We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy but a bit noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Comfy but a bit noisy”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We recently stayed for one night in a king sofa room. The room was average in its décor but nice and large. The bed and bedding were very comfortable, especially the pillows. The walls were a bit thin, kind of noisy in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IowaGirl-in-Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holiday1050, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear IowaGirl-in-Germany,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you were in Des Moines. I am very happy to hear that you were pleased with the size of the room, the bed, and the pillows. I appreciate the high marks you gave us in regards to service and sleep quality. We truly enjoyed having you as a guest and hope that we have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    73
    78
    46
    22
See reviews for
53
47
15
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel while attending a seminar at the Mercy hospital. The shuttle promptly picked us up from the airport and the staff members were very efficient. The front desk staff especially Tramaine (sp) were very helpful. We had a very early flight (6am) and the hotel shuttle took us to the airport at 4am per our request. That is what I call going above and beyond!!! Did I mention that their onsite restaurant has some very yummy steak?? It was a pleasure..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purity N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holiday1050, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Purity N,
I am happy to hear you chose the Holiday Inn Downtown Mercy Campus for your recent stay in Des Moines, and I thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am very pleased to hear you found the front desk and especially Tramaine to be accommodating. I am also glad to hear you enjoyed the food in our restaurant. I have passed along your comments to all of our staff. We truly enjoyed having you as a guest and hope to have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Got to the hotel before the 3 pm check in and had to wait a few minutes as they were still cleaning from night before. The wait was alright as I checked in for my meetings that were taking place at the hotel and by the time I had checked in their they had our room ready. Room was on the 9th floor away from the interstate and was quiet, if I opened the window I did hear some traffic noise but never with the window closed and ready for bed. The bed was comfortable and they had a amazing choice of pillows, internet connection was great. Had supper in the restaurant in the lobby and it was great, Breakfast both days was a buffet breakfast and I got my fill both time food was hot and fresh. The staff were very helpful in meeting the needs for our meetings and banquet staff were outstanding. If I am in the area I will stay again

Room Tip: North side is quieter but not the best view, Hotel is doing some remodel work and upkeep They do ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holiday1050, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear suemel604,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I am so happy to hear that you were pleased with the staff and service. I am also happy to hear you enjoyed the pillow options and were able to rest. I have passed along your review to all of our staff. We appreciate your business and hope that we have the opportunity to accommodate you again the future. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Downtown Mercy Campus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Toilet would not flush properly had to have maintenance come two times still would not work. Couldn't get a different room hotel was full. Had a first floor room with view of a wall. Rooms are small ,walls paper thin crying baby all night sounded like it was in our room. Do not venture one block north as you may get murdered. Underground parking corridor smelled of mold. Overall bad stay and bad location. Did online survey and was emailed that I would be contacted and never was.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hockeydad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holiday1050, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Hockeydad123,
I am sorry to hear you were displeased with your recent stay with us. We do take great pride in our hotel and the services we provide and strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. I apologize that we fell below your expectations and were unable to change your room as we were full. Our Guest Services Manager is trying to locate your survey, so we may find your contact information and get in touch with you. I have passed along your comments to management and appreciate your input. I do hope we have the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is a nice hotel with good amenities, but our room, located on the 8th floor and facing the highway, was surprisingly noisy. We heard traffic all night, and especially in the morning as the rush hour started.

Our room was very comfortable with good Internet access and plenty of outlets for computers and gadgets. The view of the City was outstanding. The rate we got on hotwire dot com made this a very attractive place to stay and a good value, but as I said, the noise was very off-putting.

There is no complimentary breakfast and no place nearby other than driving. The buffet was expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bocaboy2591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holiday1050, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Bocaboy2591,
Thank you for choosing to stay with the Holiday Inn Downtown while you were in Des Moines recently. I appreciate your business and thank you for taking the time to offer a review of your stay. I am pleased to see the high marks you gave us in regards to cleanliness and value. I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed our amenities. I am sorry to hear that noise was an issue for you. I do apologize for any inconvenience that caused. I also appreciate your input in regards to breakfast. I have passed your comments along to management. I hope we have the opportunity to not meet but exceed your expectations in the future. We would love to have you as a guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed on 8th flr loved the view. Room was clean and very comfortable. Front desk was friendly and check in was a breeze. We ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant and it was obvious they did not have enough help for the shift. JJ the server was fantastic and tried as best as she could to serve all the tables in the restaurant. JJ had a smile each time she came to check on our table.

Additionally, I noticed a young man named Matt who could see the restaurant was short staffed and jumped right in and helped bus all the tables and helped the manager ensure all the customers were taken care of. This young man demonstrated such team work it was noticed by my husband and myself. We were so pleased to see how well the staff worked together although short staffed and ensured our experience was a positive one.

Please thank Matt and JJ for their outstanding commitment to customer service and team work!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conita60515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holiday1050, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Conita60515,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you found your check in, guest room, and service to be satisfactory. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the view too. I have passed your review along to all management and Matt and JJ as well. All of us here at the Holiday Inn Downtown take great pride in our hotel and the services we offer. It is so nice to hear that our efforts were noticed by you and your husband. We truly appreciate your business and hope to have you as a guest in the future. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, AZ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The lobby service was great. We walked in and my kids commented on how posh the lobby appeared. Our room on the 5th floor was excellent but the hallway looks dated. The shuttle service to the airport was speedy and friendly. The hotel is a quick walk to downtown. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gl0balmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holiday1050, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear gl0balmama,
I want to thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We appreciate every review as they point out what we are doing well and what we can improve on for the future. I'm happy to hear your children enjoyed the remodel. I appreciate your input about the hallways and the high marks you gave us in regards to rooms and service. I have passed your review along to all management and staff. We hope to see you again in the future. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
0.7 mi away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#11 of 48 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown
Address: 1050 6th Ave, Des Moines, IA 50314-2606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Downtown, Des Moines, Iowa. Our convenient downtown location provides the ideal setting for both business and leisure travel. With convenient access to Wells Fargo Arena, Hy-Vee Hall, Veterans Auditorium, Des Moines Civic Center, Iowa State Fairgrounds, and Mercy Hospital, you can not go wrong when you stay at the Holiday Inn Downtown. Located in the heart of Des Moines, we are minutes away from an assortment of entertainment options. Indulge and have a ball at Prairie Meadows Race Track and Casino, Adventureland Park, Blank Park Zoo or the Science Center. Also, exceptional dining and nightlife are just blocks away at the Court Avenue Entertainment District and the trendy Historic East Village. Downtown Des Moines is alive with special events every weekend, and our area shuttle makes navigating downtown a breeze! Relax, it's Holiday Inn. We offer free parking and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, an indoor pool, and a complimentary downtown/airport shuttle. If you love classic American cuisine set in a casual but elegant dining atmosphere, then Genevieve's Restaurant and Cityscape Lounge are the place to go. Whether your visit brings you to Des Moines for business or pleasure, allow the Holiday Inn Downtown to be your hotel of choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown Hotel Des Moines
Des Moines Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing