We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are great, restaurant not so much”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown
Ranked #26 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My room was clean and spacious. The front desk staff was courteous and helpful. My complaint is the lack of service in the restaurant. Each morning I had to wait several minutes while the hostess, who also happened to be the manager, talked with people and ignored people waiting to be seated. Don't make the mistake of ordering from the menu, my omelet took over 30 minutes. One day my waitress never said one word to me, she set water in front of me and walked away. Luckily I did in fact want the buffet, and found silverware at a neighboring table. Two mornings I walked up to pay and was asked where the ticket was my server had brought me...I had to reply that I never received one and wait while the hostess/manager tracked down the server to verify I had had the buffet. Very disappointing considering the worst service came from the manager.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
2  Thank Lac0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Lac0220,
Thank you so much for offering a candid and thorough review of your stay. While I am happy to know that you found our front desk staff to be accommodating and were pleased with your guest room, your experience in our restaurant fell way below our own expectations as well as our own. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention, so we can address the issues and avoid similar experiences for future guests. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel showed it's age and is need of a facelift! The elevators were so slow it was painful and to make matters worse we were on the top floor. It was crazy loud at night and not very clean. It's also not in a good neighborhood. I would not stay here again. The one nice thing was that they offered a shuttle.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Laura W,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We take great pride in our property and the services we offer, so it is upsetting to know that is not the impression you left with. However I am happy to know that you found our shuttle service to be a plus. That said we would appreciate the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future so we can show you the type of experience we are accustomed to providing. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

From the front desk to the restaurant staff, this hotel is ALL about great customer service! They go out of their way to accommodate and anticipate their guests every need. They are the true definition of service with a smile!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank rinkrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear rinkrover,
Thank you so much for your review. We strive to be the best Holiday Inn around, and I am so glad to hear that we met your expectations as well as our own while you were at our hotel. I am especially pleased to be able to share with our staff your comments in regards to the service we offer. I sincerely hope we have the opportunity to have you as a guest in the future. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Positive: Good front desk, friendly shuttle driver, clean rooms
Negative: no stairs access, run down appearance
We were here for the aau junior olympics so our lodging choices were limited since we waited for the last minute. the price was too high for this hotel but had not choice. the elevators were so crowded at some times of the day. the hotel food was average.
the property is far from many activities and attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank travelfan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear travelfan68,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at our hotel. We appreciate your input. As you noticed, we were extremely busy during AAU Junior Olympics and I am sorry for any inconvenience that caused you. I am happy to know however that you found our front desk staff to be accommodating, our rooms to be clean, and that you were able to take advantage of our shuttle service. If your travels bring you back to Des Moines we would love the opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

When we arrived at the hotel, the lobby looked very nice. Once we got to the room, it was very outdated. Our room looked nothing like any of the pictures and I expect that they wont, but it was not even close. There wasn't a fridge in the room, you would think that for the price that there would have been. Could have stayed at the Hilton back home for cheaper and way better quality. These problems were minor though. I requested a late checkout for noon. At 11am, the housekeeper knocks as I am getting dressed and then walks in. Then twenty mins later, another knock from housekeeping. FInally at about 11:40am, another knock on the door from housekeeping, but from another woman and it was a loud banging knock as if she knew we had a late checkout, but wanted to run us out. I shouldn't had had to deal with that three times at all. Also, not sure about the lounge protocol on ordering drinks, but my friend and i were charged a $4 gratuity tip for two mudslides we purchased for $8 each after we waited close to 20 mins to even get them.

Room Tip: Dont even do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorlisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Dorlisa,
I want to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Every review is important to us as it helps us identify areas in which we are doing well and areas that need improvements. We strive to be the best Holiday Inn around and it sounds as though we didn't meet your expectations or our own. I have passed your comments along to every department so we can investigate further. That is not the type of experience we insist on offering our guests. I truly hope that we have the opportunity in the future to change your opinion by offering you the kind of stay you deserve. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I don't know if breakfast is included normally, but I was traveling with a sports team for the AAU Junior Olympics, and our breakfast was included in the room fee. Breakfast was very good -- eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, cut fruit, hot oatmeal, cold cereal. The location was a short walk to the sports arena, and when we wanted to go farther for a team dinner or even a few families heading to dinner, the shuttle driver was great about dropping us off and picking us up afterward. Our room was clean, and the staff was attentive. They even opened the kitchen to make pizza for us at an odd time.

Room Tip: The only reason I gave the hotel 4 stars instead of 5 is that our room was on the side facing the hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pursemustmatchshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Pursemustmatchshoes,
Thank you for offering such a kind and thorough review of your stay with us. It is nice to know that you enjoyed breakfast and that our shuttle service was a nice amenity for you. If your travels bring you to Des Moines in the future we would love the opportunity to have you as a guest again. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We were staying on our drive home from vacation. There was a big concert in town (not the hotels fault) but there was no where to park except a scary, very dark parking garage. Once we were parked and were sent up to our room the hallway and our room smelled like smoke, there was a guy passed out and people actually smoking in the in the hallway!!! (and it was very loud). Rooms and bathrooms are small and dated. Music, people slamming doors, etc.

The desk staff were very understanding and felt bad. We checked out without charge. We stayed somewhere else

We always stay at Holiday Inns, in fact we had just stayed at one for a week in Wisconsin. I guess we were in the wrong place at the wrong time.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Jensinnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Jensinnard,
Thank you for taking the time to offer a review of your recent stay with us. We depend on every review to know what areas need improvement and what areas we are doing well. I am so sorry to hear about other guests smoking in the hallway. That is extremely unfortunate as we are a 100% non-smoking facility. I have passed your comments along to each department so we can make sure that this does not happen again in the future. I am happy to hear that our staff was understanding. I hope we have the opportunity to show you an experience that meets our standards as well as your own in the future. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Event Center
1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown

Address: 1050 6th Ave, Des Moines, IA 50314-2606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range: £77 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Downtown, Des Moines, Iowa. Our convenient downtown location provides the ideal setting for both business and leisure travel. With convenient access to Wells Fargo Arena, Hy-Vee Hall, Veterans Auditorium, Des Moines Civic Center, Iowa State Fairgrounds, and Mercy Hospital, you can not go wrong when you stay at the Holiday Inn Downtown. Located in the heart of Des Moines, we are minutes away from an assortment of entertainment options. Indulge and have a ball at Prairie Meadows Race Track and Casino, Adventureland Park, Blank Park Zoo or the Science Center. Also, exceptional dining and nightlife are just blocks away at the Court Avenue Entertainment District and the trendy Historic East Village. Downtown Des Moines is alive with special events every weekend, and our area shuttle makes navigating downtown a breeze! Relax, it's Holiday Inn. We offer free parking and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, an indoor pool, and a complimentary downtown/airport shuttle. If you love classic American cuisine set in a casual but elegant dining atmosphere, then Genevieve's Restaurant and Cityscape Lounge are the place to go. Whether your visit brings you to Des Moines for business or pleasure, allow the Holiday Inn Downtown to be your hotel of choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown Hotel Des Moines
Des Moines Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing