We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient but a little pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Traveled here to visit the casino downtown. The hotel is a little far but better than staying in smoke smell filled casino hotel. Nice breakfast but very busy. They do need more space on weekends. Rooms are sufficient but really costly for this class hotel in northern Iowa. Would recommend and plants visit again. Take advantage of any discounts and specials if you can.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryS769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

Have stayed here several times. They are very consistent in providing a good experience. The staff are super friendly and helpful. Soon the rooms will start to need some updating, but they are always clean. Nice new televisions and easy location to get to, as well as several restaurants and shopping nearby. Price is always very reasonable for the quality you get in return.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bijou53077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

The room was clean and comfortable but with few luxuries which was not a problem. We were just passing through and it met our needs very well. The breakfast was average with a nice choice of eggs (for breakfast burrito if desired), fruit, juices, good coffee, sweet rolls, muffins, etc.
The only issue was the temperature of the entire facility which must have been in the high 70s. The only way we could get comfortable in our room was to turn on the air which in February in Iowa seemed strange. Nevertheless, I'd stay here again. The Country Inn and Suites chain has always worked well for us on road trips.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms tend to be on the higher floors away from elevators. This proved to be true here, alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobandjoan124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We were able to check in early. Staff was friendly. Room was good. Breakfast was good - thick slices of ham. Pastries could be better. There is no restaurant in the hotel, but there is an Applebee's and a Carlos O'Kelly's restaurants on adjacent properties.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

This visit has renewed my faith in this brand. This Hotel was nice and clean with many nice upgrades. Staff was helpful. I look forward to another stay. The room was well equipped with a micro wave and fridge. Flat screen TV with newer carpet and drapes. The bed was comfy with plenty of pillows. The common areas were clean and updated. The bathroom was clean but could have used a little TLC (very minor) Overall an excellent visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

How do they do this at this price? Great vibe, service, staff, room. I have never been disappointed with this chain. Nice pool and hot tub. Clean. Smells nice, too! This is a smaller place than most Country Inn and Suites.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
Thank bgandl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

The desk clerk was very nice. The beds were comfortable and room was very clean. There were a couple of nice restaurants next door. Also had a complimentary breakfast which featured items similar to other hotel chains. We would stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northernerpalmtreelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
671 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
2,314 reviews
0.0 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#11 of 17 in Dubuque
87 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque

Address: 1315 Associates Dr, Dubuque, IA 52002-2262
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#6 Family Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range: £70 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Dubuque
Dubuque Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing