We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country Inn and Suites Business stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Minnesota, Usa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Country Inn and Suites Business stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I stayed in room 113 on September 7, 2014. They room was nice and clean. It seemed to me the carpet in this room needed to be cleaned or replaced. It was not extremely dirty, but I just had the impression that it was quite used. This is not a complaint, just an observation. The room and bathroom were clean and very comfortable. I have stayed at this location several times on work trips to Dubuque and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank DanfromUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not happy with the condition of the carpet in your room. I am happy to inform you that we are scheduled to have our carpets cleaned the 1st week in October and we are planning a renovation in the fall of 2015.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    101
    36
    23
    12
See reviews for
126
90
6
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We booked this for 2 nights during our family trip to Dubuque. We needed a place with a pool for the kids and this fit the bill. The hotel offers a discount on price if you book 2 weeks in advance (make sure to check and make sure this is still valid!) through their website, so we got our rooms for around $77/night. The rooms weren't anything fancy, the beds were so-so, the shower worked fine and each room had a mini fridge and coffee pot. It would be nice if there was a sink outside the bathroom to use while the bathroom was occupied, but not a deal breaker. If you are a smoker, there are smoking rooms available here. Breakfast was great! Plenty of choices, and each day had a different "hot" dish. The first day we had breakfast burritos, the second day was scrambled eggs, sausage patties, and potatoes. There was cold cereal, oatmeal, plenty of bread items and bagels, yogurts, and your traditional waffle maker. There were 8 of us total and we were all satisfied with the food. The downside of our stay was the broken hot tub; however the kids still loved the pool and it was open until 10:30 pm for the kids and midnight for the adults. There was a fitness room available as well. The hotel is located on the west end of town, close to plenty of restaurants and shopping (all the major department stores plus a mall). The room was quiet, we didn't hear any noise from the hall or the street. I have to recommend the Carlos O'Kelleys next door for a great meal; there is also an Applebees within walking distance as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divanurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our hot breakfast and your kids got a chance to have fun in our pool.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Sioux City
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Hotel is very nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful about tourist activities. The room was clean and the pool and hot tub were very nice. With discounts, the price ran $100 with taxes. The breakfast was satisfactory. The hotel is reasonably close to downtown Dubuque. So, we enjoyed our stay with them with no complaints.

Room Tip: Hotel staff was friendly and helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsgun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here as a result of a Hotwire deal. When I saw that this hotel has smoking rooms, I was questioning whether we should just eat the cost and book somewhere else - we were traveling with our young kids, and all of us are sensitive to cigarette smoke. However, we stayed on the second floor and had no smoke smell, so that was a pleasant surprise!

The staff was very friendly, and our kids enjoyed the pool. I don't think it would be ideal if the hotel was fully booked - it's on the small side - but with our family and just one other couple there, it was perfect.

The rooms and corridors are somewhat dated, but ours was clean. The breakfast was extensive, and what we'd expect from a free breakfast - egg beaters and nuked sausage patties - but there was also oatmeal, yogurt, and fruit available.

Overall, I don't think I'd pay full price for this hotel, but for the price we paid, it was a good value!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley6106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write some nice comments . We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have stayed at this facility twice for our daughter's annual soccer tournament. Each time I have found the staff to be friendly, kind and very helpful. Unfortunately, the facility itself has seen better days. Carpeting in the halls desperately needed vacuuming (as well as the main stairwell), the bathrooms suffered from a musty smell as a result of no ventilation (for the life of me, I'll never understand why some hotels do not have exhaust fans). Bedding needs to be replaced, particularly extra blankets for the pull out couch in the "suite", which was full of holes and completely inadequate for a person to use. Bathroom floors and tub areas are deteriorating and wall paper is peeling. This facility desperately needs an overhaul to match the incredible service from the staff.
I also agree with another reviewer that the breakfast is "okay" and not well balanced in terms of healthy offerings.
The other disappointment, was the pool. Not the pool itself mind you, but the fact that we were overrun with baseball players who were running and diving into the pool from OUTSIDE of the hotel. Made for a miserable experience for my kids. This is not a reflection of the facility but of generally rude and inconsiderate guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klmalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your comments are valued and I am glad to inform you that we will be renovating in 2015. We are glad to hear that our staff did a nice job and will pass along your comments to them. They all work very hard and enjoy hearing positive feedback.

We look forward to serving you in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukee, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Not overwhelmingly great, but a nice hotel. Room was a little dated but clean. Staff was super friendly. Only let down was breakfast - definitely fair plus. Not many options if you're even remotely trying to eat healthy or low-calorie. I would stay there again, but wouldn't necessarily be "excited" to do so.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bbzem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We just wanted to thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay and we are pleased you enjoyed the staff, they all work very hard to ensure each guest gets the best possible service.
However, we are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the “be our guest breakfast” Your comments are valued and we are possibly thinking about adding fresh grapefruit and egg white omelets to our list of healthy items that already includes: Raisin bran, vanilla yogurt with fresh berries, granola , hard boiled eggs, oat meal with raisins & cranberry’s , Whole wheat bagels & bread, oranges , apples and bananas.
We look forward to serving you in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We chose this hotel because it was cheaper than staying in Galena. We were not disappointed. The hotel is very nice, the room was quiet, clean, and comfortable, and the staff were very friendly. We had a standard room (two queen beds) which was quite large. We had no trouble with the smell of smoke because all the smoking rooms are on the third floor. The furniture showed a bit of age, but everything worked perfectly. The hotel is located near a major road, and two restaurants (a Mexican restaurant and an Applebees) are located next door. The free breakfast includes the usual fare.

Room Tip: If you don't smoke, ask for a room "as far away from smoking rooms as possible."
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMF_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We truly appreciate the nice comments about your stay and look forward to serving you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Dubuque
Fairfield Inn Dubuque
#10 of 17 in Dubuque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
Address: 1315 Associates Dr, Dubuque, IA 52002-2262
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#6 Family Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Dubuque
Dubuque Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing