We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Staff recommended best sites for shopping and restaurants in the area near the airport and offered the shuttle for personal service. Room was very nice, quiet but staff really stand out. We did not know we could request a shuttle and it saved driving after dark in horrible weather.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Frances N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We appreciate the kind words you had to say about our staff, and the best part about Des Moines, is that everything, including shopping, dining, and extra curricular activities, are only 25 minutes maximum from our hotel! We offer a 24 hour on-demand shuttle that will travel within three miles of our property, so if you are without a vehicle, you are more than welcome to approach the front desk and request to go shopping or dining to venues within our property! We hope that future travels bring you to Des Moines, and we will see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

This hotel is in a great location to the airport. The staff were friendly and helpful. Very pleasant. The shuttle is free and on demand, so you do not have to match a time set by the hotel. We had 2 different shuttle drivers and both were very great. Room was clean. Bed comfortable. Shower worked great. Breakfast was very good and was a full hot breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are pleased you had an enjoyable experience with us! I feel we have many things to offer to make convenience and comfort number one! We hope to see you again when future travels bring you to Des Moines!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

It's definitely time for this location to be upgraded. It has a motel feel. The bathrooms are old and housekeeping is not the greatest. The towels are dingy white and some are even a bit worn. I don't think I would ever book at this location unless they renovate and buy new towels.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank waltertainment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I apologize about the appearance of the bathroom. I would like to say that we will be renovating later this Summer, which will include a fresh new look to our rooms, as well as our exterior! We hope that you will give us another try when future travels bring you to Des Moines.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I was looking for a solid sleep for a short stop over. Instead I had to spend a few hours before I determined that the heater was broken and had to change rooms. With the early departure next morning, this problem cut my sleep to a few hours...not much difference if I stayed at the airport lounge. I was not satisfied.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank La S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us. I would like to apologize the inconvenience you encountered with our heating system. I have shared your input with our maintenance supervisor, and will follow up to make sure the heater in your room has been fixed. I understand how frustrating it is to move rooms late at night, especially when every minute of sleep is important. We hope that you will give us another try when future travels bring you to Des Moines.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel while visiting relatives in the area. The staff is very helpful and attentive. The rooms were very nice, we had the king with a sofa bed. The duvets are replaced between guests so you know the bedding is clean. Overall, just a very nice hotel for the price. The breakfast looked delicious, we just didn't eat because we were there over the holidays and had other breakfast plans.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Thank you for taking time to give your input about your stay. I am happy that your family enjoyed your stay! My staff strives to make sure that our guests receive the utmost level of comfort when staying with us. Thanks for the kind words, and we hope to see you again when future travels bring you to Des Moines!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I stayed at many Hampton Inns for business and one of the things I like about their rooms is that you know where things are located. Bed was comfy and the room was clean. As many have said, the rooms do look a little dated (a fresh coat of paint would help) and I don't understand why the elevators are all the way in the back of the hotel. A plus for the hotel is the proximity to the airport, which is great if you came in on a late flight. Rates are a little pricey though.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BayAreaTraveler6338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give input on your recent stay with us. Thank you for the nice comments. I'd like to let you know that in 2014, we will receive Hilton's "Forever Young Initiative" renovation, so in addition to our recently renovated lobby, the rooms will have a newer, modern look! Again, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again when future travels bring you to Des Moines!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Excellent location and facilities to leave vehicle and catch ride to airport:) We've used the park and fly at this location several years after recommendation from friends. The cost of the room and parking saves money and the pickup from airport is prompt.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Hello! Thank you for taking time to give feedback about your stay with us. I think our park and fly service is very convenient, given that we are right across the street! Also, it's a five minute journey to the airport terminal, so from hotel entrance to airport entrance is basically hassle-free! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for recommending us to friends that also like to utilize the "Park and Fly" package. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.9 mi away
Ramada Des Moines Airport
Ramada Des Moines Airport
#15 of 48 in Des Moines
81 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport

Address: 5001 Fleur Dr, Des Moines, IA 50321-2829
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range: £81 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Des Moines Airport hotel!Here at the Hampton Inn Des Moines Airport hotel we strive to provide each and every guest with superior accommodations and unrivaled service.We are conveniently located directly across from the Des Moines International Airport and just under 4 miles from the center of Downtown. Our ideal location allows access to many area businesses and local attractions, such as Wells Fargo Arena at the Iowa Events Center.We Love Having You Here!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport Iowa
Des Moines Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing