the stupidest pricing fix I have ever witnessed. This has NEVER happened before at any chain.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Purrplehelmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressDrake, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

I am sorry you were not aware of the rate change at the time of check in. You checked into our hotel on a Sunday which is a slower day, so we lower rates on that day. Monday, your rate when up to normal weekday rates and the last 2 days of your stay the rates increased due to a big trade show in town. I did make an adjustment on your bill, since you were not properly explained the rate change at check in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed here because we booked late for an event and we wanted to get closer to downtown. My stay was average, the room was average, but the staff was very nice and accommodating. In fact when I left for the day I could not find my cell phone and I called the hotel and the front desk employee went to my room and checked and let me know that it was in my room.
The hotel is close to Drake University which does lend itself to quietness. It was a nice area to go for a run around the school.
Although this would not be my first choice, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikreyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Mikreyn,

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback about your stay with us. I am happy to know that our location was of convenience and you found our staff to be accommodating to your needs. It is always nice on our part to receive commendable feedback from our valued guests like you.

I hope the next time you visit the area, you choose us again for your lodging needs.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This is my new business hotel in Des Moines. It is close enough to downtown at a much better rate than the downtown hotels. My room was clean and given that this used to be a dorm, I was surprised at how large. All of the equipment that I tried in the spacious exercise room worked and the rewards member gift bag on check-in was a nice touch. The breakfast was as good as any I've seen and I had a good dinner at the convenient diner next door.

Room Tip: I asked for a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weaver56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This property is located in a neighborhood quite a bit off the interstate. The surrounding houses do not make me feel comfortable walking around by myself at night, although there were no situations while we where there. The hotel does not feature a pool or hot tub. The breakfast room is really more a corner of their lobby. The only nice feature this hotel posesses is a fenced in court yard. Of corse my request to have a courtyard room when booking wasn't honored. The room was not very clean and I will not be returning. My guess is the only reason this hotel is still operating is because there isn't another property close to Drake University.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Betty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Betty F,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property.

However, I sincerely apologize that you did not find our location to your liking and deeply regret the dissatisfaction you had with the room condition. Comments such as yours are very important as it allows us to assess where we have opportunities to make improvements.

It is our hotel's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We value your custom and as always we remain at your disposal.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Event Center
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown
4.3 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#33 of 49 in Des Moines
154 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University

Address: 1140 24th St, Des Moines, IA 50311-4309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range: £74 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings from Des Moines, Iowa, home of the Drake Bulldogs and Drake Relays. Holiday Inn Express at Drake is at the heart of this city's renaissance neighborhood and ideally located right on campus. Seconds away are the Knapp Center, and Drake Stadium. Dining is available next door at the retro-themed favorite, Drake Diner. Follow your meal with an independent film a jaunt away at the Varsity Movie Theatre. Come visit the campus, the community, and us; we'll make you feel at home.Plenty of entertainment awaits off campus as well. Attractions include Prairie Meadows Race Track and Casino, Adventureland Amusement Park, Iowa State Fairgrounds, Principal Park, and Blank Park Zoo. Also nearby are the Civic Center, Convention Complex, Veterans Auditorium, Hy-Vee Hall and Wells Fargo Arena. We are moments from the Historical Building of Iowa, the State Capital, Living History Farms, Terrace Hill, Salisbury Mansion and Hoyt Sherman Place. Centrally situated among all of the Metro's retail districts --- four major malls, many boutiques and antique shops. Seasonal attractions are plentiful and near. Other areas of interest include The East Village, Historic Valley Junction and Downtown Court Avenue District, where nightlife is at its best. Free Wireless Internet available in all guest rooms and public areas. Whether it is business or pleasure that brings you our way, our team is ready to serve you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University Hotel Des Moines
Holiday Inn Des Moines
Des Moines Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing