We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Express at Drake University”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My wife and I had a great experience staying at this hotel. It was clean, comfortable and the breakfast was very good.

It was located close to the concert we attended; located next door to the Drake Diner and not too far from Smokey Row where we enjoyed a great cup of coffee in a relaxed atmosphere.

We look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

Had a great experience here. Came later in the day and need a place for the evening. Clean room and cozy bed! I wasn't here long enough to say much else! The breakfast was good in the morning. Biscuits and gravy with eggs.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iristate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel is a cheaper alterative to downtown, but has some wear.

I'm guessing my room was once used by smokers as there was that old-school musty hotel smell that hung in my clothes all day after checking out. The bed was fine, the TV good and the internet okay, but the finish was peeling off the tub and the room showed wear. It's fine, just not as nice as most HIE properties.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank sdski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressDrake, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are a converted hotel, but we have been entirely non smoking for at least the last 10 years since we have been a Holiday Inn Express. We completed public area renovations last year and this year we are working on the rooms themselves. I am sorry your room was not up to standard but I assure you we will get that corrected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Holiday Inn Express at Drake University is the best location when visiting the campus. The employees are very welcoming and will do their best to answer any questions. The hotel is affordable, clean, and quiet. The morning breakfast is very decent with several choices including their warm cinnamon rolls that are delicious.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We visited Drake University and interviewed. Nice school with good programs.
Stayed at the HIE-University. Was very convenient to school. Easy access to Interstate.
As with all HIE's you become accustomed to nice, clean, and comfortable rooms. This property did not disappoint.
Well stocked breakfast buffet, frequently restocked.
If the kids pick Drake we will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daddy-Unit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Came to Drake to do a presentation. Whole school closed due to snow. Staying here. Nice room but the noisiest maids I have ever experienced. Our room is across for their area and they have been cantering for the past several hours. I hope they go home soon.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank EdMonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressDrake, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry for the problem you had with your room being right accross from the housekeeping/laundry room. I have addressed this with my housekeeping staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

As i was bargain shopping within HI's listing, this came up cheaper and convenient to downtown. But it is a older/refurbished unit, the rooms were alright but not a normal HIex. I'd spend the extra amount and stay in a different location. The guest were also very loud.

Room Tip: stay away from the lobby, try to get a room on a end.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TLD2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressDrake, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry your stay did not meet the standards you come to expect at Holiday Inn Express. We have recently renovated though and added a very nice business center and fitness room. Even though, we are an older building and not your typical Holiday Inn Express, we do keep it well maintained and updated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Event Center
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
2.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University

Address: 1140 24th St, Des Moines, IA 50311-4309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range: £83 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings from Des Moines, Iowa, home of the Drake Bulldogs and Drake Relays. Holiday Inn Express at Drake is at the heart of this city's renaissance neighborhood and ideally located right on campus. Seconds away are the Knapp Center, and Drake Stadium. Dining is available next door at the retro-themed favorite, Drake Diner. Follow your meal with an independent film a jaunt away at the Varsity Movie Theatre. Come visit the campus, the community, and us; we'll make you feel at home.Plenty of entertainment awaits off campus as well. Attractions include Prairie Meadows Race Track and Casino, Adventureland Amusement Park, Iowa State Fairgrounds, Principal Park, and Blank Park Zoo. Also nearby are the Civic Center, Convention Complex, Veterans Auditorium, Hy-Vee Hall and Wells Fargo Arena. We are moments from the Historical Building of Iowa, the State Capital, Living History Farms, Terrace Hill, Salisbury Mansion and Hoyt Sherman Place. Centrally situated among all of the Metro's retail districts --- four major malls, many boutiques and antique shops. Seasonal attractions are plentiful and near. Other areas of interest include The East Village, Historic Valley Junction and Downtown Court Avenue District, where nightlife is at its best. Free Wireless Internet available in all guest rooms and public areas. Whether it is business or pleasure that brings you our way, our team is ready to serve you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University Hotel Des Moines
Holiday Inn Des Moines
Des Moines Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing