We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Canfield Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fairfield Inn Dubuque(Dubuque)
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Richards House Bed and Breakfast(Dubuque)(Great Value!)
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
10
14
5
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
14
5
1
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We were just trying to find a Ed's beds to stay at for a fast night in town. Nothing high end or upscale. Well when I walked into the 40's i should have spun and ran. We didn't trying to give the place a chance. Went to the room and wow. Not nice. Smelled like MOLD, Smokey throughout the hotel and the bed spread was I think suppose to be white but not. We decided to get the hell out because my girlfriend has respitory issues and could even breath. When we tried to check out the lady at the front desk was OK about it but the owner or manager was sitting in the lobby and said we were crazy and liars. Didn't want to give us any money back and really rude. The best thing that could happen to this hotel is that it burns down....

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tranedan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

The local flavor of the Canfield flows from the neon sign on the outside to the cigar store indians on the inside. The throwback rooms are charming and well maintained. The karoke bar is fun and the management keeps any disturbance in check immediately. The eclectic group of people who stay at the Canfield lend to rich and rewarding experience. If you want to overspend, the Canfield is not the place. If you want every room to be exactly the same, the Canfield is not the place. The establishment is in the heart of Dubuque and close to all of the attractions. The Sunshine Cafe across the street is a fabulous value with outstanding food. It ain't the Marriot or Holiday Inn, which is why it is a must-stay in Dubuque.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paul37816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Spend the extra money get a better room somewhere else. It's creepy everywhere the rooms look like they dug old things out of a dumpster. No joke!!! I thought I was on the tv show boiling points because we were told this was their "best' room they had! The door was open and shut right as we walked into the room. That is how fast we left. We walked up to the hoilday inn and for $28 more got a whirl pool suite!!! Dirty dirty!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaxMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

This is a cool place to stay. If you want to sleep early get a room up high or live with the karoke. Each room is unique with different decorations put together adhock. The decor is 6oish. I know the owner and manager from the frequent stays we have experienced over the 10 years or more we have been staying here. No pool no pets but they do have phones and in room coffee.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daryl'sadork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2009

We've stayed at the Canfield about once every other year for sixteen years. Since the Julien Inn has been renovated into more of a luxury hotel, the Canfield is the best hotel value in downtown Dubuque. Parking is in an unprotected lot across the street, but it's free and we've never had a problem. This hotel is for tourists who just want a clean spacious room in an historic building where they can walk to all the downtown attractions. The Karaoke bar on the ground floor is a comfortable place with a lot of local color, but not audible in any room we've stayed in. This place is not for the business traveler on an expense account or for a honeymoon couple that wants chocolates on their pillow, but for those who appreciate vintage Dubuque this place is a gem. Should you visit the Old Jail museum in Dubuque, check out the circular Life Net on the wall. It was used by firemen in 1946 to rescue guests jumping from a fire in the Canfield.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CedarRapidians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews