We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people, nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
West Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Nice people, nice place”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I would love to say that check-in was quick, but that wasn't the case. I waited and waited and waited behind a bridal couple dithering over how many rooms they needed...maybe 17...no, well maybe 20...well. maybe 21......had I been in charge I might have asked them to step aside to make a decision and let others go first, bit nonetheless, when I was waited on it was quick and efficient. The clerk (who, to be honest, appeared to be the only one there) tried his best. He was very helpful with maps and suggestions and got us on the road pretty quickly. So..off we went to the St Francis Xavier Basilica in Dyersville (spectacular). The room (314) was spacious, clean and comfy. We had plenty of towels in the washroom and it was very clean. My only concern was that there were no safety strips in the tub (maybe they have worn off ? ) and it was VERY slippery. I opted to skip the shower. There was quite a bit of chatter going on in the halls, but it settled down around 11:00 and we were able to get a good nights sleep. The breakfast area was spacious and clean and appeared to have a good assortment of choices: Cereals, both hot and cold, scrambled eggs, pancakes, toast and muffins, juices, tea and coffee...No reason anyone should go away hungry..Free parking in a well lit lot......close to a lot of attractions. All in all, quite enjoyable and at a fair price !

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patnmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

The Dubuque, IA Holiday Inn Express & Suites is pleased to have received your review regarding your recent stay with us. It is good to read your comments that your stay was “quite enjoyable at a fair price” as we accommodate many guests each evening, and one of the principal goals of our hotel is to provide our guests with dependable service at a reasonable price! Although I am not happy to hear you had to wait to be checked in I am pleased to know that our staff is doing what it takes to be “quick and efficient”. We try to do our best to accommodate all guests in a timely manner and appreciate you acknowledging our efforts. Thank you again for your overall impressions of the hotel and giving us the chance to accommodate you while you while in the Dubuque area.

Sincerely,
Lynette Montes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    73
    31
    12
    6
See reviews for
75
65
7
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Iowa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012 via mobile

I stay here weekly...room is always clean...property is newer and nice. Has pool, but haven't used it. If u want vending, stay on first or third floors. Check in can be slow.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dakkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for evaluating your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Dubuque, IA. Not only do we value your business each week but we value your feedback as well. Thank you for your positive comments regarding our room cleanliness and property condition. I also noticed you have addressed concerns regarding the check in efficiency, please be assured we will be monitoring this to access how to improve it. Thank you again for providing us with your comments which will be used to better the hotel.

Sincerely,
Lynette Montes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This is a very nice property - very friendly - very clean - nice selection of TV channels. Breakfast was served - the usual Holiday Inn fare minus breakfast meat (sausage or bacon).
We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grannymaryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Dubuque, IA and for noting that we are a “very nice property”. Please be aware our hot breakfast items rotate on a daily basis in order to provide variety to our guests. The options do require one egg and one meat product which includes sausage gravy as a meat option. We hope the next time you stay with us you have the opportunity to experience the other rotating menu selections as well. Thank you for responding and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Lynette Montes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Great Room, Friendly Customer Service "Quality is long remembered after the Price is forgotten"

Room Tip: a little out of the way on my trip but I'd go a few miles out of my way for this one!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stagecoach2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Your positive comments about our hotel are greatly appreciated! Thank you for making the point that you would go out of your way for us as we will continue to try to go out of our way to impress you as our guest. Realizing there are many other options out there to choose from we want you to know how valuable your feedback truly is! Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your return to the Dubuque, IA Holiday Inn Express & Suites.

Sincerely,
Lynette Montes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

New hotel. Clean room. Nice pool and hot tub. Helpful staff. Bed was a bit soft with the pillow top. Breakfast area was a bit disappointing. Sausages were tasteless. No waffles. Fruit was gone early.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Illini68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for sharing your impressions from your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Dubuque, IA. Your comments not only allow other travelers to hear what kind of experience they will receive but it also allows us to fine tune our operations. We are currently investigating how to improve our breakfast and any additional suggestions are greatly appreciated. It would be a pleasure to talk to you personally to see what other ideas you might have. Thank you again for staying at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Dubuque, IA.
Sincerely,
Lynette Montes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Effingham, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Excellent sevice and clean comfortable rooms. The staff goes out of its way to make your stay enjoyable. Has a good hotel fitness center and close to a full line fitness center with reasonable day rates. Ths is one of the best hotels I have visited. Mark

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Mark,

Thank you for your wonderful comments that the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Dubuque, IA has “excellent service and clean comfortable rooms” and that “the staff goes out of its way to make your stay enjoyable”. We take great honor in knowing this is one of the best hotels you have visited and hope we can continue to exceed your service expectations, which is continually our goal!

Mark, as always, thanks for your business and we look forward to your return to the Dubuque, IA Holiday Inn Express & Suites.

Sincerely,
Lynette Montes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iron Mountain, MI
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Newer hotel, very clean and modern. Love the carpet and decor. Breakfast area is nice but disappointed there's no fruit! Bed was ok - a bit hard. About a 3/5. Room was big and cozy. Had a nice sitting chair in room. Traffic noise is tolerable. Love it when the hotel provides conditioner! Nice bathroom. Good water pressure and hot water. In room coffee was was tasty and they have tea too. Didn't use pool or fitness room.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAROL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

The Dubuque, IA Holiday Inn Express & Suites is pleased you were impressed with our hotel. I am, however, disappointed to learn there was no fruit provided in our breakfast room as we do offer fruit for our guests. Please be assured this item will be noted and monitored to ensure our guests receive the amenities we offer while they are here! Thank you for providing us with your comments which will be used to better our hotel.

Sincerely,
Lynette Montes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn Dubuque
Fairfield Inn Dubuque
#10 of 17 in Dubuque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
Address: 2080 Holliday Dr, Dubuque, IA 52002-0471
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#5 Family Hotel in Dubuque
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque West. Dubuque s newest hotel located in the West End district. Our hotel is just minutes away from Dubuque s downtown featuring major attractions such as The National Mississippi River Museum, The Diamond Jo Casino, Grand River Center, Five Flags Civic Center, Star Brewery, and Dubuque Greyhound Park and Casino (Mystique). If you are traveling to Dubuque to enjoy one of our many fun filled events such as America s River Festival, Catfish Festival, Riverfest, Summerfest, and Dragonboat Festival, you ll find the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque West s convenient location perfect for shopping and dining. While visiting Dubuque, you may want to take a short drive to Galena IL for additional shopping and sight seeing General Grant s Home and other historical sights. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque West is designed for business travelers featuring High Speed Internet, 24 hour business center, large work desks in every room, and meeting room for groups up to 50 people. We welcome guest visiting McKesson, A.Y. McDonald, McGraw Hill, and Quebecor, Eagle Window and Doors, and Kendall Publishing and John Deere. In addition, our proximity to Loras College, University of Dubuque, and Clark College makes us the ideal location during your campus visit.Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque West! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Dubuque-West
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing