We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK Place To Stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“OK Place To Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We were lucky the windows opened as we were booked into a smoking room and they couldn't move us to non-smoking. They kindly offered and did spray the room a couple of times. Breakfast was good with variety. We were four women traveling back and forth from Galena. I don't know if they weren't trained on location of highlights of the area or whether they choose not to be. We wasted time and were upset about that issue. Pool was OK.

Room Tip: If someone is purchasing your room, be sure to remind them if you want non-smoking. The smoking flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juneiowa99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    98
    35
    23
    12
See reviews for
124
86
6
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Our stay was just "ok" at this Country Inn in Dubuque. The bed was soft and comfortable. The room was large and quiet. A bit outdated decor in the room.
The parking lot is in need of repair. The Jacuzzi tub was relaxing. The knob kept falling off in the Jacuzzi and you could see dirt/grim where the knob once was. The pool is open after 10pm for adults only, but a little disappointed that is was closed for maintenance while we were there. Our room was serviced by house keeping on our second day/night stay. The complimentary hygiene supplies were not replenished, and seemed like it was irritating for the front desk hostess when I asked for shampoo. Would not stay in the King Jacuzzi suite again, and just get a regular room. We have stayed at many "Club Carlson's" and this was our least favorite.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Torgy2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We had a two room suite and was greeted professionally and friendly as usual.

We did use the laundry facilities here and the clerk was more than accommodating to us. The washer does not require quarters but the dryer did and I had to dry each load twice.

Pool was on the small side but nice that it has table and chairs. Jacuzzi was clean and hot.

Our room was a bit outdated in décor. And I do like to see a white bedspread. But everything was super clean and the mattress was very comfortable. We had a smoking room but it did not smell.

We could hear the doors open/close in the hallway, but our bedroom was in back so that was not a problem.

Our living area was set up so that the loveseat actually faced the tv- a bonus.

Had micro/fridge and sink area.

Carpets could use a little cleaning, just a stain nothing that stuck to our feet or anything like that. Windows opened and air worked well at night.

Bathroom was clean and the water pressure was pretty good.

Breakfast was one of the best I have had at a country inn by far. It is small, but the layout moves you right along and they did have a conference room opened that was attached and that gave plenty of seating.

The same clerk that checked us in was hustling and I mean hustling along with another co-worker to keep everything full and replenished. Donuts were fresh and they had a good variety, not just powdered- but jelly and custards among others. There was sausage and all the regular fixins. This is probably the only time I left with a full stomach from a hotel breakfast.

Overall I would stay again.

The entrance and hotel are easy to miss. When you leave you can only go one way and we kept missing our turns and had to make a couple of U turns- so pay attention when you get close. Our GPS didn't do the trick.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iwanttoseeamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Clean facilities, nice room. A refrigerator was included in the room. Breakfast each morning included a warm entrée, not just bagels, toast, etc. One day was French Toast with ham slices, biscuits and gravy with sausage patties and the last morning scrambled eggs with chopped up ham to make breakfast burritos. Staff was pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed here while seeing the Field of Dreams field, rooms were spacious, clean, beds were comfortable. Being a rewards member, I wanted easy access for handicap, pool was nice and warm. Was very pleased with the staff and close restaurant just next door. Had an issue with a dirty sheet, staff came immediately and took care of the problem.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CamoFishnGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We were very pleased with our stay. I had a feeling we were making a good choice as soon as I saw the lobby and how nice it was kept. The extra touches were very obvious in the room, which was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The beds were great. The soaps and shampoos were first class. We had looked at the higher ranked hotels but this one was much nicer and in a great location. Really was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debi ll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, Illinois
Level Contributor
154 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

I made reservations for three rooms for a one night stay. My fiance' was injured in a bad car accident and I had to cancel the pre-paid rooms that had no refund. When I called them, the front desk clerk passed that info onto the manager who promptly refunded my money. I will definitely re-book down the road with them again. The hotel has integrity and a good staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque
3.8 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#8 of 17 in Dubuque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
Address: 1315 Associates Dr, Dubuque, IA 52002-2262
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#6 Family Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Dubuque
Dubuque Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing