We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Tired Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
181 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A Tired Property”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We often stay at Country Inn and Suites motels so naturally we booked a room here when we visited Dubuque, Iowa. There's nothing "wrong" with this motel but there's nothing really "right" about it either.

Our visit got off to a mediocre start at the front desk. The woman who worked there didn't smile, rarely looked up from her paperwork, didn't greet us or make us feel welcome. She wasn't unpleasant or inefficient; she just set an impersonal and indifferent tone. She spoke if spoken to and gave information if asked but clearly but not going to put out any effort unless compelled to.

Our room was OK, clean, and everything worked, but it was dated. Gold accented carpet, gold chair, gold bedspread, and gold drapes; a desk chair that was about 12" too low to make working at the desk possible; thin pillows and a marginal bed; and, a cracked and stained sink. I wondered if the furniture in the room had been bought from another motel that was remodeling and had used stuff for sale.

I also wondered if the motel had been another brand in a prior life. It just didn't have the quality that we've come to expect from Country Inn and Suites.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trailman1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    101
    37
    24
    12
See reviews for
127
92
6
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I've never stayed at a Country Inn and Suites before so I didn't know what to expect. The lobby was beautiful and peaceful, seemed like a great place to curl up with a book, thanks to the little lending library bookshelf. I never got around to using it because when we would return to the hotel, we would be too exhausted! (We were vendors at the Dubuque Renaissance faire- and by "we", I mean myself, boyfriend and future mother-in-law). I simply LOVED the 24/7 coffee, cookies and hot chocolate as well as the complimentary breakfast. The staff were very nice and helpful~ and you had so many choices for breakfast.
Our mini suite was very nice and I enjoyed having the A/C on in the room the whole time. It was nice they left that on for us when we got in.
I couldn't find anything wrong with this hotel and I'd stay here again if we were to return to the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VaultGirl-Punkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Traveled here to visit the casino downtown. The hotel is a little far but better than staying in smoke smell filled casino hotel. Nice breakfast but very busy. They do need more space on weekends. Rooms are sufficient but really costly for this class hotel in northern Iowa. Would recommend and plants visit again. Take advantage of any discounts and specials if you can.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryS769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Have stayed here several times. They are very consistent in providing a good experience. The staff are super friendly and helpful. Soon the rooms will start to need some updating, but they are always clean. Nice new televisions and easy location to get to, as well as several restaurants and shopping nearby. Price is always very reasonable for the quality you get in return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bijou53077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

The room was clean and comfortable but with few luxuries which was not a problem. We were just passing through and it met our needs very well. The breakfast was average with a nice choice of eggs (for breakfast burrito if desired), fruit, juices, good coffee, sweet rolls, muffins, etc.
The only issue was the temperature of the entire facility which must have been in the high 70s. The only way we could get comfortable in our room was to turn on the air which in February in Iowa seemed strange. Nevertheless, I'd stay here again. The Country Inn and Suites chain has always worked well for us on road trips.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms tend to be on the higher floors away from elevators. This proved to be true here, alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobandjoan124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbandale, Iowa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We were able to check in early. Staff was friendly. Room was good. Breakfast was good - thick slices of ham. Pastries could be better. There is no restaurant in the hotel, but there is an Applebee's and a Carlos O'Kelly's restaurants on adjacent properties.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2013

This visit has renewed my faith in this brand. This Hotel was nice and clean with many nice upgrades. Staff was helpful. I look forward to another stay. The room was well equipped with a micro wave and fridge. Flat screen TV with newer carpet and drapes. The bed was comfy with plenty of pillows. The common areas were clean and updated. The bathroom was clean but could have used a little TLC (very minor) Overall an excellent visit.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,076 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Dubuque
Fairfield Inn Dubuque
#10 of 17 in Dubuque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
Address: 1315 Associates Dr, Dubuque, IA 52002-2262
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#6 Family Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Dubuque
Dubuque Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing