We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place, close to airport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Des Moines
Tomall, United States
2 reviews
“Good place, close to airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The hotel staff is very friendly and professional. The rooms are well laid out and clean. Breakfast is good, clean breakfast area. Easy access to and from the airport. Nice restaurants within short driving distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jesse G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
We appreciate that you took the time to tell us about your stay. I like to think we are located in a prime area, as the distance to downtown, area malls, and attractions are within 20 minutes, and you don't have to look very far for a good meal, or a trip to the airport! Thank you for the kind words about the staff, and also, thank you for staying with us, and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    131
    80
    47
    34
See reviews for
111
72
38
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scottsdale, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

great & helpful staff. close to airport with shuttle service . decent breakfast . clean rooms . outdoor pool only good for summer . business office with printer . as a returning customer i leave my car there & fly , they take care of their guests .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ashraf G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. Our "Park & Fly" package is a great deal, and it's a real time-saver as well, since you don't have to deal with parking in a lot far away, or paying increased prices in the parking garage at the airport. Thank you for being a valued customer, and we'll see you again when future travels bring you to Des Moines!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We took a family trip to Mexico flying out of Des Moines. We booked the Hampton because they were the only one who offered a 24 hour shuttle + a reasonable rate to park and fly....30.00 per car for 10 days. This combined with the fantastic rate....115.00 per room and it was a winner. We were all surprised when we arrived at what a great motel this was. We were offered cold bottled water at check in and given valuable information regarding the motel. The rooms were spacious and clean. The beds were nicely appointed and we all agreed it was a comfortable sleep. The motel offered us sack breakfast lunch in the morning because of the early flight time and arrived to pick us up from the airport on our arrival back within 10 minutes. Awesome stay and will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TTIOWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your trip began! I am happy that we were able to get you off to a great start! I think that our hotel is perfect if you're going on holiday, as we have our "Park & Fly" option available at a reasonable price! I hope your holiday goes great, and we can't wait to have you back again! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Quiet, typically Hampton quality and cleanliness. Nice free breakfast taht changes each day. A little out of the way unless you are there for the airport only (we weren't and were just passing through the interstate. Very quiet (couldn't hear traffic or planes).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Steve000137209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hello! I appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience was with us! I am glad that everything worked out, and with the bypass that opened just South of us, though it may be a little out of the way, you can be on your way, no matter which side of the city you are traveling from within a matter of 20 minutes! I'm glad that you chose us, and we hope you will continue to do so when future travels bring you to Des Moines! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, United States
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Was in town for son's muy thai event at holiday inn nearby. Paid really high rate of $160 weekend for a below average Hampton Inn (I have stayed in MANY) as Silver VIP. The main problem was the HVAC would not cool the room even though I had thermostat set to 64 trying to cool room. The compressor kicked in & out for a while and then I could tell it would not anymore. I had 3 conversations with front desk and we resolved it by having to move to another room. Maint was gone and is long way from hotel apparently. Front desk person did give me a $25 applebees card which is nice surprise BUT I HAD TO MOVE TO ANOTHER ROOM.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced in regards to our heating/cooling system. I understand how it feels to not be able to rest when the temperature is making it uncomfortable. Your comments will be shared with our maintenance team, so that the heating/cooling unit can be addressed. I hope you will give us another try when future travels bring you to Des Moines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
214 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a recent business trip and this hotel was a mixed bag. My room had two double beds and the room was too small - I couldn't sit at the desk due to one bed being too close to the desk/work area, and the extra chair in the room was also useless since there was no place for me to put my legs if I sat in it. The breakfast area in the lobby was also small, cramped, and very loud. On the good side, the room was fresh and clean and the front desk staff was friendly and helpful. If I stay here again, it won't be in a room with two double beds.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rams1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us. I understand your frustration with the accessibility of the desk, and for that I apologize. Sometimes it is difficult to maneuver around. I would like to let you know that we are renovating this Fall, and our layout will be altered in a new way to increase efficiency! We hope you give us another try in the future to check it out! Thanks, again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We needed a hotel by the airport for a very early flight. The desk clerk was very capable and room was just fine! I thought that we wouldn't have breakfast before leaving the hotel at 5am but surprisingly the hot breakfast svc started at 430am! It was plentiful and delicious.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cardmakerme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hello! Thank you for your input about your stay with us. I am glad that you were able to grab some breakfast before starting your day! I feel we have a great breakfast crew, and they do their best to provide excellent service! We hope to see you again when travels bring you to Des Moines! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
3.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#33 of 49 in Des Moines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport

Property: Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport
Address: 5001 Fleur Dr, Des Moines, IA 50321-2829
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Des Moines Airport hotel!Here at the Hampton Inn Des Moines Airport hotel we strive to provide each and every guest with superior accommodations and unrivaled service.We are conveniently located directly across from the Des Moines International Airport and just under 4 miles from the center of Downtown. Our ideal location allows access to many area businesses and local attractions, such as Wells Fargo Arena at the Iowa Events Center.We Love Having You Here!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport Iowa
Des Moines Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing